We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zauberlehrling

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stuttgart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zauberlehrling
Rosenstrasse 38, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Rathaus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 154 hotels in Stuttgart
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. We had the Paddington Suite and it really is very special. Lots of space and tons of character, we didn't want to leave the room at all! But we did but everything we needed was very close by so we popped back regularly!!
I hadn't much hope for the breakfast for some reason, but boy was I surprised! It was fantastic. Beautifully presented and eggs cooked to what ever specification you wanted - yum!
The staff were helpful and friendly and when we needed to call a taxi for the airport when leaving, the lady was very thorough in making sure times were exact and that the car had actually turned up.
Our time in Stuttgart was brief but both the markets and the Zauberlehrling made those two days very memorable and special. A big thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    14
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
22
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Booked by a third party for a business trip to Stuttgart I stayed 3 nights in the 'sunrise' room and one night in the 'black box' suite. Overall the staff were helpful and courteous and the hotel amenities of a high standard.
The sunrise room on the other hand didnt live up to its name, it being painted entirely black with very low 'mood' lighting and lacking any other lights. Mix this with the faux buddist references and black sheeted bed and I felt like I was on the set of a 1980's far eastern porn film. I did however enjoy my single night in the 'black box' room which turned out to be light and airy? Was there a mixup in naming the rooms?

Also to be noted was the very slow wifi at €5 for 24hrs.

So overall the hotel is close to restaurants, bars and the city centre but did not live up to my expectations as an 'art hotel'

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

One of my fave hotel in Germany. The best room I would recommend it´s the Paddington. The hotel is located near to the comercial center and touristic area.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at the Zauberlehrling for two nights in June organised by the company I am an agent for in the city. As with all German efficiency, I even knew which room I could expect to stay in and to look forward to something pretty special. Our flight was delayed at Heathrow, and we arrived two and a half hours later than planned at reception. The young girl on the hotel desk could not find our booking and the room we were to stay in was already occupied by someone else. She was very matter-of-fact about it and didn't seem terribly prepared to help or offer advice. Thankfully one of my German colleagues came to the rescue and we were given a room, which was rather 'bijoux' but nevertheless somewhere to lay our weary heads. Each room is themed, ours was tranquil and Japanesewith the name Kusamakura. The room was really comfortable, with giant pillows and a soft bed, though the airconditioning was rather noisy. We had a large bath and shower with various herbally potions to relax us, a bar of chocolate and half-bottle of wine which was complimentary. Breakfast the next day could have used an instruction manual, as even the tea-pots had us baffled. The focus is on fruit, yoghurt, interesting breads, some sliced meats and cheeses. You will be offered eggs; but not a cooked breakfast in the English sense. The presentation at breakfast was really a work of art.
Due to a communication breakdown neither myself or partner had packed the travel adaptor, so I asked at reception if I could borrow one. It was the same young girl from the previous day, she took a quick glance in the cupboard and just said they didn't have one. Then the gentleman owner arrived and turned the place upside down to help me, even sending another girl upstairs to look for one. He was super, and his wife was responsible for the breakfast art-work, so I was thoroughly impressed with their attitude. Maybe one day they will realise there is a weak link who has caused me to rate my overall experience as three star instead of four star plus.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

We stayed in the Chalet Suite which is one of the most expensive rooms. It was very nice but didn't really get a good explanation on how everything worked.Asked to have our safe fixed as it was "battery low" but ended up checking out the next day without it ever being fixed.Lovely bed and bathroom and special detail in the furnishings. Would probably stay here again but at 350 euro a night I'm sure there are equal or better options.

  • Liked — Unique and very different from a chain hotel.
  • Disliked — Breakfast was very small plus items in room couldn't be used unless you paid extra. ie-music
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

We stayed in the Black Box room for 1 night last weekend. The room was large, the integrated bathroom design really good. Downsides - the bed wasn't ultra comfortable given the price of the room E270 and the TV was a bit small.

We ate in the restaurant, which had a vegetarian menu which was a lovely change for me. Some bits of the meal were suberb, the soups, the dessert was really interesting. Some bits were not - the main courses. Overall interesting food but quite expensive for what it was.

Spent about E500 for dinner, bed and breakfast which was a bit on the high side for what it was. However, if passing through Stuttgart again would stay again.

  • Liked — bathroom design
  • Disliked — comfort of bed/pillows
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2007

Stuttgart is great, and there are many worthy hotels there. That said, there is only one Zauberlehrling... It sets the barre for anyone claiming to be a "Boutique Hotel." Each room is COMPLETELY unique. The hosts are gracious and accomodating. And, probably most impresively, the restaurant is astonishing (and expensive). Though I have no actual reason to go to Stuttgart in the near future, I'm dreaming up excuses, just so I can stay in a new room at the Zauberlehrling. Really. It's one of those places that makes a lasting impression.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zauberlehrling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zauberlehrling

Address: Rosenstrasse 38, 70182 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Rathaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 154 hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every lifestyle has a magic all its own. We invite you to take a look around our little hotel “Der Zauberlehring” (“The Magician’s Apprentice”) – a microcosm of cultures and styles. Here you can enjoy a stay in the ambience of your choice. We have composed thirteen rooms and four suites on three levels all with a flair of their own punctuated by loving details. And our services are custom-tailored to meet your every need as well ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zauberlehrling Hotel Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zauberlehrling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zauberlehrling to your Saves list