We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Schwaebisch Fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tauberquelle

Tauberquelle
Torstrasse 19 | Stuttgart-Mitte, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
0711 / 55 32 933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,024 Restaurants in Stuttgart
Cuisines: German, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Traditional Schwaebisch Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Traditional local fare with interesting seasonal variations. We visited in September and the specials were the Pfifferlinge, a yellow mushroom which is gathered at this time of year - delicious. The portions are generous and the staff friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well, I'm generally not a fan of German food, but I did like the venue. The outdoor garden on a summer evening offers a really nice atmosphere. The menu variety isn't really all that much..I generally avoided confrontation and just went with the safe choice of a salad which ended up being very good. (well, for a salad)

The service was fine.. a bit slow on the day I went but that's not something to generalize/ go by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Typical good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very nice restaurant, typical local food. I has a beef stew as a starter and a potato salad and sausages for main. Good quality. If you want to try typical, then go there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Charming, and always a delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I will keep this brief though I could go on for several pages. Tauberquelle was one of the first places I dined when I landed in Stuttgart. Many trips to Germany and many years have passed since then and with those years have gone many meals there, always amazing. I'm partial to traditional German cuisine and have never been disappointed by their presentation, quality and service. I must admit I have a soft spot for Tauberquelle and look forward to visiting Stuttgart, and of course the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Traditional German”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch (dinner, if you will) with relatives who live in Stuttgart. It is a small restuarant with bar and it has an attractive small beer garden in back. The service was both quick and pleasant however the food was only so-so.

But if you are looking for a place where you won't encounter tourists, this might be worth a try.
Our relatives liked it and perhaps we just hit it on a bad day. Prices are reasonable. The four of us ate dinner and we had two glasses of wine and two beers for 43.20 euros.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tauberquelle also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Tauberquelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tauberquelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.