We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The meeting facilities are great - but the Hotel rooms?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Stuttgart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel Stuttgart to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Stuttgart
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seidenstrasse 34, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The meeting facilities are great - but the Hotel rooms?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Coming to this hotel at least once a year, we again have realized that the meeting facilitties and public facilities, like bar, restaurant, breakfast, etc... are on a 4 to 5 star level. The breakast offering is overwhemingly good with a great and friendly chef. Service staff is OK - depeing an who is responsible for your section. Bar and all meeting facilities are new, modern with all you need to have to get a successful meeting organized.
Now as shiny this side it, the darker it gets - once you are staying in the room. Here an optimistic 3 star level is existing. Carpets and furniture needs renovation now. The bathroom is having a soap dispenser and a hair dryer and nothing else. I am still wondering why we have paid an extra amount for a superior room as I have seen no difference to the regular room. The rooms still have a charming aura of the early 80´s.....so here homework for the hotel is abosultely necessary.
Staff at the regitration desk are friendly and competent as long as you have nothing special and/or complex to report. Travelling with little kids can be a challenge.
In in total - good hotel fro a meeting, but the rooms?????

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the main building. The satelite building a a nice walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaier_stu, Assistant to the General Manager at Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your post at tripadvisor.

It is nice to see that you have enjoyed our meeting facilities.
We have also already forwarded your compliment to our chef from the breakfast.

The superior room is more expensive than a comfort / standard room because it is bigger. The superior rooms are small suites with separated living and bed room.

It is right, that you see that our hotel was opened 1993 and it is not comparable to the newest hotels of our company at Düsseldorf or Hafendorf Rheinsberg. Bur our headquarters draw up an investment budget every year to refurbish the older hotels of the company. The exact planing for the refurbishment works is the responsibility of our headquarters so we can't give you a concrete time window when the works will start for Stuttgart.

Looking forward to your next meeting at the MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart,

Matthias Maier
Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    187
    106
    25
    10
See reviews for
25
69
39
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here when visiting Stuttgart to see the Mercedes Benz museum (a must see by the way). Expecting a functional and clean hotel I was very pleased with this traditional style hotel. It looks like it was built in the 1980's/90's; maintenance and cleanliness are excellent. Area is good with nice restaurants nearby. A good choice in Stuttgart.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaier_stu, Assistant to the General Manager at Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this post at Tripadvisor.
It is nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards from Stuttgart,

Matthias Maier
Assistant to the General Manager
at MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a 3 day conference, I researched through tripadvisor before I checked in, all guests recommend the rooms in the main building rather than the annex building which was beside a cemetery. I specifically told the guy in the front desk about a room in the main building but he still gave me a room in the dreaded annex building, which I did not like the thought of it being beside a cemetery did not help at all, I hardly had any good night sleep. The room was very simple and the furniture were very old styled and looks like an apartment rather than a 3 or 4 star hotel. Worse, is they do not have free wifi, they have a business center where one can use the computer for ten minutes without charge. The main dining room for breakfast was grand, and the food very good, you feel like having breakfast in the opulent dining rom of a palace.

Room Tip: Ask rooms in the main building, but they always give you rooms in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaier_stu, Assistant to the General Manager at Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and for your post at tripadvisor.

We are very sorry that our receptionist did't comply with your wish for a room in the main building. We have already talked to our front office management and apologize for your inconveniences. The "cemetery" was closed 1888 and is now used as a park. Sorry if this influenced the quality of your sleep.

The WiFi at our hotel is an official hotspot by the Deutsche Telekom. The hotel provides only the building for the insallation of the hardware. We have choosen this because the Telekom is the only enterprise which provides WiFi-systems at the size we need. Unfortunately we are also fixed to the prizes from the Telekom by this.

We hope we will see you again at the MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart (in the main building),

Matthias Maier
Assistant to the General Manager
at MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Maritim Hotel Stuttgart is very conveniently located near the Berliner Platz (Liederhalle) tram stop in a very nice area of Stuttgart. Old town is a short walk or tram ride away. We stayed at the Maritim while visiting the Christmas Markets in old town and really enjoyed our visit to this wonderful hotel. The staff was very attentive and the rooms were well appointed. We will certainly choose the Maritim again the next time we visit Stuttgart.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaier_stu, Assistant to the General Manager at Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this kind post at tripadvisor.

It is nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward for the next time.

Kind regards from Germany,

Matthias Maier
Assisant to the General Manager
at MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel staff couldn't be nicer, that includes everyone from the front desk, to the bar, to the restaurant. Rooms are very adequate. Nothing fancy but comfortable. Not a bad location, easy walk in to town

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaier_stu, Assistant to the General Manager at Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this nice post at tripadvisor.
We have already forwarded your compliments to our staff.

Kind regards and looking forwar to your next stay with us,

Matthias Maier
Assistant to the General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked here for a long weekend so we could visit the nearby beer festival. The location was ideal, being close to a tram stop with a direct line to the festival.

It was obviously a busy weekend for the staff but the check in process was very good. We had an issue with our rooms though - we were 6 males and were all given double beds. We spoke to the reception to try and sort it out but the response was a little cold with the staff member rolling her eyes when she said have you touched anything in the room (we had used the toilet). Eventually we got it sorted it out, although we were quite keen to avoid this staff member again during our stay.

The breakfast was fantastic in the hotel and set us up well for each day. The rooms were clean and a good size but all of us had real issues with the mattresses being too soft and the pillows far too flat. As a result, each of us woke up with back troubles each morning.

The piano bar looked nice and we had a quick bite in the café which was very good. Overall, the stay was fine and a good price but I'd suggest the hotel improve the mattress and pillows.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaier_stu, Assistant to the General Manager at Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jezmond,

Thank you very much for your post at HRS.
Nice to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very sorry that you haven't felt welcome with our colleague from the reception and we have talked already to the front office manager.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in 2014 (the "Frühlingsfest" starts at 19th April, the "Cannstatter Wasen" at 26th September),

Matthias Maier
Assistant to the General Manager
at MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stuff were very friendly and English speaking.
There is a train station or should I say more like a tram , close to the hotel approx 5 mins walk.
Usually taxis are In the front waiting so it is convenient.
We had wines at the bar and wine selections were pretty limited. Drinks are expensive compared to other places in germany (cocktails 10€,wine 7) .
Live piano music at the bar and it gets busy.
If you are here for their beer fest you can take number11 tram which takes you right in the front of the festival and that festival is so much fun! About 10-15mins walk to the center shopping area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaier_stu, Assistant to the General Manager at Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Rurina,

Thank you very much for your kind post at tripadvisor.

Yes, the station next to the hotel is the tram. But the main railway station is only at 3 tram-stations-distance from here.
And yes, the tram 11 is great for our guests visiting the beer fest (Cannstatter Wasen).

We have a bigger wine selection at our à la carte restaurant and we would surely find a way to serve wines from there at our bar.

Looking forward to your next stay with us,

Matthias Maier
Assistant to the General Manager
at MARITIM Hotel Stuttgart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel Stuttgart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Stuttgart

Address: Seidenstrasse 34, 70174 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stuttgart
#16 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#17 Luxury Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Stuttgart 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Hotel Stuttgart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuttgart Maritim Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Stuttgart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.