We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & location are good... treatment is NOT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Augustaanlage 4-8, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 hotels in Mannheim
Nazareth, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Food & location are good... treatment is NOT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed with a group of 20 children and 2 adults in this hotel last June for 9 days. When we arrived, we didn't get the rooms on time. Their site and receptionists say that reserved rooms are available at 2:00 pm. The first room we got was at 2:30 and the last one was at 5:10. Very shameful. In addition, they also say on their site that WiFi is free, it is not. There is an internet stand for 20 minutes per day. Quality of net is not good and many items are blocked when using these free 20 minutes. However, saying all that, I have to say that location is perfect, breakfast is very good and cleanness is good too for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    83
    46
    14
    7
See reviews for
13
28
18
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in mid June. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Mannheim city center and the hotel has a cool, urban vibe. We had a deluxe room with super comfortable bedroom and a large and lovely bathroom. One drawback was we only had a shower and no bathtub. But the room was spacious and quiet. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was outstanding. There were many business groups at the hotel so it had a lot going on. It has a spacious lobby, and spacious dining areas, a nice outdoor courtyard and meeting rooms galore. I loved it completely. It felt like a home away from home. You will surely love it too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this property several times within the past few years. I have to say, I really enjoy this hotel. The staff are friendly, sometimes slow (housekeeping), and always willing to help be it a room transfer or giving directions and help. Without attitude. Ok, so, the rooms. The rooms are quite large for Europian standards, but most Steigenberger Hotel rooms are, but a tad bare and in need of new, more soundproof, windows. We always stay on the top floor due to the traffic and pedestrian noises but it doesn't help all that much. You can still hear everything, car/drunk people so we called down and requested a floor fan to drown out the noise. They obliged and it helped. Plus it's in walking distance to almost ALL downtown Mannhein. Good food, great bars/nightclubs, conveinience stores & Casinos all within blocks of the hotel. Overall, for the price/cleanliness/friendly staff, I'd recommend this hotel anyday. Only complaint is the parking garage. It's a nightmare. The spaces are WAY too small & right next to cement columns. But all in all, it's a nice, friendly, awesomely located hotel from all things Mannheim.
I Recommend !!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I visit Mannheim several times a year and have stayed at several of the hotels in the area. Not much difference between this hotel and the many others in the area except the rates are lower. The entry into the hotel, lobby and bar are upscale, the rooms are clean, appointments are simple and the beds are of typical European style. The breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful. The hotel location is close to downtown and other amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

An old Hotel but absolutely immaculate, staff at reception very good and a request for a second pillow (I should have asked for three) was met quickly. The area is strange with no “corner shops” etc but a plethora of Plastic Surgery Clinics and Chemists, it is only about ten minutes walk from the Railway Station so a taxi is not really needed.

Breakfast was very impressive, an excellent choice with an additional menu to order fried egg etc, lots of staff on duty and coffee arrived almost instantaneously, dinner was totally different, I arrived at 6-45 in the evening to a half-full restaurant and advised to come back in half an hour as there would be a wait for food. I went back and the same people where still there, a Maitre d’ and a single waiter, who also doubled as barman, were on duty and, given how little was seen of him, I suspected the Maitre d’ was also the chef!

I was talking to another guest who in late afternoon had waited twenty minutes to be served at the bar, given that I paid €122 for one night including breakfast it isn’t cheap.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The room was big, the bathroom was big, the service excellent. But don't eat dinner there. We were seven, all ordered dinner. Only five got it and the waiter insisted thatt two did not order. They did, the waiter was wrong, obnoxious and should not work as a waiter. His boss, when the main course of the two arrived after everybody else had finished theirs, had this to say: But they got it in the end.
Get it?!!
The service at the reception was excellent. The bar is poorly stocked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I've been in Mannheim many, many times in different hotels. This definetly sticks out. Classy interior at ground level, nice elevators. Room, 212 was also ok, read that some other rooms were old or/and small.

The atmosphere, can't tell really the reason, was relaxing, clean, warm etc.

The Breakfast. Best I've been seeing for a long time, and I travel a lot around the world. Great selection, excellent service, quiet like it MUST be in the morning, nice decoration....

Only minus was that the room was too warm and air dry, but that happend.

My hotel in Mannheim.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof

Address: Augustaanlage 4-8, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 hotels in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Mannheim
Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof Hotel Mannheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.