We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Octoberfest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Neckar Park

Neckar Park
Mercedesstrasse, 70372 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 145 things to do in Stuttgart
Attraction details
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not Octoberfest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Mostly for locals, Tents same size as Munich Octoberfest. Nice if you haven't been to Munich's Octoberfest first.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    62
    21
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Miguel do Oeste
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
157 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Very very nice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you´re in Stuttgart by the end of october begginnig of september you MUST visit the Cannstater Wassen for the Volksfest!!! It´s a very nice fest, with tipical foods, tipical music, and tipical german clothes!!! I really recomend!!!! In a week I spent in Sutturgart I´ve been there 3 times!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cannstatter Volksfest - Better than München”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Unlike the Oktoberfest in München, which is full of Brits, Americans, and Aussies, this one has real Germans who are there to enjoy some food, music, and Gemütlichkeit. I have been going since the 1980s and it's always a lot of fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“A must-do! Gets crowded early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you are in Stuttgart in late September/early October, DO NOT miss this! The atmosphere of a German beer festival cannot be described - you have to experience it yourself!

You need to book a table or go quite early (before 17:00 on weekdays and at noon on weekends) if you want to find a spot in the tents. Otherwise you won't be allowed in at all!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beer, Beer, Beer, Brats, Chocolate Hearts,Pommes and Pretzels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was the perfect night, on a weekday, with great weather (not too hot, not too cold). There were 'fair' rides all over the park (like the ferris wheel, bumper cars, tower drop, flying swings...just to name a few).Totally not what I expected when I was told we were going to the beer fest. Of course I expected lots of beer, but it was more like The Ohio State Fair, back in the 'states' which equals AMAZING. Sure, there drunks every where, but, for the most part, they were happy drunks. If you drink a lot and have to go to the bathroom, be prepared to pay...there is a fee for using the bathroom.
I only wish there were more vegetarian options that did not equal sugar, but, what can you expect, ah! I'm just a tough critic! lol

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neckar Park also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Neckar Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neckar Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.