We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lilavadee

Lilavadee
Reutlinger Strasse 1, 70597 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Degerloch)
+49 711 7207958
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 1,045 Restaurants in Stuttgart
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Degerloch
Kent, Texas
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“High Quality Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As with other reviewers, I was impressed by the atmosphere and quality of Lilavadee and somewhat taken aback by the price of many of the dishes. A beautifully decorated interior is complemented by Thai art work, flowers, a spacious layout, and an array of photos of the Thai royal family. Service is prompt, professional, and courteous. Servers are all dressed in Thai apparel. A good assortment of beer (German and Thai), mixed drinks, and wine is offered at standard prices. Appetizers and main courses are prepared with fresh ingredients, and menu descriptions of the intensity of seasoning are accurate (neither exaggerated nor downplayed as you find in some ethnic restaurants in Germany). Our choices of red and green curry were quite flavorful as was a starter soup. Ingredients in a side salad were arranged in an attractive manner. As with other reviewers. I thought price points were high (with the least expensive main courses clustering at about Euro 18). Ideal for a date night!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely (for a price)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Once you get over the sticker shock, this place is really lovely. They have a large outdoor patio (unfortunately facing the street) and the interior decor is really beautiful. The food is legitimately hot (spicy) if you want it that way. I found the service to be pretty good and the selection of food to be excellent. The major drawback is the price. It's definitely a date-night restaurant that you plan and save for, not a weeknight quick dinner place. We're talking entrees starting at 16 Euros.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A piece of Thailand in the Stuttgart suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had diner at Lilavadee on a Thursday evening, by myself. The place looks as a Thai restaurant should look like (oriental, fresh flowers, staff in Thai costume). They do have a real large choice. I decided to try a soup with shrimps, mushrooms and coconut milk. The sharpness is fine for the European taste, but if you like it sharper, just ask. As a maincourse I decided to spoil myself by having two different curries: one red curry with beef and one green with duck. These dishes were just very tastefl. I have to be honest: my experince with Thai kitchen is limited, but I can imagine that these dishes were as Thai you can get in Stuttgart and surroundings. Friendly service. And while you are there, please try the lemon grass cocktail they have to offer. Lovely (good for your stomach and without alcohol). Great place, but just a little pricy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Thai food but over-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We like the atmosphere in the restaurant and the servers are very nice. There is a nice patio if it is good weather. We enjoy the food but for basic dishes like Pad Thai, are over priced in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilavadee also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Lilavadee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilavadee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.