We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequate hotel with some Service Problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Fontana Stuttgart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Fontana Stuttgart to your Saves list
Pullman Fontana Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vollmoellerstr. 5, 70563 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Mercure)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An adequate hotel with some Service Problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

First let me say that our room was clean, good sized and reasonably priced. The restaurant for the complimentary breakfast was also quite nice with decent selections and pleasant staff.
The problem was that the air conditioning was very inadequate (yes, Stuttgart was quite warm that week) and even after several complaints nothing was done about it. We were forced to sleep with the window open which was noisy. When we asked for a fan, we were given a fan without a working plug on the end-took 2 requests to get that straitened out. Also there is some type of external shade/awning on some of the windows and one of them had torn so that the wooden frame kept banging on our window all night when there was a breeze. That also took 2 separate requests before it seemed to get fixed.
Not sure if I would stay here again, it is very convenient to where we wanted to be, but the front desk could probably be more responsive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    274
    71
    20
    10
See reviews for
104
236
74
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived for our 2nd and 3rd visit (in one week in August) as we used this hotel as start and end point of a 3 day break at Europa Park (3.5 hours hotel door to hotel door by train). Everything was as good as last time. Speedy check-in and this time we had our son who was put in next room with an adjoining door. In fact we had the same pair of rooms on both occasions. Staffs are very friends they are getting to know us now! We attempted to talk to breakfast staff in German; they spoke back in perfect English; very amusing! Saunas were again available from early morning which suited us. They could do with a water fountain in spa area but on last vist there was a jug of iced lemon left out which was nice. I do wish some of the other hotel guests would obey the textile free area, I guarantee if you try it you will enjoy the liberating experience of a German spa! You will be more embarrassed if you leave your costume on!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Room is perfect.
Breakfast OK buut from time to time no places available and I do not like to sit with other poeple, or other poeple just sitting at my table!
Diner in the restaurant, choices are for me limited and always the same each week!
SPA very good, I like the swimming pool!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Pullman Fontana is mostly for business people but families are also welcome. The rooms are very clean, with all the necessities but WiFi is not available in the rooms unless you pay 9euros extra. Cost of the hotel we must say was inexpensive at 90 euros a night but they make it up in the food and drinks. Free WiFi is in the lobby in a small room with two computers and internet ports for your laptops or go wireless. The room is very hot but there is a window you must open for some air. The bar area is very comfortable, good service with above average costs. Breakfast has a very large assortment of choices from soup to granola nuts. Only one has the free breakfast and 20 euros for others in the family, which is hefty. We did not eat dinner there because of the cost but the dinning room was beautifully set warm lights, comfortable seating, and clean. There are plenty of restaurants in the area plus a mall just walking distance. The hotel does have a sauna, exercise room, and supposedly the largest in all the hotels in the area. Swim suits are an option but not many were using the facilities at the time. The hotel is located next to the train station which we used often because of inexpensive cost of travel oppose to driving around. We had no problems with noise from the train station from the room even though we were facing the track side from the 6th floor. There isn't much for a view if your looking for the best location in the hotel. The staff was very pleasant and helpful in giving instructions of locations and restaurants in the area. Overall, this is a very good location and hotel.

Room Tip: The higher you go the less traffic there is but no special view from the rooms. We didn't check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Uk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks holiday, the location is great only a few stops from the airport and about 15 minutes to the main railway station in the centre of Stuttgart. We stayed in a deluxe suite which was worth every penny as we got more space, free internet, free mini bar, also dressing gowns and slippers! Check in went without any problems, the staff can seem cold and clinical, I guess this is just their way but OK once you get used to it.

Our room was on the 12th floor with great views over the countryside and city, the hotel does come across as being a little dated but it is still of a quality.

You get a tea and a coffee maker in your room (tip the on/off switch is on the side at the bottom!). Room service was ok but there were inconsistency with the supplies that were left each day, but this was not a real problem.

My only problem which is the main one is lack of summer bedding as it was 30 degrees in our room and we had duvets that would be fine for Siberia! Also the air conditioning belongs in a museum and did not do the job it was meant to.

Breakfast was really nice it was included in our room rate and the staff are really friendly.

The spa and pool are a real bonus to the hotel, and yes the spa area is clothes free as are all German spas usually but the pool was not full of naked pensioners when we were there!!

This is the only hotel I will stay in again if I'm ever in Stuttgart.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel and the higher floors the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a tour with a group of Canadian Bantam hockey players. Checking in went quite smoothly considering the size of the group. The hotel arranged for a late arrival meal. We had no complaints about the rooms. Unfortunately, the morning after our arrival, we all awoke that there was no hot water for showers or baths.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Fontana Stuttgart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Fontana Stuttgart

Address: Vollmoellerstr. 5, 70563 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Mercure)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stuttgart
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#6 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#15 Best Value Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Fontana Stuttgart 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star plus Pullman Fontana Stuttgart is 10 km from the international airport, the new exhibition centre and the city centre. 252 luxurious airconditioned rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pullman Fontana Stuttgart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Fontana Stuttgart Hotel Stuttgart
Accor Fontana Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Fontana Stuttgart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.