We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, awesome breakfast, great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mendelssohnplatz, 76131 Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Südstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great rooms, awesome breakfast, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have been there twice now and I know I'll be back. The rooms are great, the food is great. Right across the street, inside the mall, there's a really good Chinese restaurant too. Marriott has never disappointed me and this place is another great example of a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: It's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    46
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
63
25
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Although there is no lounge the hotel compensates a lot: free breakfast, free drinks at bar, free minibar, and discount at the restaurant. Actually, I'd prefer this benefit over the lounge.

The hotel is in the city center so be prepared to pay for parking if you drive to it. It is however reasonable for 17 Euros and below the hotel. I'd prefer free but it's Europe and parking in the city never is free.

Aside from the construction in front of the building the hotel provides a quiet atmosphere for sleep and rest. The beds are comfortable and the pillows (6) are extremely supportive. Thank you for having a pillow menu.

I stayed in a standard room which was fine for two for an overnight stay. The bathroom is standard tub/shower combination but offers nice bath products.

The hotel reception is extremely warm and helpful at offering suggestions for entertainment and activities.

The WiFi is free for Gold members and above and provided excellent speeds during all times of the day and night.

Breakfast is served till 11a on most days except Sunday. The selection was quite good and plentiful towards the end of breakfast.

Overall I'd definitely stay at this hotel again. This hotel definitely exceeded my expectations and lived up to Marriott standards.

Room Tip: Courtyard side as the street in front of the hotel is being repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Decent place to stay. Grocery across the street. seemed a little sketchy area or at least down one of the streets. The servers and bar staff were great - highly recommend staying at the bar to eat instead of venturing out. The shower can be a little tricky - not typical in US. We ate downstairs here with out tour group and it was the worst meal we had out of 16 days (cold and not tasty) - BUT the food upstairs looked so much better

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at renaissance. Located nicely in the city and staff is nice. Walking distance to palce, market platz, and trains. I enjoy the breakfasts and dinner at hotel. Staff is very nice and helpful too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Marriott is full of very helpful staff. The front desk helped in getting us oriented to Karlsruhe, places to eat, and attractions to visit. The bartender was pleasant and seemed to care that we were using the area.The rooms were clean and met our needs. Unfortunately the noise carries between rooms more than you would expect in a Renaissance Hotel. It would also be helpful if they would inform you in advance of major road work directly in front of the hotel that made finding the entrance to the parking facility an adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel which says it all... but the service was exquisite. At the reception we received exhaustive information accompanied by maps and internet downloads about what to see and where to go. Every advise was proved excellent, food, sightseeing, wine tours. We truly felt welcomed and pampered. The staff was generous to offer free drinks, and other extras... Breakfasts, included in the price, were superb - amazing variety.
Walk distance to everything. Supermarket across the street offers excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

At Karlsruhe we took a break before heading for Basel. a hint: Across the street from this hotel is a large market for snacks and sundry items, and do not forget to dine on the salmon dish at the Renaissance--delicious!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel

Address: Mendelssohnplatz, 76131 Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Südstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Karlsruhe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Karlsruhe
#4 Family Hotel in Karlsruhe
#5 Business Hotel in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Karlsruhe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.