We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   F7 5-13, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Mannheim
Kassel, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Yet another Hotel with an inexplicable high TripAdvisor rating. This Mercure Hotel offers a decent location and the staff was friendly but other than that it is about as average as it gets. The room was clean and basic with a small bathroom with few towels (two large towels and two small very hard ones). As always with Mercure the bed could have been more comfortable and the duvet was too small. For the usual rate during the week there surely have to be better options in Mannheim. We stayed during the weekend when the rates are lower and the price was actually quite good .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    207
    54
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
123
57
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Well I'll end on a positive note as one of the other reviewers did.

Let's start with the parking. The charge of 14 euros/day seemed excessive to me but everywhere I've stayed in this area has charged for parking and this parking garage was much better than others for access.

The location of the hotel is fairly close to shopping and restaurants (walking distance) but there are definitely better options if you want to stay in the middle of the activity.

The room was fairly small (although average for what I've seen in this area) and the amenities were the bare essentials. The bed was okay but there were too few pillows and the duvet did not cover the bed (it barely covered my body!!!). The desk area reminded me of a dorm room desk. It was just a formica countertop with a hardback chair with a thin layer of seat padding. I was staying over the weekend with plans to work so this was not an ideal "business desk". There was no mini frig so don't plan to "eat in" and after the first day I did not receive refills on my coffee bar. The TV was a fairly small flat screen but they did have a decent number of channels. The bathroom was very small and came with only one small thin bath towel, hand towel, and no wash cloth. There is also no alarm clock in the room so be prepared!

Now for the positives. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet had a good selection and for me was built into the rate. The room was clean and tidy.

If all you're looking for is a functional place to sleep then the Mercure would suffice but if you are expecting anything more then you will be greatly disappointed. I do believe there are better options in the Mannheim area for close to the same price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A fully functional clean hotel in the heart of Mannheim. Staff polite and helpful. Vending machine empty of some listed contents for the three days stay. Bar/lounge totally lacking in atmosphere, and closed too early. Bedrooms complete and quite satisfactory in all other ways. Very impersonal experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

How Mercure can justify charging more than €230 for a standard room in a 3 star hotel, without including internet or breakfast is staggering. Whilst the service is good and the rooms are ok they are not aligned with the 5 star price tag.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I spent one night, last week, at the Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus.

Access to the hotel is quite difficult due to major construction all around, and weird one-way streets, but that is not the hotel's fault, and once one does reach the hotel, the parking garage is easily accessed and one can enter before checking in (I hate hotels which make you check-in before you can enter the garage; what am I to do with my car and luggage while I check in ?).

The restaurant deserves a special commendation for remaining open (with a smile) way past their usual closing hour, to serve me dinner when I arrived.

This is a solid, clean, modern Mercure hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus

Address: F7 5-13, 68159 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star hotel offering 150 rooms, the Mercure Mannheim am Rathaus is 500 m from the city centre and is easy to get to by car or public transport. The hotel is close to a popular shopping area, Mannheims landmark water tower, and the Rosengarten convention centre. Frankfurt Airport is only 80 km away. Our hotel offers facilities for guests with limited mobility, a bar, a restaurant and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Mannheim Am Rathaus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.