We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - depending on your needs and goals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SI-Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SI-Suites to your Saves list
SI-Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plieninger Strasse 101 - 107, 70561 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good - depending on your needs and goals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel room with kitchenette and one near the airport and /or some of the US military bases, then this hotel might be just the ticket for you. If you are looking to be close to the downtown area of Stuttgart, there are likely better options.

-- The staff speaks English well and was very efficient in the four nights we were there.

-- The rooms are plain but are spacious and have the above-mentioned kitchenette, a balcony, TV with plenty of channels, room safe, and even a reclining chair (along with another chair and table).

-- The bathroom was clean and spacious and everything worked well.

-- Near the hotel are a variety of restaurants ( just to name a few-- the Dubliner, a place with German food, a "food court" with a variety of options) where English is regularly spoken to their many international visitor customers.

-- An UBahn stop is nearby and there is a "convenience store" attached to a nearby gas station. So you can travel to the downtown area of Stuttgart but you need to take the Ubahn or a taxi. The Ubahn will take some time and the taxi fares could add up if your focus is the downtown area.

-- A few areas for jogging nearby, including a public park-like area right outside the hotel.

The hotel was built in a very "modern" style. Some find this a bit stark. What I mean here is that the hotel is divided into several buildings called "blocks" and are strictly functional with exteior passageways to get to the rooms. Room decoration is at a minimum. Not necessarily a problem, but you might want to know this in advance. Some aspects of this style ironically can leave some people with a sense that the decor is "dated" because it can seem like what some past generation saw as modern. Again, I don't see this as a problem, and it does not reflect the hotel's service or cleanliness. I would prefer, however, not having the big metal key to carry around. Seems like they could move away from using those.

This hotel and the nearby buildings are sort of a little village apparently designed for entertainment (movies, musicals, and restaurants) and for those visiting to do business or attend a conference. I, therefore, recommend you consider what your goals are. I was there for four nights doing business south of downtown Stuttgart. This hotel was good for that purpose. During my downtime I liked that I could take the UBahn or a taxi to other parts of the city but don't think I would stay here if my focus was more in the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    67
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
22
52
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

After events at the Ibis Hotel Airport/Messe earlier, we were directed to this aparthotel by an extremely helpful receptionist at the Hotel Domero over the road. The receptionist at the IBIS seemed to only want to call Accor hotels, but after door knocking at Hotel Domero, the chap made some phonecalls and located two rooms.

SI-Suites is one of those interesting venues, in that you can see it from everywhere but can't actually find out how to get in. Consider it was after midnight, it was quite frustrating but finally we established it was Parking Lot 4 and we entered the underground car park. Checking in was very quick, considering they had no prior information about us, Rather expensive for a single night, but if you were based here for a few days on business it would be a competitive base.

We were given 2 rooms, one in block A and one in Block D. Blocks being the operative word. As you climb the outside stairs (I couldn't get lift to work in Block A and was on floor 6), its pretty depressing and I actually wondered if this was what prison was like ? - Grim grey colours every where and as I approached my room - I actually was prepared for a padded cell. It was noticeable as I walked along that all the rooms had the windows above the doors open for ventilation - Block A was clearly a smokers block as well.

I opened the door uneasily and was stunned to see the inside. This apartment was bigger than my old flat, with a bathroom, kitchen area, lounge area, twin beds and from what I could see maybe a balcony. I arrived at 00.35 and left at 04.45 so it was dark all the time, so no idea if it was balcony, Well decorated, clean and overall a very pleasant environment that I could easily spend a week living in. However if there was a negative it was the smell. The room stank of stale smoke but then if I had booked properly rather than just turned up I would hope I would have had a no-smoking room.

Not really anything else to add, should I grace stuttgart again in the next year or two I think I have just found home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The first thing I was asked to do upon check in was to pay for my 2 rooms in advance. Breakfast also had to be signed for while at the table. Rooms are Ok but very noisy and do not have air conditioning.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel staff speaks excellent English and are very helpful. Over Christmas all guests received chocolates and over New Year's we received a very good local sparkling wine.

Breakfast is most definitely worth the €8 and on weekends includes more bubbly.

Tip: Pay for the business internet, the complimentary is throttled and has a max of 500MB.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the special music suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West River, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My family and I stayed here this past summer, while I was there on business. I choose this place because it was the lease expensive place to stay because I did not have to purchase two hotel rooms. Since I had Myself, my wife, and my teenage son, most hotels required my to get two rooms or would require me to rent a roll-away, making staying at their hotels more expensive. SI-Suites have very big rooms that fit all of us easily, plus it had a small kitchen area with a refrigerator, which came in very handy for saving money on meals. There is a grocery store with-in walking distance. Also, the U-Ban (METRO, Subway) is only 2 short blocks away from the Suites, which is the best mode of transport to use while going in and around Stuttgart. I would recommend staying here if you need the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Pros: Clean, large room, great breakfast and across the street from at least 6 restaurants.
Cons: Not comfortable, not convenient--for example, the only TV was in the sitting room portion of the suite--none in the bedroom; nor was there a wastebasket in the bedroom--only a tiny one in the bathroom (which did not have a tub); Noisy neighbors. Further, I received an envelope in my room addressed to someone else. When I took it to the front desk, my colleague was there also with an envelope addressed to a stranger. Lack of attention to detail on the part of the "20-something kids" manning the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

very nice place and ı wanna go again, delicious food stuff like this.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SI-Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SI-Suites

Address: Plieninger Strasse 101 - 107, 70561 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SI-Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SI-Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SI-Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.