We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stuttgart Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten to your Saves list
Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerstrasse 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 152 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Calabasas, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Stuttgart Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When we arrived in Stuttgart I was a little put off by the exterior of the hotel. Once we entered, to my relief, the hotel was wonderful. Our room was very spacious and very clean. Breakfast was included with our stay. To say the breakfast buffet was fantastic would be an understatement. It was truly elegant with white linens, fresh hot coffee, delicious selection of breakfast foods. We were also welcome to special order anything we wanted, which we did!

The hotel is located on the Schlossgarten park, it's a wonderful open area with many activities. Surrounding the park is wonderful shopping and great restaurants. We couldn't have asked for more. While we were in Stuttgart we toured the Mercedes Benz Museum and the factory in nearby Sindelfingen. All in all it was a fantastic stay in a great hotel and wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear MsEllie2014 ,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay with us; it will be my pleasure to thank the team for providing such an excellent service to you. It is a motivation for all of us to read your wonderful review.

We agree with you and are very proud of our location, on one hand in the middle of the city center and on the other hand directly next to the park.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    122
    33
    10
    2
See reviews for
55
123
47
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten is my hotel of choice whenever business brings me to Stuttgart, and is perhaps my favorite hotel anywhere. The atmosphere is charming; the amenities are first class; the location is perfect; the food and drink could hardly be better; and, perhaps most importantly, the people are absolutely wonderful. I love staying here -- it is truly a "home away from home."

Room Tip: The larger rooms are well worth the very reasonable upcharge, and in summer, one of the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear JSF53,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your stay with us; it will be my pleasure to thank the team for providing such an excellent service to you. It is a motivation for all of us to read your wonderful review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Stuttgart.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is situated near the main trainstation, a great park and the center of Stuttgart. The rooms are good, Well equipped. Also the breakfast is excellent. There is a nice terrace at the parkside. Especialy in the evening a nice place to take a beer or something else.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room at the parkside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear rorub,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Café am Schlossgarten is indeed the ideal place for a little break where you can enjoy the wonderful panorama view from the terrace into the green park. The Café am Schlossgarten has something for everyone: a choice of delicious freshly prepared cakes and pastries, small snacks, light meals or refreshing ice cream.

I will be sure to share your comments with my team and thank them for making your stay special.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were staying in Stuttgart to see a ballet in the Staatstheater. The hotel is perfectly located 5 minutes walk through the park from the theater. Parking was directly underneath the hotel.
Our "superior" room was large, comfortable, overlooking the park. Airconditioning didn't function and I couldn't get the WiFi to work.
Service was excellent - very friendly and always ready to help.
€24 per person for breakfast is too much, IMHO.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear timk43,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.



When staying with us again, please feel free to ask our reception team to help you with connecting to our free WiFi.

Thank you again so much for your positive comments about our hotel. It is a motivation for all of us to read your wonderful review.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, and I would recommend a room with a garden view, not just for the view but to avoid traffic noise.

The room was large except for the bathroom. However we did have a problem as the air conditioning was switched off. Although the weather was quite cool it was impossible to open the windows more than a few centimetres, presumably for health and safety reasons, and if there was any wind they immediately blew shut. Therefore the room was quite stuffy.

Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and found the reception staff most obliging.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear John A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please understand that due to safety and security reasons we are not able to open the window in the rooms completely.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here when we took the European Delivery Plan for our new Mercedes-Benz. The hotel seems to have a lot of business people, many I suspect there for business with Mercedes. The reception staff was wonderful. The doorman service was quite sloppy as there was no one there when we arrived to help us with our luggage; several times when we left there was no one there to help up get stuff into a taxi. The breakfast buffet was fine, typical of a good German hotel. They missed a wake up call we had asked for. Room was beautiful. Overall, not as efficient as I expect from a German hotel aimed at the business traveler.

Room Tip: For a better view, ask for a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear HonusSacramento_CA,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to share your positive and negative comments with my team.

We are very sorry that we missed your wake up call; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback but also your concerns.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Of course the best location in stuttgart, but this is not the only plus for this hotel!
Rooms are nice, better to take garden view rooms, the view is just superb! Food is excellent too in the restaurant, apart from decent good breakfast! Service as usual all over in Germany.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear NaveenJain65,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our hotel and the F&B Outlets we offer. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to share your comments with my team and thank them for making your stay special.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest regards,
Your Team at the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Address: Schillerstrasse 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#7 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This international 5-star hotel is situated in the park landscape of the castle gardens of Stuttgart closest proximity to the Konigstrasse shopping area as well as many cultural institutions such as the city theatre, the famous ballet and opera house, the city gallery, and the new as well as the old castle and belongs to The Leading Hotels of the World(R). The luxurious hotel is only a few minutes away on foot from the central train station Stuttgart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schlossgarten Hotel
Am Schlossgarten Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.