We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel, and awesome breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alex 30 Hostel

Save Saved
You added Alex 30 Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alex 30 Hostel
Alexanderstrasse 30, 70184 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Galicia
1 review
“Very good hostel, and awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had booked two beds in a dorm room and when we got there we found we had a triple room for the two of us! I suppose it was low season (mid February) and they had many free rooms, but it was very nice anyway. Beds are comfortable, the temperature was perfect, it was clean and all that.

We chose to pay the 8 extra euros for breakfast, a bit expensive maybe but it was a great decision - it's a buffet for all tastes: milk, cereal, pastries, bacon, eggs (I think), fruit, sausages, all kinds of food. The best breakfast I've ever had when travelling. Plus, they gave us a drink for 1 euro when we arrived. And it's very well located, just 10-15 minutes walking from the main station. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
6
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duren, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Clean room and bathroom. I really enjoyed my stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful i got all information i need and some useful advice about the city. I also tryed the breakfast buffet which was quite tasty. If you don't like it just round the corner is a quite good bakery too. The hostel is located quite central in stuttgart so it's a good starting point if you want to discover the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I had the best hostel experience at Alex 30! It was clean, stylish, and well kept.

The staff was friendly, helpful, polite and accommodating considering my German friend kept leaving me messages at the front desk since we kept missing each other! (Thank you!)

The breakfast was well spent for 7€ with an assortment of meats, fruit, tea/coffee, juice, cereal, and bread. I also enjoyed the welcome drink discount.

The common lounge is retro but a bit dark to see in; the outside terrace was relaxing.

The only thing that sucked was if you got a room on the 4th floor; there's nothing better than a cardio workout hauling your luggage up 4 flights of stairs!!!

My hostel mates where very friendly, all but one who smelled really bad; and, another chatted noisily on her phone early in the morning. The thing is that there is plenty of space in Hostel Alex; she could have left the room to enjoy her call.

Oh, and really, this hostel is not far from the center of town, Schlossplatz (castle, fountains, and park) and Konigstrasse (where all the shopping is at). About a brief 10 minute casual walk; no need to take the subway if don't mind walking.

Danke! Tschuss!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

What else could I rate when I was totally satisfied with everything? I'm not picky though, but still everything in this Hostel worked out very well. I spend there one night in a tidy, bright colored single room and had a delicious breakfast buffet (+7€ to the bill) in the morning. The reception is opened 24 hours per day and I found staff friendly although I saw only one of them. The location was good, the bed was very comfortable and shared rooms were clean and looked good.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed here only one night, arrived late at night and left early in the morning, so didn't really spend time there. Easy to find, easy access to the center by foot or "U-bahn". Twin room was basic and tidy and decorated with bright colors. Cold floors though. Window facing a building wall. Shower and toilet in the hall. Some kind of locker/ safe in the room or at reception would have been appreciated. The staff was very friendly! They gave us tips on good bars nearby and also called after us the next day when the airline delivered our lost bag. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

Stayed at the Alex30 for a few days during the WorldCup. It was fine- clean, organised, reasonably cheap and only a 15min walk to the city centre. Rooms were a bit garish, and pretty basic but reasonable enough.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Orange bedrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the stuttgart metro
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

Stayed here for two nights during the World Cup and it's a nice, plain, but clean and central hostel. It's right next to a handy tram and train stop, otherwise it's an easy 10 minute walk into the centre, to the museum and to the main train station.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alex 30 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex 30 Hostel

Address: Alexanderstrasse 30, 70184 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty lodging in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ALEX 30 Hostel, the first hostel in Stuttgart with the service of a hotel. Our hostel is located in the center of the provincial capital Stuttgart. In our artisticly designed rooms we will provide our guests with a hotel-like service combined with very favorable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alex 30 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alex 30 Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.