We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Save Saved
You added Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerstrasse 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect (it was the reason, why we chose particularly this place). We stayed for 2 nights in a junior suite for 3 persons. We liked our room a lot, the staff was attentive and polite. Live music at the hotel's bar was very nice. We would like to have the Internet for more reasonable price or for free, though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear mur4a4aya,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comment on your stay with us. I am very happy when I can read such a positive feedback and have shared this with our staff.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sending our best wishes,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    100
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
46
98
40
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here in November for the 4th time, and it is always a pleasure to see so many familiar faces at the Schlossgarten Hotel. Staff is always attentive, helpful and polite, the rooms are good and comfortable (shower is a tad small) and the location in perfect.

Try their cafe next door and enjoy it for breakfast and/or dinner. Staff is knowledgable and helpful.
The bar is a good place to enjoy a nightcap. Housekeeping is fast and attentive, but I recommend that you put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door if you are staying in your room during the day, as they have a habbit of checking your room several times a day. It has happened on a few occasions that I was trying to nap, only to hear a quick knock on the door followed by someone walking in. Also, don't be surprised that when you leave the hotel for a bit, to come back to a cleaned-up room again, with a new piece of chocolate next to your bed.

The only negative about this hotel is the rather exepnsive internet. There are 3 options, from 1 hour to 24 hour (and something inbetween) Starts at 8 euro for 1 hour. 24 hour internet is 27 euro, but who wants to stay in their room al day when there are things to do. I travel worldwide and it is not uncommon to pay for internet service, but 27 euros for a day, is very high. There are coffeeshops nearby where wifi is only 1 euro for an hour.

Still, one of my favorite hotels to stay at, and I will be back again in September 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Ukaus123,

Thank you for your second comment on your stays with us. I am very happy that we managed to receive full marks this time.

Please let me tell you about our internet station in the lobby you can use free of charge. The EUR 27 flatrate for 24 hours is not Wireless LAN only, it also includes the complete selection of our Pay TV Movies. WLAN only is charged with EUR 15. Certainly you are right when you say this is not cheap as well, but we ask for your understanding that we have to pay our provider, who takes care of the high security requirements of a public network.

We are very happy about your comment and now are looking forward to your fifth stay with the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten.

Best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

despite requesting a non-smoking room i was allocated a room on a smoking floor. i asked for air freshener but it was unbearable. i was almost physically sick in the morning after sleeping in the room. other than that great location, friendly staff (apart from being unable to spray the room) and good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Gerard H,

Thank you very much for the description of your stay with us and the laud of our staff!

I deeply regret the inconvenience you had to experience as we did not have a non smokers room left. Please contact me for your next booking, I will take care that you will stay in a room according to your wishes when you visit us the next time.

Sending my best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This "Leading Hotels of the World" brand property was a wonderful experience for us. The staff were pleasant, helpful and discreet. The modern, well-appointed public spaces and rooms were comfortable, quiet and clean. The hotel is close to Konigstrasse which is great for shopping for both bargain and luxury items. There were good German restaurants close by as well as Italian eateries and sushi places. It is across the street from the train station and next door to the Tourist Information Office. The hotel caters mostly to the business traveller, but it was an excellent vacation stay for us. Underground parking was available and safe. We concur with our dislike of management's insistence on charging for wifi--that is outmoded and an anti-competitive practice. You can still go to the lobby, however, and print your boarding passes for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Zacklee,

Thank you very much for the positive comments on your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten soon!

Best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a junior suite for 3 persons. 5 star experience in a large room and perfect bathroom with large shower.

Typical german,but modern interior with all things needed for a problemfree stay.

Staff very serviceminded with perfect english language capabilities.

Königstrasse (pedestrian street ) is just around the corner

Only negative: Skip the expensive hotel breakfast and head for the huge 7 Euro breakfast in the cafe around the corner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear hasse13,

Thank you for sharing your experiences! We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please let me tell you that our Café on ground level offers an à la carte breakfast every day from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., where the prices are lower than the prices for the breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice hotel perfectly located. My room was large, clean and comfortable.

So why 3 stars ! Because I believe that in 2012, if a hotel doesn't give free internet access it doesn't deserve more than 3 stars. Ok to pay for the breakfast, or the parking, but internet access !

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear pdesaab_7,

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us. I only can ask you for your understanding, that we charge costs existing from third party providers only to the guests who make use of their services. Please also let me draw your attention to the fact that there is a workstation at the reception where you can use internet free of charge.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Althoff Hotel am Schlossgarten and are sending

our best regards,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Conveniently located across the street from the train station. It is at the edge of a park and we enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace overlooking it. The staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel should merit a top rating, however the wifi was terrible. I had to sit in the lobby to access wifi and even then it was spotty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelschlossgarten, Manager at Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear traveller90210,

Thank you for the great description of your stay.

I deeply regret the problems you had experienced with our WiFi connection - there was a short period indeed where the connection was very slow and broke down. Please contact me, we are happy to refund the costs for the WiFi usage.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel at the next occasion.

Sending our best wishes,

Werner Braun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten

Address: Schillerstrasse 23, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#9 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LHW, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schlossgarten Hotel
Am Schlossgarten Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Althoff Hotel Am Schlossgarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.