We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good central hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Espenlaub Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Espenlaub Hotel to your Saves list
Espenlaub Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottenstrasse 27, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A good central hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Positive points: there is free wifi, TV, very good breakfast, washbasin in the room. It is about 20 min from central train station by foot. There is a tram stop just outside the hotel and a near metro station. It is close to the touristic points, located in a safe residential area. There is a supermarket near (at a street opposite the hotel). Friendly staff. Reasonable price.
Negative points: there isn't curtains at the room's window what is very disturbing, mainly if your room is in front of the street, the people outside maybe can see you from the street and the room keeps itself lighted at night.
In general is a good place to stay for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Be sure no to be at the rooms located in front of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    22
    12
    17
See reviews for
6
31
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is very very basic. The interior is from the 90's I think. This feels more like a hostel than a hotel. Everything is clean though. The location is very good, just a 5 min walk to the shopping streets. Breakfast is also basic, the coffee was not hot so do not expect too much... If you need a place to sleep close to the centre, this is fine for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a private room which was really big and spacious! Check in was really fast, our room was ready early and we were given a map and some tips on what to do during our stay. The room was clean and well maintained. The only downside was that our room was at the front of the hotel and the tram is right outside (great benefit!!) does not seem to stop at night or early morning, so we didn't sleep very well! Breakfast was a buffet , which was well stocked and delicious! Couldn't fault it! Stuttgart itself was not really deserving of a 2 night stay, a day trip or overnight visit would be enough, there is nothing to do! Definitely visit the zoo, fantastic!! The hotel is definitely value for money though!

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not face the main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed in August 2011 on te way down through Germany.

When we found the hotel our room wasnt ready despite having been given the key and told otherwise. Someone had really made a mess the previous night and the place stank of smoke but after the cleaner had been in it was OK.

The owner was fine, a bit odd but ok. The rooms were very small and cramped but it was well priced and comfortable. Breakfast was a buffer free-for-all and was well stocked and the place seemed popular.

All in all not too bad, we had hoped to go to the free festival in the town but it was torrential rain and a bit of a downer.

Stuttgart has a huge park and we walked the entire width to go the zoo (which has polar bears and is pretty cool). Other than that though I didnt feel there was an awful lot to do and we were pretty happy to move on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

For that price you can get unlimited wifi (it works only at 1-2 floors), breakfast and room! You can walk in the city till 2am and come back without any problems. And location is very good, in 10 meters from U-bahn station (2 stations from Railway station Hauptbanhof).

It wasn't possible to use sink in our room. But we could still use it on our floor. Shower gel in shower cubicle smells not really good (it seems they didn't change it for a long time). We used a gel near sink. And we couldn't sleep with open window. It was quite hot in the room, but the street in front of the window is noisy even at 2 am.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Hotel Espenlaub was friendly and clean. It's not fancy or luxurious but nice, and the staff were fantastic. We stayed in a twin room (they didn't have a double).

My husband was sick one day, and the lady (I think her name was Gabi or something similar) called around doctors for us, and even checked on us the next day.

Breakfast is included in the price and is a really nice self service, with rolls, bread, boiled eggs, fresh salad (cucumber, tomato, radish), cheeses, meats, three cereals, spreads (jam, cream cheese) crackers, plus juice, coffee/tea/hot chocolate.

The hotel room was clean, with a bathroom in the hallway that was only for us to use (even though it was outside the room). Fresh towels

There is a supermarket and bakery right across the street, and there is a kebab shop underneath the hotel for snacks and drinks. There are also about 5 restaurants (Chinese, Greek, Italian, Persian, Turkish) within 5 minutes.

The U-Bahn station (Olgaek) is right outside the hotel, otherwise it's about a 15min walk into town.

For the price, this was a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I've stayed here every time I've gone to Stuttgart - five times in total over the past 2 years. I'd never stay anywhere else, it's comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly, the breakfast is delicious, the location is great. Only downside is the wifi never works in the rooms! But what's a few days without internet anyway?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Espenlaub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Espenlaub Hotel

Address: Charlottenstrasse 27, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Espenlaub Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Espenlaub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espenlaub Hotel Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Espenlaub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.