We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Stuttgart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcotel Camino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arcotel Camino to your Saves list
Arcotel Camino
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Heilbronner Strasse 21, 70191 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Hauptbahnhof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend in Stuttgart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent three nights at Arcotel Camino in March 2014 and had a very pleasant stay. We liked the location close to the train station and u-bahn station, though it was also an easy 20 minute walk to the city center. The rooms and bathroom were quite spacious and very clean with modern decor. When booking this hotel, the vegan menu options listed online appealed to me but we were never at the hotel for any meals in the end.

Staff was friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed our brief stay overall!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikoGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Geschäftsführer at Arcotel Camino, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mariko,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback which means a lot to us. You show us, that we are on the right way and that we should go on like this. We hope, you will visit us again and wish you a nice time until then. Kind regards, Peter Leidig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful and the superior room was extremely spacious with more than enough space. Room was clean and welcoming and the staff left me cake for my birthday! (I'm assuming they saw the date when I filled out my details). Although this was a lovely gesture, I did not find the staff particularly approachable or welcoming. While they were polite, they weren't exactly friendly...I have been to Germany a few times so can't say its the German demina.

Location was good... 5 - 7 mins to the town centre by foot and the U-bahn was about a 2 min walk.

We particularly enjoyed the spa but had a shock when we discovered you go to spas naked in Germany!

Aside from all these great things the hotel didn't quite tick all the boxes for me. I think if the staff had been more approachable it would have made me feel a lot more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Geschäftsführer at Arcotel Camino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you very much for your feedback which shows us, that you enjoyed your stay even if the staff was not as friendly as you expected them to be. We aregoing to keep an eye on it and hope to convince you completely during your next stay at the ARCOTEL Camino. We also want to tell you, as you recognized youself, that it is normal to use the sauna naked in Germany. We feel sorry, you have not been informed about this. Dear Sarah, we hope you will visit us again and wish you a nice time until then. Kind regards, Peter Leidig, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband & I really liked this hotel! We pre purchased 2 nights for a special non-refundable rate in a city we weren't familiar with. This old stately building was near the older section of town nearby the train station. We chose this location thinking we would be arriving by train, but ended up driving to the hotel. At check in, we we were told the parking lot (additional charge) was full, so we had to self park on the street. We had no problem any of the 3 times we ventured out finding very close street parking. It was a shame that we didn't get to spend more time nearby & at the hotel since the area looked quite historic. The lobby bar had a beautiful chandelier & looked very classy & upscale. The room was quite large, with ample hanging space ( but only a few hangars) and a lovely sitting area to relax in front of the tv. The very bright & clean bathroom had a shower tub combo and a single sink. There was a small shelf above the toilet for storing toiletries. All in all, this was a very nicely appointed hotel. The room was extremely clean, bright, and had very new & comfortable furnishings. I would recommend this hotel to the most critical guest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Arcotel Camino, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the ARCOTEL Camino Stuttgart. It´s nice to hear that our staff could gave you an understanding of our philosophy “passionate hosts”. We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you a pleasant time until then. Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel and great value. The staff are extremely helpful. It is also conveniently located near the train station for access to/from the airport and to the Porsche and Mercedes museums.
The rooms are simple, but very comfortable and surprisingly quiet, even though on a busy street.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank santagaryfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Arcotel Camino, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Gladly we share your nice words with our staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the ARCOTEL Camino in Stuttgart. We are looking foward to welcome you again and wish you a pleasant time until then. Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is at a walking distance from the shopping centre. The hotel is very clean and the rooms in excellent condition. I recommend it to those visiting Stuttgart.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speed98098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Arcotel Camino, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Gladly we share your nice words with our staff. It's nice to hear that you had a comfortable stay at the ARCOTEL Camino in Stuttgart. We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you a pleasant time until then. Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very nice place with all comfort in the rooms. Good hospitality.
Closer by Rail Station and Metro Station for Airport - 5 minutes to walk.
Beakfast various and complete.
I'll come back soon with friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francofera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Arcotel Camino, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Gladly we share your nice words with our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you a pleasant time until then. Kind regards, Melanie Ringwelski, Guest Relation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our initial experience at the Arcotel Camino began when we arrived on a rainy day at 2.10pm after a 2 hour train trip only to find that check-in time is 3.00pm - an hour later than every other hotel we stayed at in Germany. In spite of the fact that the hotel was not fully booked, we were informed that our room was not yet ready, so opted to have a coffee at the hotel bar downstairs in the interim. We arrived to find the bar initially unattended, but were eventually attended to by a very polite staff member and checked in shortly after 3pm. We had pre-paid our non-refundable 3 day booking, but in spite of the hotel having beautifully appointed, clean and quiet rooms, opted to cut our stay short as the result of repeated issues in gaining access to our room.
During the first 24 hours, this required no less than 3 return visits to reception on the upper ground floor of the hotel in order to have our electronic card reactivated. The electronic card is also required to gain elevator access and in some instances would work for the elevator but not allow room access.
As we did not come to Stuttgart to spend a significant percentage of our time running up and down between our 3rd floor room and reception, we opted to cut our losses and re-booked into the Movenpick Hotel at Zurich.

Room Tip: Stuttgart was a construction zone during our visit, so pedestrian access to the hotel was restricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_and_Karen_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camino2108, Geschäftsführer at Arcotel Camino, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We feel sorry for the experience you had during your stay at the ARCOTEL Camino. Therefore we want to excuse ourselves for the inconvenience caused by the room key card. That´s not the way we want to show our guests, that we are passionate hosts. We hope you will visit us again and that you will give us a second chance.
Until then we wish you a nice time and all the best. Kind regards, Peter Leidig, General Manager, ARCOTEL Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stuttgart hotels
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#5 of 151 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Hauptbahnhof
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
#6 of 151 in Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 151 in Stuttgart
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karlshöhe
Park Inn by Radisson Stuttgart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel Camino

Address: Heilbronner Strasse 21, 70191 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#8 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#12 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel Camino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arcotel Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Camino Stuttgart
Arcotel Camino Hotel Stuttgart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing