We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Lautenschlager 14, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Santa Rosa, California USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed just two nights in this hotel and didn't spend much time in the room, but we were pleasantly surprised by everything. First off, the rate is very reasonable. The room was comfortable and quiet, though small. Had everything you need, including good wifi. Parking not included but there is a public garage very nearby. Breakfasts were quiet good. Very convenient location. I rate it excellent not because it's the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, but because it is a very nice place for a very reasonable rate. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were visiting the Porsche museum in Zuffenhausen and this worked out perfectly. Convenient to walk to shopping or restaurants in the pedestrian mall.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room -- ours was in the back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Manager at Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very very much for your excellent feedback! We are honored to be the best hotel in which you have ever stayed and we kindly give this compliment to our employees. Since we have no more to say than that we hope to see you again soon. Your staff from the Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    105
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
65
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. The staff are all friendly and the hotel's location is excellent (near to main train station and there's a underground station right outside the hotel which links to the airport) The only and most annoying reason we didn't like about this hotel is that for all the 3 nights, they sneakily switched off the air-condition around midnight till early morning! We were woken up because of the heat (it's summer!) And when we complained to the front desk after the 1st night, they told us it was normal because guests find it too loud to sleep in!!! I thought this is rather appalling since without air supply, your guests will not be able to rest well too (we were woken up for 3 consecutive nights) Guests should be allowed to make their own decision since there's a control switch in every room (although proved to be useless because they simply switch off the main supply and no matter what we do, the aircon refused to turn itself on again) So we suspect it's just an excuse to cut their electricity bill! So beware of this practise if you cannot stand sleeping in summer heat with a working aircon which they claimed to have!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Manager at Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest, firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to hear, that an apparent misunderstanding has clouded your stay. Our front office agents must have confused the air conditioning with the ventalitation (which is turned down during the night) according to your request. To make sure, there is now technical issue in the room you stayed in, we would like to ask to contact our hotel so we can double check with the A.C. Thank you very much in advance! We hope to see you again soon, sincerly your Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

For the savvy and experienced traveler, this hotel fits the bill. No frills and unnecessary luxuries, just a very well managed property that is clean and comfortable. The shower is amazing and we loved the soothing music and tropical fish tank on the tv screen. Staff exceptionally helpful, even making a local call for us.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Manager at Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind valuation. We are happy to see, that you have been totally satisfied with us. I will lead your compliment about the friendliness to our team. We hope to see you again soon. Your Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel was perfectly situated near the train station and right next to the S-Bahn, though we didn't need to use the S-Bahn very much being centrally located downtown. If you're up for a long walk, I strongly suggest walking from the hotel through the Schlossgarten to the Wilhelma Zoo and Botanical Gardens. It was a BEAUTIFUL walk.

The hotel was very modern and clean looking. The people were friendly. The TV aquarium was a nice touch. Wi-fi worked perfectly. Breakfast was inexpensive and typical for a European hotel breakfast.

The only down sides: 1.) the bed was on the springy side. If I went to sit down I felt springs, but my husband I still slept like babies. 2.) I have no idea how the bathroom fan was supposed to work. It seemed to turn off when we needed it and turn on when we didn't.

If I ever find myself in Stuttgart again, I will def. be staying here again. I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Manager at Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you very much for that ernormously good feedback about our Hotel. We try our best to permanently maintain a high standard of service willingness to our guest. We would be happy to welcome you in one of our meanwhile 50 Motel One in Germany, Austria, Belgium and Scotland! Your Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Bar, Washington
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Arrived by train before noon and room was not ready, stored our luggage and took sbahn 1(just outside hotel) to Mercedes benz museum came back to hotel area for dinner took ubahn 11(only on weekends) to stuttgart beer fest and ubahn back. Next day took sbahn 1 to Mercedes factory for tour and then back to hotel and springfest again second night. Also had tour guide from stuttgart steps met us at hotel,

The location was excellent . Hotel room small but we had enough room for suitcases, made use of built in next to bed. also nice bar and bartender.Shower fine.Bed was comfortable. Paid extra for breakfast we did not want to go looking for somewhere and price was okay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Manager at Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent valuation! It is nice to see, that you enjoyed the time in Stuttgart and in our Motel One. We do our best to offer you high quality breakfast to a good price.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.

Your Team from Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A basic hotel that caters most to business travellers. The location of the hotel is superb with an S-bahn escalator directly outside the door and just two minutes walk from Koenigstrasse. The rooms are clean and nice with the only downside being the absence of a wardrobe (although some hangers and rails are available) and a place to open your luggage (due to the small size of the room). For travellers that will not spend a lot of time in their room and for short stays I would definitely reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Manager at Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recommendation! Our Hotel is just a few minutes away from the main station and from the main shopping street. So it is suitable for private and business stays. Did you know, that there are already 50 Motel One Hotels in Germany, Austria, Belgium and Scotland? We look forward to see you soon again.

With best regards from Stuttgart,

Your Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Motel One gets rave reviews for nearly all their outlets, including this one. I had an early train from Stuttgart train station, and this Motel One is nearby, so I decided to give it a try. All in all, it was an ok experience but not outstanding and appropriate but not excellent value for money. The rooms are nicely decorated but extremely small and barely have space for a small suitcase. If you want to use them as doubles, you will really have to squeeze. This is of course what you expect from such a place, but that's exactly it - it meets your expectations.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario S, Manager at Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback. Our average stay per guest is 1,5days. So we are looking for a good solution for all our guest. We are looking for a good qulity for a small price.
Every conformation give us suggestions to make our hotel better.
So we hope we will see you in one of our hotels again.

Best regards

Your Motel One-Team Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof

Address: Lautenschlager 14, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Stuttgart-Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.