We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, very good breakfast buffet, free wifi (but unfortunately to slow)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim to your Saves list
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Augustaanlage 4-8 | 68165 Mannheim, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Mannheim
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice location, very good breakfast buffet, free wifi (but unfortunately to slow)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is generally quite good although a little bit worn. Location is right in the centre of Mannheim, very close to the square with the water tower, and very close to shopping and restaurants. A nice feature is the fact that there is a parking house connected to the hotel lobby. The breakfast buffet was absolutely top class. Small minus for extremely small drinking glasses (probably one clever accountant who has calculated that guests drinks less if the glasses are small). Here they are very small, a fact that is quite annoying (a lot of walking back and forth to the juice dispencer). The fitness room in the hotel is aslo above average and is well equipped for a decent training session.

A pluss is the fact that the hotel offers free wifi, but a big minus is that the speed is far below what you should expect from a first class business hotel in 2014. The speed in room 319 was measured to less than 1 Mbs up/down at maximum and quite unstable. Immideate corrective action is here required.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Public Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

Also thank you for the praise about our central location, our breakfast buffet and our gym. At the moment we are in internal conversations to update our wifi connection.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    55
    21
    10
See reviews for
16
38
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great option for Mannheim. Well-located, near the best restaurants and shops. Pretty good rooms and spacious bathrooms. Breakfast is really good, with lots of options for all tastes. Nice and gentle staff! I will definitely come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get high floor rooms! Quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, General Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Leonardo,

thank you very much for your great feedback and the praise about our central location, spacious rooms, breakfast and friendly staff. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I would not say that Hotel Steigenberger in Mannheim lives up to its official number of stars. Rooms are pretty boring and very standard compared to the price of the rooms.

Breakfast ok, neither bad or something great.

They use aromas in the lobby, which was too much for my taste.

The room I stayed in was to warm and the AC didnt work properly to cool down the room .

I had a bad experience at the reception then I checked in. The receptionist didnt know how to operate the computer which resulted in the system not accepting my credit card. The receptionist declared loudly, while other guests were listening, that there was no coverage on my credit card, which I knew was not correct. After some dissusions where the receptionist reacted very rude and arrogant, he tried out my credit card again and finally admitted that he made a mistake. Not the best start on my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Dan,

thank you for your booking and your feedback of your stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

We want to apologize to you that you have gained such an impression on our service. We talked already to our colleauges at the front desk to be more confidentiality. We also told our technician to check the AC. If your room wasn't that comfortable for you, please feel free to ask for a renovated superior or deluxe room on your next stay.

We look forward to welcome you at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very good conditions, maybe a bit pricey, Steigenberger it's a 4 star hotel targeted mainly at business travelers.
Pluses:
- free fruits and bottled water on arrival
- all my clothes and stuff were neatly arranged in the second day
- very large room (Junior suite) with a comfortable bed and sofa

The only things that I could complain are:
- a very annoying low humming noise during the entire night (on the last night only) - probably a defective A/C unit or refrigerator (in the above room - I switched my AC and refrigerator off)
- it was difficult to stop the water when flushing the WC; the WC was not cleaned properly on the less visible parts
- in this day when WiFi is ubiquitous, offering 4 Internet access vouchers, each for 4 hours is.. cheap for a 4-star hotel. Hi-speed WiFi access should be free for the entire stay.
- asking the credit card on arrival in order to block (hold) a large sum as guarantee it's not so nice, especially when the booking was already confirmed on booking.com using another credit card; I ended up paying 518€ for 2 days in cash on arrival ..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear guest,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

Thank you very much for you praise about our comfortable room and the nice prepared fruits on your arrival and your clothes during your stay. We also want use this review to apologize for the annoying noise in the last night. We communicated that problem already to our engineers to find the problem. Also we informed our housekeeping of the uncleaned toilet. Our Wifi is free of charge at the whole hotel. There are prepared vouchers at the front desk for 4 hours. If you need more do not hesitate to contact our front desk staff.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very central Location. More important: Very helpful and friendly staff at reception and the Restaurant. I liked the à la carte breakfast which is included in the breakfast price. Overall best value for money at this Hotel in Mannhiem. Elegant and clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Steve,

thank you very much for your great feedback and the praise about our friendly staff, the central location and the a la carte breakfast at our FRANKE Restaurant. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

First time staying at the Steigenberger and I must say I am very impressed. The rates are very good for the location, lots to do around the hotel. The hotel staff is very accommodating. The hot water stays hot, doesn't go warm, cold back to hot (first hotel in Europe I can say that for). Very good breakfast, but, yes it does get crowded. The only drawback was the free internet of which they gave me 3 codes for each good for 5 hour increments. The internet was stable, free and fast though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Todd,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

Thank you very much for the praise about our central location, our friendly and professional staff, the good breakfast and the stable internet.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

smallish rooms, comfortable, good breakfast, 12 euros/day parking, clean, near everything, goofy internet policy.. you get 5 hours free.. which means that if you start in the evening you need to remember to log out overnight cos if you dont you wont have time in the am..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guest,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

Thank you very much for your praise about our breakfast buffet and our modern rooms. Please note that the Wi-Fi at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof is free of charge for all devices and every time. For more information or help do not hesitate to contact our front office team.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim

Address: Augustaanlage 4-8 | 68165 Mannheim, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Mannheim
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Hotel Mannheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.