We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good service and nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Mannheim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Mannheim to your Saves list
Wyndham Mannheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   F4, 4-11 | SH. I.R. Frankfurt Betriebs GmbH, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Sir Friedrich Hotel Mannheim)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Mannheim
Stockholm, Sverige
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location, good service and nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have stayed here for 2 nights. I had a singel room but with 2 beds. The room was very nice i loved the design. The location is also great cause its in the centre of the city. The only thing that i didnt like was that the rooms were pretty dark inside with only one window but that was not a problem for me. I would reccomend this hotel cause its worth the price and I really enjoyed my visit there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Mannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your great feedback, we are pleased that you have felt well during your stay at Wyndham Mannheim.
The hotel is in a renovated old builing. Most of our rooms look a little bit different and variate in layout and size.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in Mannheim.
Kind regards
your team of Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
3
16
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Part of the City Hotel Group, the Wyndham had just been refurbished. As things were not quite sorted we were given a free mini bar with fruit juice and water. The reception area is very tastefully decorated and on arrival the receptionist was very good.
Arriving in 34 degree heat we were staggered to find no air con in the room - a fan was duly delivered. We were in Mannheim for the German Grand Prix and had three busy days ahead. Ever tried sleeping with the noise of a fan? Impossible. Add in the fact that deliveries to the hotel start at 6 am and there is no chance of a rest! We were also told, there are no plans to put in air con, so beware! We declined breakfast at €18 each but decided to try the bar in the evening. After 20 minutes of being ignored, whilst the girl concentrated on her filing we gave up! Mannheim doesn't have many saving graces, and we would never choose to go back.

Room Tip: Avoid if you want a restful break
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Gilly,
thank you for your booking at Wyndham Mannheim and your feedback.
We want to apologize you have gained such an impression on our service. On reviews like yours we are instructed to improve our service continuously.
This month our next step of renovation starts and the restaurant will be finished by the end of the year as well as installing air condition in the rooms and the public area.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Wyndham Mannheim despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.
Kind regards
your team of Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
バンクーバー, カナダ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel.
Location of the hotel is very convenient if you want to stay inside the Mannheim city.
It's very close to 'Marktplaz' tram station. Mannheim Main Train station is 5mins by tram from 'Marktplaz'.
We are 2 persons stayed in superior double room, and room was big enough for us especially the bath room.
There were some defects we found on the first day. The light at the desk was not on and one of the bed side light either. However, they were repaired the next day.
Just for your information, the Wifi connection in the room was not very good.
Overall, the hotel is good value for the price you spend.

Room Tip: If you are two persons, consider spend a little bid more and stay in superior double room. It was sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your great feedback about your stay at Wyndham Mannheim.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip to Mannheim and had a comfortable stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit in Mannheim.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurigo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Nice hotel in the center of the city.
The room was big enough, clean and good style.
We enjoyed the free welkome beverage include the, cafe and the waterboiler.
The WiFi was not really good.
The breakfast ist a little bit high preis.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Ciromassimo,
thank you for your great feedback of your stay at Wyndham Mannheim.
We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at your next stay in Mannheim.
Kind regards
your team of Wyndham Mannheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I'm not going to rant about this one since the reviews are pretty clear, currently at 29%. Since i really rarely have bad experiences like this to review, I will just list our issues and leave it at that.

1) Greeted by nobody at the front desk and waited a good 5-10 minutes before anyone showed up.
2) Reservation seemed to be lost in their system and they were attempting to charge full price because of that, and only when i showed them my reservation confirmation and price on my phone did they give in.
3) Non-smoking room was requested and "provided" but it was clearly a smoking room and was horrible.
4) Toilet didn't flush, shower water pressure was non-existent.
5) Walls were very thin and doors were loud, seemed that you could hear everything and I'm a heavy sleeper.

Overall, anything that could be poorly built or designed was done in that poor fashion. The appearance looks nice, "newly renovated" fresh coat of paint, some new fixtures etc but the underlying issues are big and problematic and if there was great service that can typically make up for a lot but in this case it made it worse. We didn't even dare stay for breakfast because we didn't want to be let down any more so we just went up the street to a tiny bakery which was great.

This was still in the time period when they were trying to transition to Wyndham from the Sir Friederich Hotel name so i hope that Wyndham can clean it up, but we'll see if the reviews get any better, still wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your booking and your time for your feedback.
We would like to apologize that you have gained such an impression of your hotel.
During your stay in 2013 we had a lot of changes at our hotel.
First we had the name change from Sir Friedrich Hotel to Wyndham Mannheim Hotel.
After becoming a Wyndham Hotel we started renovations which will be finished winter 2014 with our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Wyndham Mannheim to convince you of your professional service and the design of the house.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Wyndham Mannheim was a visual surprise for me. I liked the fact that it looked and felt different from standard European hotels, it had a cool, urban vibe with its art deco interiors set in a contemporary tone. I loved the monochromatic color scheme of the room which ranged from creme, taupe to dark brown. It managed to transport me to the early 30’s, yet grounded me in present times because of its distinct lighting fixtures, and modern bath amenities. The breakfast buffet was excellent, set in a high-ceilinged restaurant offering a sumptuous array of food for weary travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in Mannheim.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

we have booked here because for another colleagues the usual hotel were we used to go was too expensive.....very frankly speaking Wyndham hotel was a good surprise even if some details can be imroved. Room big enough and confortable, the same for the bathroom, very good breakfast and the best thing is the very good location ; very downtown, a couple of minute from the tram stop in Marketplatz and a little bit more to be in Paradeplatz and in the shopping area.
a suggestion : our ususal hotel provide for free all the guest with a mobility ticket
LAst but not lest personell very gentle and available, for me advisable

Room Tip: I had a room looking at the courtyard and early in the morning the smell of the kitchen, preparing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Mannheim, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Salvatore,
thank you for your booking at Wyndham Mannheim. We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed your time in Mannheim. You are within walking distance to the pedestrian zone in Mannheim that is why we thought we do not need the free mobility tickets at the hotel. But we will discuss this at our next team meeting.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay at Wyndham Mannheim.
Kind regards
your Wyndham Mannheim team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Mannheim

Address: F4, 4-11 | SH. I.R. Frankfurt Betriebs GmbH, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Sir Friedrich Hotel Mannheim)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Mannheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Mannheim is a stylish designed hotel in the centre of the city of Mannheim. The shopping promenade "Planken" is known as "Champs-Elysees of Mannheim" - lined with fashionable shops, regal houses, and world-class restaurants. Simply step outside to take it all in. Easily accessible from the international airport Frankfurt am Main - and just a 10-minute stroll from the train station - our Mannheim hotel is the ideal choice for holidays, corporate travel, and weekend getaways. Experience the elegance of the Wyndham Mannheim. The 151 newly renovated hotel rooms brim with urban style and energy. The rooms of Wyndham Mannheim offer you a coffee machine, a flatscreen TV and Wifi free of any charge. The breakfast buffet in Wyndham Mannheim is also a true insider tip and meeting point of the residents of Mannheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Mannheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.