We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover en route to Austrian Alps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aviva

Hotel Aviva
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aviva to your Saves list
Hotel Aviva
Ohiostrasse 15, 76149 Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Meopham, Kent, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great stopover en route to Austrian Alps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked this hotel via the internet as it was about half way to our Austrian resort. The hotel is a bit off the main route, but not too far. The bedrooms are pleasantly decorated and spacious, very clean and there is free wifi for 24 hours. We found a chinese restaurant a few minutes' drive away. The best thing by far was the absolutely amazing breakfast - absolutely anything and everything your heart could desire - cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, breads, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, boiled egg, cereals, teas (herbal, green, regular), coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices. Wow! This was the best breakfast I have had anywhere and at this price it is a gem! Also meant we could drive through to resort without stopping to eat! Well done Hotel Aviva, if we go to this resort again, we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
7
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Hotel in a good distance to the city center (Tram 3 about 10 Min. to go). Hotel with different size of rooms, some for singles are a little bit small. Breakfast is o.k. and people are very helpful in the hotel. For the price a good choice. Nice surrunding (forest) an nice restaurant near by (fünf).

Room Tip: try to get a double room if you are travelling allone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Was really surprised at how good this hotel was, easy to find, lots of nice detail like even down to nail files in bathroom and sweets and drinks in bedroom. Was expecting it to be nice but clinical and basic ,was very pleased, although no air conditioning there was a fan, quad room VERY spacious, comfortable beds, best breakfast ever had virtually every combination you could want, free accesss to emails. If I come to this part of germany again I would definately stay here a gain. Just wish the hotel chain in Calais I had stayed at had been as nice

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

I do have made several visits to Europe during 2009. There is no doubt that this was one of the best mid range hotel I stayed during my visit. Staffs were friendly (even though most of them didn’t understood a single word I spoke) and helpful. They do have a very good sauna bath in the top floor. The rooms were clean, room service was very good and internet connectivity was consistent.
Breakfast was well served and there is a MC Donald’s, and several Italian restaurants near to the place

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010 via mobile

The hotel is located rather off but I used this for some jogging in the forrest near by which is very beautiful! Hotel seems still to be under construction but not bothering to the guests. New rooms, modern style, clean an a great girl at the reception made this a good stay in Karlsruhe where it normally is difficult to find a decent priced hotel.
Note: You need a car to get there. Shell gas station and McDonalds just around the corner of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed at the Aviva to go to the German F1, arrived late on Friday evening and were offered a Pizza supper - all good.
Good sized rooms, very clean. Fantastic buffet breakfast with too much to choose from - hot and cold options - each morning we spotted something we had missed the previous morning. Very helpful Reception staff. In the bar area was a laptop for free access - nice touch when you get back from the track to catch up.
We had two dinners during our stay - both restaurants within easy walking distance.
We had a great meal at the FUNF restaurant - everything from Tapas to a full restaurant menu, served inside or in the garden - part of the University Library - but don't be put off - the staff are really friendly and the food was all freshly prepared. Good value for money.
Not good value for money was the local Italian SAN FELICE. Located in a lovely garden, crisp white table cloths, lovely menu.
As a visitor to the area be prepared to pay for smaller portions of food than the locals are served and a fantastic scam on the wine. When you get the bill you are told that the Wine List prices are all TAKE AWAY PRICES and they add around 10 Euros to the listed price - also the Maitre D assumes after taking for the bill that all the Euros left are his tip - he tried to walk off with an 8 Euro tip on a 32 Euro bill!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

What a great hotel this was! Nearly new, it's maybe a little out of the way but as we had a car that didn't really matter to us - we were in the city centre in just a few minutes. I know there is public transport nearby.

We stayed in an "apartment" room which had a huge double bed - 2m wide by 2.2m long! - as well as a double sofa bed. There was tons of room between the beds, and we also had a desk with chair, a phone (free calls to fixed phones across Europe) and a TV (which we didn't use). I believe most rooms also have an iPod speaker/charging dock.

The bathroom was functional - toilet, sink, shower - but spotless. The shower screen squeaked a little.

There was a small bar fridge and also a kjitchen setup in the room but the sink was not working (there was a sign). This included a small microwave oven and a kettle.

Half an hour's drive away, in France, there is a fantastic and very v ery huge supermarket - Carrefour - we went there and were amazed. You could easily get food for dinner here and cook it in your room.

We went to the (recommended) local Italian restaurant for dinner and it was pretty good. They also serve pizzas at the hotel - probably frozen, but they smelled great.

The (included) breakfast was good and quite extensive. They also do an early breakfast from 4.30am for early risers and people who are just getting back from big nights out.

The staff were friendly and gave good directions. They spoke good English.

But the best thing of all (especially for our kids) was .... the WII game unit in the foyer. They had a blast playing wii sports, while we had a drink from the bar (really a couple of fridges full of drinks - you could get glasses at reception). This was fantastic for them but would also be great for a group of friends or a conference group.

There is a sauna and fitness centre in the hotel, but we didn't check it.

Free parking was available in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aviva

Address: Ohiostrasse 15, 76149 Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Karlsruhe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.