We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kronen hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kronen Hotel Stuttgart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kronen Hotel Stuttgart to your Saves list
Kronen Hotel Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kronenstrasse 48, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Hauptbahnhof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kronen hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We picked this hotel because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor and the Lonely Planet book. It is everything that was said about it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were brilliant, such a selection and lots of it. It is a short walk from the station, although if you have a very heavy suitcase to pull it does seem a lot longer. It is in a quite area but it is only about 10 minutes walk from the central square in Stuttgart.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the fourth floor. It was large with an area for sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    49
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
49
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great Hotel in a good location close to all the amenities of Stuttgart, railway station city centre shops bars and restaurants. Hotel has a car park which is useful in the city centre, the staff were excellent friendly and informative make sure you take the breakfast option which was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was using the Kronen Hotel in Stuttgart as a base to visit Heidelberg, Esslingen and Ludwigsburg as the airport was the most convenient for me. I bought the 3 day transport pass for travel in the city which covers the first two and a DBahn ticket for Heidelberg.
Be careful with the 3 day pass as it is exactly that, not a 72 hour pass as in other German cities, so if you validate it late on your first day that counts as day one. All these cities are truly beautiful and as they were relatively undamaged in the war are a unique opportunity to experience real German architecture and culture.
The Kronen is primarily a business hotel which suited me as it meant no tourists or noisy children and as German business people work hard, go to bed early and rise early they are gone from the breakfast room early. This is the hotel for a quite visit and undisturbed sleep.
I can only confirm all that has been said before regarding the excellent staff; very friendly, professional and very focused on delivering good service. I was very impressed that I was given the room I asked for; a high floor, not near the elevator and a garden view. As travellers will know, these simple requests are often ignored or feeble excuses offered as to why it cannot be provided. The hotel is well situated for shopping and the main rail station. On that point I would not endorse other recommendations for reaching the hotel from the station. I would avoid using the underground passages which have too many down and outs, beggars and tramps hanging around at all hours of the day and night and while I did not see anything untoward there is a sense of menace to these areas. While the rail terminals in all major European cities seem to attract sleazy elements Stuttgart seems to have more than its fair share of them. It maybe that when the station upgrading work is complete this will improve, it certainly is something that needs to be addressed in my opinion. I would suggest exiting through the main line rail station on the ground level and crossing at the pedestrian crossing outside, up Lautenschlager Strasse and turning right onto Kronen Strasse and straight on to the hotel.
Should I return to Stuttgart i would certainly stay at the Kronen, it is a first class hotel in every sense.

Room Tip: I had room 453, very, very quite, comfortable and spotless, plus a view of the vineyard on the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to explore the city and its fantastic musuems, so we needed somewhere close to where the action is, yet living in the countryside we love to sleep with open windows undisturbed by city noise. You can get exactly that at this little hotel:

Arriving by train, its and easy walk of hardly ten minutes. Located in a cul de sac, very tranquil and we a room facing into a courtyard, nothing to hear other than birds concert in the morning.

The room on floor 3 was spacious, with a setty in the corner and an armchair plus desk with chair. Two big windows that you can open fully plus aircon if you wanted! Bathroom nice with all amenities that a discerning traveller enjoys.

Staff was really helpful advising on the where to eat (we asked for best local and had so many ideas we would need at least week to try all) and what to do. The how is easiest: all withing walking distance except Porsche (4 stops by s-bahn). Also: Always with the extra smile and going the extra mile, we were really welcome there, thanks again on this platform!

Downtown, shopping, Schlossplatz, museums, its all there, just waiting for you.

And do try their breakfast unless you wish to keep your shape: you have to register the night before and the options you find on the buffet are a huge variety and each item is more deliciuos than the other. You find local delicacies like Maultäschle or Weißwurst, homemade ham and cheese kind of cakes, Swiss Roesti plus all the international fare and a W I D E selection of bread and teas.

The bar is small yet had some nice wines and very good service too.

We shall certainly be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Honestly could not fault this place. Staff were excellent and spoke perfect English too. The room was immaculate. One of the best single rooms Ive ever stayed in. The location was ideal, two minute walk to the train station and into town. Breakfast was amazing also. If I ever go to Stuttgart again, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I really liked this small hotel. It had a nice local feel and was not filled with tourists. The staff is efficient and the rooms quite comfortable. It is located on a small street a few blocks from the city center and train station. so it is an easy walk but the hotel has no traffic exposure and is thus nicely quiet. i kept my window open each night and slept well.

I just loved the breakfast offerings. Meet, fish, cheese, eggs, and fantastic breads and rolls.

I would definitely return to this hotel the next time I visit Stuttgart.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hotel Kronen is within walking distance of the main train station – about 10 minutes and it’s also in a quiet location. The check-in was efficient and friendly, the room was comfortable and well appointed. The reception staff was also very helpful when I asked for information about how to get to what I wanted to see in Stuttgart. The buffet breakfast, which is included in the price, is excellent, with many choices and attentive service. There are many indications that this hotel is operated with a sense of pride. I would surely return to what is appropriately the top-rated hotel in Stuttgart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kronen Hotel Stuttgart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronen Hotel Stuttgart

Address: Kronenstrasse 48, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart > Hauptbahnhof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
#5 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#10 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kronen Hotel Stuttgart 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kronen Hotel Stuttgart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuttgart Kronen Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kronen Hotel Stuttgart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.