We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location and beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zauberlehrling

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stuttgart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zauberlehrling
Save
You added Zauberlehrling to your Saves list
Rosenstrasse 38, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Rathaus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“central location and beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

centrally located with affordable parking, free internet and very good breakfast. The small team was very friendly and hospitable. The various rooms are very nicely individually designed. I can truly recommend this hotel without hesitation

Room Tip: recomendation: Room Titanic with waterbed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
25
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel has amazing rooms. I've never seen hotelrooms like that. I stayed there 4 nights in the Black Box room and had the chance to have a look in the other rooms. Each room is different. I love that.
Staff was friendly, no parkingspots on the street but they have a garage. Breakfast costs extra - if you want more than a croissant and coffee. The buffet was excellent and fresh. Clean room and good facillities.

Room Tip: Have a look on the website. Each room is different ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The zauberlehrling is located in one of the older parts of the city, but still very near to the heart. (5minutes walk).
The staff is welcoming and the rooms, i have seen 2 of them, vary from smaller "businessman" rooms to large suites. My room was very clean an comfortable with a large shower, coffeemachine, safe, minibar, telephon, musicplayer, hdtv and many small extras like a personal welcoming card or free water and pralines.
The breakfastbuffet give s you for extra money a large sortiment of fruits, juices, yoghurt, bread, cheese, cereals, fresh eggs, pancakes and hot beverages.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are an international, well-travelled family and recently stayed as a couple in the Chalet Suite in the Zauberlehrling for an extended weekend (3 days). We found the hotel, although original and interesting, unfortunately to be the sort of design hotel that focuses primarily on aesthetics and too little on function, with both furnishings and service not being up to 4-star standards.

Positives:
The hotel has a super location close to the pedestrian zone (within easy walking distance), yet the room was quiet at night (windows closed, air conditioning on). The air conditioning worked well, although the bathroom and bedroom didn’t cool properly since the two vents are only in the living room. The design ideas in the hotel are original and unique. Although the hotel was quite full, we heard no noise from the other guests nor was the breakfast area crowded in the mornings. The breakfast buffet was of good quality and variety and dishes were individually prepared for us on the spot. The woman who tended the breakfast buffet and checked us out was very friendly. We did not have dinner in the restaurant so we cannot rate that.

Negatives:
The Chalet Suite is on the third (or fourth, depending on how you count) floor of the house which has no elevator, so every day we climbed several flights of steps in a stairwell that is dark (walls are partially painted black) with very uneven steps. This could be a big problem for someone who is older or not so stable on their feet. We weren’t informed at booking that the Chalet Suite has steep slanted walls since it’s directly under the roof at the highest floor—this meant for us that the one of us who is over 195 cm tall had difficulties walking through the suite (hitting head on a lamp, ducking through doorways) and could only use one side of the bed. The room looks very spacious and elegant/expensive in the hotel’s website photos, but has in reality a much more closed-in feeling, due to the low walls and ceiling.

The bathroom is a clear example of design over function—the sinks, like another reviewer noted, are small and very shallow and the water splashes out everywhere if you’re not careful. The most impractical aspect, however, was the shower which is simply a drain on the floor with a curtain to pull around it. Once one of us showered, the whole side of the bathroom was drowned in water, making it a mess to use the one sink—either requiring mopping the floor with a towel or just standing in a large puddle of water in the bathroom (that didn’t even completely dry overnight). The shower gel and shampoo are provided in long glass vials which were difficult to use—to get the stuff out and then close the vial again with no where to put it in the shower area without losing the product in your hand was a challenge—and the bathroom supplies were never replaced during our stay once we used them. The bathroom also has no proper door—an animal skin stretched over a wooden frame with gaps serves as an approximate screen—which can be an issue as the bathroom also contains the toilet.

The telephone never worked during our stay—the batteries were replaced after we notified the staff, but we realized it still didn’t work when we wanted to check out, which meant that we carried all of our luggage downstairs ourselves at the end of our stay rather than running up and down the stairs multiple times to first get someone to help. As another reviewer noted, the turn-down service only took place once, on the first night, and state of hygiene in the room was not up to par. The flat and wide bed frame (among other things) was really dusty and sticky from a spilled drink or something of the sort—we requested that it be cleaned, but that wasn’t done.

We were given a bottle of Sekt when we left as an apology for the shortcomings of the hotel and room.

Conclusion:
The house is in need of some improvement and more emphasis on careful service would be to the hotel’s benefit. The Chalet Suite was definitely not worth its price of €320/night. There are design hotels where good balance is struck between aesthetics and function—the Lösch für Freunde hotel in Hornbach (Rheinland-Pfalz) where we have stayed multiple times is a super example of that. The rooms are also individually and very stylishly designed, but with an excellent regard for functionality and quality. We would not choose to stay at the Zauberlehrling again and instead give up a bit of the quirky design for a properly working room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I travel a lot for business and there are some basics that are important: being able to get hold of reception, effective internet etc.

I stayed in the Titanic, and while the room was unique it seemed rather "80's" to me. There were a few frustrations, all small, but together they detracted from the quality of my experience. They included: no-one to help me with my luggage up the stairs; a light in my closet that wouldn't go off when I wanted to go to bed - it had a sensor, something that I only found out about when I finally managed to contact reception; a party on the second night of my stay that was rather loud; internet acces codes that one needed to go downstairs to collect - and that then didn't work; no-one at reception for one of the nights. Overall, the experience was just average.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Brilliant! I loved how quirky it was. I went on a business trip so saw my colleague’s rooms also and all were perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. We had the Paddington Suite and it really is very special. Lots of space and tons of character, we didn't want to leave the room at all! But we did but everything we needed was very close by so we popped back regularly!!
I hadn't much hope for the breakfast for some reason, but boy was I surprised! It was fantastic. Beautifully presented and eggs cooked to what ever specification you wanted - yum!
The staff were helpful and friendly and when we needed to call a taxi for the airport when leaving, the lady was very thorough in making sure times were exact and that the car had actually turned up.
Our time in Stuttgart was brief but both the markets and the Zauberlehrling made those two days very memorable and special. A big thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zauberlehrling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zauberlehrling

Address: Rosenstrasse 38, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Rathaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every lifestyle has a magic all its own. We invite you to take a look around our little hotel “Der Zauberlehring” (“The Magician’s Apprentice”) – a microcosm of cultures and styles. Here you can enjoy a stay in the ambience of your choice. We have composed thirteen rooms and four suites on three levels all with a flair of their own punctuated by loving details. And our services are custom-tailored to meet your every need as well ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zauberlehrling Hotel Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zauberlehrling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.