We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim to your Saves list
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Augustaanlage 4-8 | 68165 Mannheim, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Mannheim
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel would otherwise not be so great if it wasn't essentially in the middle of everything in Mannheim.
My only complaint is the WiFi cut out several times and they charged a very high price for WiFi, which with the price of the room, you'd think would come complimentary.
Everything else is great, they even have a gym if you want some exercise during your stay (although more likely you'll find something to do in Mannheim or Heidelberg!).
Room initially didn't have AC working but they moved us to one which did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

first we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.
We attach great importance to improve our services continuously. Therefore, we welcome suggestions and criticism. The WIFI is free of charge in the entire hotel. Vouchers are available at the reception. We are glad that your roomchange because of the not working air conditioning was easily.

We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    90
    55
    21
    12
See reviews for
16
39
21
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I were in Mannheim for a week on business. We stayed 5 nights at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a great location for walking to parks, shopping and restaurants where you can have a cappuccino or a beer and sit at one of the outdoor tables that look out onto the park and fountains. The hotel room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had double sinks with large counters. The staff at the front desk is very helpful at providing information about the area or making dinner recommendations/reservations. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and the service was excellent and friendly, too. The center courtyard is also a great place to sit outside and have a drink, read and just relax. Also, the parking garage is not part of the hotel; but, it's very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback and the praise about our staff, rooms and restaurant. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during a business trip. Behind the hotel is a multi-storey car park with direct access to the hotel (at additional cost).

As others have mentioned the hotel is in a great location, very easy to access from the nearby Autobahns and a 5 minute walk into the centre. The room was clean, bathroom a good size and the bed comfortable.

Only had breakfast in the hotel, which was charged extra and a bit pricey but good quality. Plenty of nearby restaurants and bars also.

A good business hotel, would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback and the praise about our location, room and breakfast. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is in one of the best locations in Mannheim. The view to the park is excellent and is a short walk across the street. Really nice restaurants and bars very close and the hotel is very clean and service is excellent. If you are there for work, 5-10 minutes from Alstom/ABB, etc. This is the preferred hotel for me in this city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Gordoray,

First we would like to thank you that you have taken the time to inform us about your experience at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof.

We attach great importance to improve our services continuously and we are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof. We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona beach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in the Steigenberger Manmheimer Hof Back in May , stayed for 6 nights , first impression was good , the front desk staff were helpful and professional , the room looked a bit tired and old , nonetheless was very clean , my main concern is that i had a problem with the Heat and leakage in the bathroom but it was never taken care off till the day i left , that was the negative parts , the location of the Hotel is great next the wasserturm , and within walking distance to almost everything , the breakfast was really good , one of the best i have seen in many hotels , will i go there again , i think with some renovations i wlll

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

first we would like to thank you for your reservation at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and your great feedback. Also thank you for the praise about our staff. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This old hotel in Mannheim has probably seen its best days. Still, the quality is relatively high. Our notion was, that about 75 years ago the hotel's typical guests were wealthy, very rich, probably, that also demanded spacious rooms. I have traveled a lot and stayed at many hotels but never experienced this size on everything. Lobby, lifts, stairs, restaurant, conference rooms, hotel rooms, bathrooms etc.. Large areas, big spaces, and lots of volume. We didn't, however get the best of impressions after checking in. The hotel was obviously fully booked on the standard rooms so we got, or accepted, an upgraded room at a higher price, of course. As we took our room in possession, we literally stepped into a sauna. And we didn't understand what in that room justified the upgrading. It was a room for disabled, well, so the bathroom was large, though with the shower water running towards the door instead of the drain. Yes, we took a shower instead of going straight to the reception to complain. Naive as we were, we hoped on improvement, regarding the sauna. But no, the air conditioning was simply too weak to take down the temperature. The receptionist could not understand my question; "what in that room justified a higher price, and therefore the upgrading"? The room was, really a standard type, just to make that clear. Well, after a while of discussion, we were offered a better room, large and airconditioned, and living up to our expectations for a hotel as this. We couldn't resist the feeling of anachronism. And we wish them all the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Stefan,

first we would like to thank you very much for your reservation at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and for your feedback of your stay with us.

We attach great importance to improve our services continuously. Therefore, we welcome suggestions and criticism. Thank you very much for the praise about the spacious rooms and the large areas of the hotel. We have to apologize about the not working air condition in the first room but we are pleased that the room change worked without any problems. We look forward to welcome you at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

No question: great location, good service at reception and a nicely renovated reception area ( this is btw what the website shows so prominently). However, as soon as you enter the lift and everything from there on is a journey into the 60s/70s - but not the cool way. They really need to refurbish. It looks and smells like time stood still. Definitely not upto standard. Still, overall value for money is ok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIKMannheim, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

first we would like to thank you very much for your reservation at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof and for your feedback of your stay with us. We are very proud for the praise about the Location and our Service. We are always trying to keep our standard of service at a high level and must be assured that we take your comments very seriously. On review, like yours, we are instructed to improve our service continuously. Our last renovation has been in 2007.

We look forward to welcome you at the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof despite your unfulfilled expectations again, in order to convince you of the professionalism of our entire staff and the service standards.

Kind regards
Your team from Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim

Address: Augustaanlage 4-8 | 68165 Mannheim, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Mannheim
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Hotel Mannheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.