We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for 3* hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Eden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 15-19, 76137 Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Karlsruhe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good for 3* hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stay here for 2 nights. Rooms are small and looks old. Beathroom is quite good, but not everithing works fine. Location of hotel is next to the center and they have also underground parking. Internet only via hotspot (5€ for 1h). Breakfast is really good for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
11
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Although our room was only prepared for individual use, it was rearranged fast.
The hotel is far from the center of Karlsruhe, 20-30 minutes walking but there is free parking on the adjacent street. The hotel does not have its own parking as we expected, but there is a public parking near for aprox. 8€/day.
The rooms are nice and spacious and clean.
The breakfast buffet is not very varied.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for one night as part of a break in a long drive. On arrival we found the guest garage around the back and just chose a space at random. Check in was straight forward we were also informed that parking was 8 euros for the night (something not mentioned on any websites that I could find).

The room was clean and tidy, it was on the top floor (4th) but there was a lift around the corner that made carrying heavy bags easy.

We didn't dine in at the hotel restaurant/beer garden, but we did have a few drinks in the evening that were reasonably priced (3.60 euro for a half litre of very good beer). From seeing other guests meals that they had bought I think we wished we had given it a try!

Breakfast was included in the price (some confusion may arise as there is a hotel 'manual' that explains breakfast is x euros, but don't worry that is for people have booked through means/just come in the morning for breakfast). The breakfast is typical of continental Europe; meats, cheese, bread, fruit, eggs, coffee etc. A nice buffet style layout that could be eaten in the conservatory or in the garden.

Overall a nice well kept hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertawe
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

When we stayed here, we were appalled at the state of the hotel in general and, more so, the bedroom. Asking for a non-smoking room was pointless, as the room stank. The carpets were absolutely filtthy. The reception staff were extremely rude and the service slow, and one of the staff refused to provide her name.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had a hard time finding the Eden because the traffic pattern on our map did not seem to match up to reality. We stayed in mid November and although it was windy and rainy, we made the most out of our stay in Karlsruhe. The pros were, conveinent underground parking located right at the hotel, clean rooms, plenty of hot water for the shower, comfortable beds, and breakfast is in a nice atrium room. Now for the cons, Not many restaurants or bars in the area, the hotel bar required formal attire, our hotel voucher stated a hot breakfast would be served but there was nothing but some hard boiled eggs under a heat lamp and there was no one in the dining room to greet you or to ask questions. One of the mornings we were there none of the tables had been cleaned and we had to go to the lobby to ask for a clean cup for coffee. The staff was friendly but next time we would try to see if we could find something in a better location, but if not we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Loved this hotel, although it was very hot when I was there and there is no air conditioning. Americans might complain about the size and age, but it is well-maintained and German in tone. In other words, it is not like an impersonal American chain. The breakfast was the best part. Meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee. My rate was only 35 Euros in the summer. The terrace is really the best part of this place, and I like the fact it is family owned, although the front desk could be goofy. (They didn't have my reservation written down correctly) But, all in all, I'd stay here again because of teh good value. There is an elevator.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My mother, sister and I, stayed at Hotel Eden for 2 weeks from July 11-24th, 2010. I had booked a room for three people on-line about 6 months in advance and was able to get a great deal! We actually had a room that was sub-divided into two "rooms", a smaller one with a couch and table (no tv), and a larger one that had a huge bed for two and a tv in it. When you entered our room through the front door, there was a small hall which had a nice-sized closet , and from there you could enter into each of the two bedrooms. The bathroom was accessable through the larger of the two bedrooms. All the "rooms" , including the bathroom, had windows and curtains. The bathroom had a hair blow dryer in it, so no need to bring your own. Also, there is a soap dispenser in the shower as well as next to the sink, which they filled up every day. Our room was bright, friendly and kept very clean. We received plenty of new towels, bathroom tissue and kleenex every day. Just leave your used towels on the floor, and they'll automatically replace them with fresh ones every day. The hotel itself is an older building, which I find very attractive. No need to worry though, it has been renovated and upgraded, so it is very comfortable and clean. There is a small elevator, so getting your luggage upstairs is no problem! The hotel is family owned, and the reception crew is very nice and helpful and they do speak English, for those of you who don't speak German. The breakfast buffet (which was included in our great price) was absolutely wonderful! It's German-style, with freshly baked buns, rolls and pretzels and different types of cheeses, sausage slices, tomato and cucumber slices, fresh yogurts, cereals, hard boiled eggs, fresh juices, fresh fruit and of course coffee, tea, or bottled water. You could also order omlettes, etc. but I'm not sure if there was a seperate charge for that. We were completely and totally satisfied with the buffet. In back of the hotel is a beautiful and well-kept garden with tables, chairs and umbrellas, so you can sit and really enjoy your breakfast. The hotel also serves lunch and dinner. In the winter months, you can enjoy your meals in the "winter garden", a glass enclosed eating area adjacent to the garden...also very nice! All the staff was very, very friendly and helpful! This hotel is about 10 minutes walking distance from the Hauptbahnhof (Main Train Station), we enjoyed walking, but if you have luggage, just jump into a cab and let them drive you down the street to the hotel. There is no entertainment or "night life" in this hotel, which to us was great! The street cars are also easily accessible...either from in front of the Main Train Station (a 10-minute walk), or, you can walk over to "Karlstrasse" (a 5 minute walk) where you can also get on the street cars. We didn't bother renting a car, it's so easy to get everywhere with the street cars and trains that you don't really need one! We actually walked to the "downtown" area...like the Europaplatz (Hauptpost) and the Marktplatz....which is a pedestrian shopping zone. If you do rent a car, the hotel does have a sub-terranian garage, but ask ahead of time if there is a charge for parking there. There are many, many Cafe's, bakeries, butcher shops and restaurants everywhere...I encourage you to try some of them! Karlsruhe may not be as big as Mannheim or Stuttgart, but my city does have a lot of history as well. Be sure to visit the "palace" and it's garden...you can take nice walks there as well and have a great cup of coffee or glass of wine! :) Other cities, such as Heidelberg are very easily reached by train (ICE train) or the slower regional trains...(hint: for some trips, the regional trains are quite a bit cheaper. They do take longer to reach their destination, but we were on vacation visiting our home town, so we enjoyed looking out the window and taking in the scenery!).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 15-19, 76137 Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Karlsruhe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.