We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin to your Saves list
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulf-Klett-Platz 7, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Hauptbahnhof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My experience at the Steigenberger Hotel in Stuttgart was good. The location is conveniently right opposite the main train station, and in a walking distance to the main shopping street.

The room on level 5 (the highest at the building) was surprisingly (for European standards) spacious, the bathroom a bit small though. Breakfast was superb - maybe this is what I sometimes miss at Asian hotels given that I like the German style breakfast with a lot of choice.

Conference room facilities were good and plenty of them available. Therefore, the hotel is certainly good for business events.

Staff is very helpful but not particularly friendly.

The downside of the hotel is that they do not offer frequent flyer points - at least not for the rate I had and which was already over EUR 169 which I found not that cheap. Maybe I am used to Asian hotel prices and comfort, and have forgotten how expensive German hotels can be.

Overall, a pleasant stay though.

Room Tip: Level 5 has good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Mr TomSydney

thank you for taking the time to give us some very useful feedback about your experiences at the hotel.

Feedback about our service is important to us in order to understand where we are getting it right and where we need to make improvements, and I can assure you that we will be taking action on the points that you raised.

I am looking forward welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Spiridon Sarantopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    188
    48
    22
    12
See reviews for
82
153
39
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conn.
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

1. Check in was efficient, but the room not ready when I arrived at 1230 (it is 300 check-in so not their fault) and I was told that the room would be ready in an hour. I asked where I could have lunch after my overnight flight and I was directed to Zeppolino for lunch. Make sure you ask if breakfast is included in the rate since they neglected to tell me mine was included.

2. I returned in an hour and the room was ready. On the first floor facing away from the train station and major road so it was extremely quiet. My initial inspection was that It was clean, with good tv, lots of channels, good sized desk and two comfortable chairs. Bathroom was spotless, shower water pressure was excellent. Some of the toiletries were missing; the TV speaker in the bathroom was broken and the towel heater did not work. Bed was on the hard side with no pillow top. It took a night to get use to it. The pillows are all feather. I was so tired it did not matter but this could be an issue for some.

3. Lobby area – I really liked the lobby area. It was very comfortable and the servers were spot on with the service.

4. Fitness Center – located on the fifth floor in the Day spa. Don’t expect much, very basic with a few cardio machines and a single multi-position weight machine. The photo on line is basically it.

5. Lunch at Zeppolino’s – incredibly overpriced. There were 5 people in the restaurant and lunch took 35 minutes to prepare. Hamburger was €23 (the menu on line has the wrong price) and was just too large, overcooked beyond belief and not tasty. I did like all of the flavors of the toppings with the spicy jalapeño peppers, lettuce, tomato, bacon, cheese, roasted onions and pickles. The Potato wedges were undercooked and still hard on the inside. Overall this was incredibly disappointing experience and for €35

6. Breakfast on level Z – I almost wish it was not included in my rate. It was a rendition of pathetic, bad cruise liner buffet. Fifteen minutes after opening, with less than 10 people in the restaurant, the eggs were gone, most of the salmon was gone, and the rest looked badly picked over. I asked if I could order from the menu and then it required over 20 minutes receiving 2 poached eggs. I could not wait so asked for a simple coffee to go.

7. Dinner – As much as I felt the lunch was overpriced and the service was slow at breakfast, Zeppolino’s at dinner had another gear to downshift. The salad of greens with poultry livers and potato dressing was fair. The greens were drenched in dressing and the livers were ice cold. Then the steak and onions arrived and if this were served in the US it would have been sent back. For this price (~€36-40), I would have expected a descent sized steak, but this looked like the kitchen ran out of food and was cutting steaks in half to serve. Although it was perfectly cooked to medium-rare, and the flavor was good, the highlight of the dish was the onions, again, I am not sure what they do in Stuttgart, but they are experts in grilled onions. Then the bottom fell out and dessert arrived. One word comes to mind, inedible. The sweets were about as bad as possible, just horrible. Given the option I would never spend this kind of money for this lack of quality.

Ratings are for the hotel part. The restaurants would receive all "1"s for bad service, quality, value

Room Tip: For a quieter night take a smaller room facing the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Traveller

thank you for your very detailed feedback on your stay at the Graf Zeppelin.

I do take your comments very seriously. Is there a chance you could contact me directly, so I can address my apologies personally and hopefully get more information about the details of your stay?

I hope to hear from you. Merry Christmas to you and your beloved ones.

Sincerely yours,

Spiridon Sarantopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel is named as five stars . But, nowhere (even hotel pencils or slippers) where you can see it. Why? Is it because it is barely four? A solid, clean hotel with a good breakfast in the center of town. Nothing at not 5 star, but realize that there is no feature exists. 120 euros per night, without breakfast (26 euros per person), you will not be sitting in the lobby, it's cold, too, and in other public areas, room heater will not work either. Fortunately, there were over 10 c.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Traveller

I am grateful for your feedback and for the time you spent to comment on your stay and I would love to find out more details on the points you missed for the hotel to feel like 5 stars.

Feedback is most valuable for us to improve our services and meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.

I hope we have the opportunity to talk in person next time you stay or if you would like, please contact me any time.

Yours sincerely,

Spiridon Sarantopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was really perfect. The location is in the heart of Stuttgart, right by the central station and next to the main shopping street of the city.

The rooms were so convenient; they had thought about every little detail! From a music player you could put your ipod in, a tv you could spin to watch either in bed or in the living room-section, a little shelf under the sink for your toiletries, a separate shower and a separate bathtub, to bathrobes and slippers. Every little thing you ever miss in a hotel room, you will find in the rooms here.

The rooms were huge (superior rooms) and the style was perfect. The second you enter the spa section, you can feel your shoulders drop, and you already feel relaxed (even when you're just on your way to the pool. The service was amazing as well.

Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Alsa T

thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Graf Zeppelin!

I will certainly forward your commendation to the teams and hope you will visit us again at some point in the near future!

Merry christmas and a happy new year to you and your beloved ones,

Spiridon Sarantopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wonderful hotel, very nice big room with a huge bad, very comftibel wash room good bath and shower and a very nice tv. We had dinner in the room, room service quality was good. Parking service makes it easy to check in. Clean and good smel in the room. Form price it is the right value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graf_Zeppelin, Manager at Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Arie2212

thank your for your positiv feedback which I will be happy to forward to our teams.

We are looking foward welcoming you soon again!

Yours sincerely,

Spiridon Sarantopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If I am looking for comfort and efficiency then this is my top pick in Stuttgart. The rooms are large, modern, comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The staff is efficient. The hotel is large so it is not a "homey" hotel, but it is overall an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, essex
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here before but needed to come back for business. Service in this hotel is very good, they are polite and helpful, and nothing is too much trouble. Checkin was an easy task, very quick effecient and helpful. The reception is a decent size but not over the top. To the left is a coffee area, to the right is a smoking lounge and to the left again is the bar. Rooms are very clean and a decent size with free wifi. Bathrooms well equipped with large walk in shower and rain shower head. Double sinks, double towels, etc. bed was very comfortable and English television. The bar is not personal but staff friendly. Breakfast is a nice affair, a good spread but not over the top withplenty of staff to assist. Its located about 5 minutes walk from the main town so a good location, would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin

Address: Arnulf-Klett-Platz 7, 70173 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stuttgart
#3 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#8 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ,,Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin" is one of the top addresses in the swabian metropolis of Stuttgart. Following extensive remodelling, the hotel inspires guests with a mix of timeless elegance and modern design. The 117 luxurious rooms and 38 suites not only offer mere comfort, they also exude an ambiance in which you will immediately feel at home. Red lacquered surfaces create exciting accents against the elegant dark woods - while the warm colour tones, leather and fabrics invite you to simply sit back and relax. The rooms' technical equipment also leave nothing more to desire: flat-screen TVs with connections for notebooks and MP3 players are standard in every room category. Three restaurants offer Swabian kitchen to award-winning cuisine, an exclusive cigar lounge, a breathtaking spa, 11 modern conference rooms: the Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin is at the puls of the city. The WLAN is free of charge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin Stuttgart
Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin Hotel Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Graf Zeppelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.