We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting displays of furniture and objects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Badisches Landesmuseum

Badisches Landesmuseum
Schlossplatz 1-3, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
0721 926 6514
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 things to do in Karlsruhe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
glasgow
Top Contributor
411 reviews 411 reviews
195 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Interesting displays of furniture and objects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The schloss is undergoing renovation but this museum is open and it is a pleasant way to spend a morning. There is an audioguide in English which covers part of the exhibition. We really enjoyed learning a bit about the rulers of this part of Germany.the walk through the park is delightful

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“recently renovated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

the Turkish booty is what we came for this time. Seems nicely curated. Is all teh collection from Baden though?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Nice view from the tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The palace (which the museum is in) is marvelous!
We came on Friday afternoon and were announced that entrance is free between 14-18. Good!
We wandered through the museum, nice exhibition and not many people.
The highlight for us was climbing up to the tower, and see the whole city (almost...) from above.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Müllheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Badisches Landesmuseum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you have the chance to visit this historical museum please don't miss it. I have seen there an exhibition on the pre-historic cultures the upper Rhine Valley. The museum itself was already worth the visit. Even when there is no exhibition you will find beautiful and fascinating exhibits of the whole area of Baden-Württemberg from pre-historic times and the middle ages up to the 21st century. It is a very lively museum even for those who do not live in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good cultural and historical museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This museum is located in the large palace (Schloss) in the center of Karlsruhe. I went on a Friday, when admission is free, and spent some time wandering through the museum. I was unfortunately here during a heat wave, and like most buildings here, it was not air conditioned. They have an excellent collection of exhibits on ancient artifacts, medieval history, world culture, and things related to the history and culture of southwest Germany. I recommend seeing this on your visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badisches Landesmuseum also viewed

Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Badisches Landesmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badisches Landesmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.