We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wilhelma Zoo and Botanical Garden

Wilhelma Zoo and Botanical Garden
Wilhelmaplatz 13 | Neckartalstraße, 70376 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
(0)711/54020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 145 things to do in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expected better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

On top of the monstrous heat, this zoo proved to be a major disappointment. It was not easy for us to navigate to the animals section located at the top of the hill. Upon arriving there, we were disappointed in the lack of numbers and variety of animals. Most of the enclosures were too cramped for the animals being housed in it. Despite all that, we enjoyed the ape house, which was newly opened in late 2013. One has got to feel extremely sorry for the polar bear though for it was subjected to the sweltering heat from the sun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    152
    39
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wilhelma Zoo is a lovely place to spend a day or afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The zoo is set out nicely and houses a lot of animals, birds, insects, reptiles, fish, farm animals (you can pet the ittle sheep and goats) as well as displaying beautiful trees, plants and flowers.

A couple of the animal enclosures seem too small, but that's the same in most zoos unfortunately.

As well as daily feeding times, the zoo offers special events throughout the year, although most of these are strangely enough not on the website. They just issue press announcements, which isn't helpful for most of us. A particulary fun day is the Edeka Day, but it seems you only find out when it is if you either write to the zoo or to Edeka and ask. It is usually in the middle or at the end of August. A lot of stands are set up throughout the zoo with food and drink to try as well as games and competitions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I had read mixed reviews about this place, and also that it's not technically a 'zoo', but this was still WELL worth a visit! My friend and I spent nearly 5 hours here and we only left as it was closing (winter hours). We paid 10 euro and for the value, it's amazing. I would have gladly paid more than twice that. There was a very good range of animals. I am from Australia and I really enjoyed seeing some unusual animals (for me), a great range of birds, aquarium, reptiles, the usual animals. I was so excited to so them so close, the hippos too - swimming in the bath.

Worth special mention was the gorilla enclosure - exceptional! We spent 45 minutes there and struggled to leave. We both felt like we had special interactions with the gorillas as you can sit on the window next to them when they look at you.

Garden's were lovely too. Facilities in winter were okay, only found one restuarant was open, but plenty of toilets around. I would definitely go back again in summer to get a different impression.

Downside perhaps, some of the enclosures were small and very concrete, this does seem a bit mean, but it is an old zoo. But most enclosures seem to be inside/outside options for the animals.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Could spend an entire day here, bring a picnic lunch or eat at the restaurant. Beautiful gardens and plenty of animals to see. Be ready to walk up and down hills and stairs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is great to spend a day there with the family or a friend. Before having a chaíld we used to go there once in a while. Beautiful in summer when all the gardens are in full blume. Now we hold annual passes and go there almost week.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilhelma Zoo and Botanical Garden also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Wilhelma Zoo and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilhelma Zoo and Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.