We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money is a big issue...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Insel-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Insel-Hotel to your Saves list
Insel-Hotel
Willy-Mayer-Brucke, 74072 Heilbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Heilbronn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value for money is a big issue...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Insel is a nice hotel, placed next to Heilbronn's center which is good since you don't have to drive to be there. Although the rooms are a bit old, they are descent and clean. The breakfast was ok with enough choices for everyone.

All would be fine, if this hotel was charging its rooms in half price than they currently do. The value for money is the big negative. The only reason I can think of its high price is not what the hotel has to offer, but what the competition (the most of the other hotels in Heilbronn) does not offer (Heilbronn is a difficult place to find a descent hotel).

Last but for many not least you have to pay for Wi-Fi which for me in year 2012 is nearly outrageous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
4
8
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Rooms are. Bit old, not modernized, have to pay for wifi, breakfast is on the poor side and hotel refurbishment is quite disruptive. Probably better than most other hotels in Heilbronn though, but value for money...... Probably not. Worst gym I ever seen in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have done 25 reviews on Trip Advisor over the last two years. I have never rated any place with 1 star. This is my first.

My family just completed one night at the Insel Hotel in Heilbronn where we were visiting other family in the local area. The hotel is currently under rennovation with a lot of construction in the lobby and main areas. The rooms are functional and clean; I would rate them 3 stars. However, the service was incredibly bad.

Six months ago I had booked two connecting rooms so that my family of four could be together in the hotel. Two weeks ago Amex Platinum Travel confirmed the connecting rooms were still on the reservation by calling the hotel directly. However, when we got to the hotel we were told that we did not have connecting rooms. After protesting they acknowledged that the connecting rooms were noted in the reservation but not guaranteed. After further protest because they had given verbal assurance during both the time of booking and upon confirmation two weeks ago, they acknowledged that they had given our rooms to another family who were staying longer than us so they wanted to accommodate that more profitable reservation.

In the end, they basically said the following: (1) It is what it is and we should be happy with the rooms that were provided to us --which were basic rooms even though we had reserved a junior suite connecting to a double room (2) No apology for the change -- they took no ownership of the problem (3) Upon looking at my kids they said the kids look old enough to be in a room by themselves implying that my request was not required (4) No offer to make this right.

Bottom line, you can not trust that the Insel hotel or staff will have any empathy for your family or actually commit to what is in a reservation. They will easily trade one customer off if another customer is more profitable and they have no sense of professional business practices around how you take care of a customer.

The Insel hotel is officially off my list of hotels that I would consider staying at.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I really feel for the team trying to run and maintain this traditional hotel. However, its 4 star glory is fading so fast that you cannot cover up the lack of substance anymore. I was given a room with a convertible sleeping couch as bed (!!! Never had that before), sqhower heads over crusted with limescale, wall decoration coming off and covered with sheets in the hallway, halfempty ie used before coffee jugs served at breakfast. Simply poor.

The quality of staff is outstanding however. That is why I feel for them.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Lovely hotel; clean, extremely pleasant staff who will take care of your every need. Great location close to the town centre and on the River Neckar. I normally stay in very modern hotels so I wasn't sure if I would like this as it is mainly dark woods and rich furnishings but it was excellent. Overall, an excellent stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Best hotel in Heilbronn in my opinion. I've stayed in several over the past 15 years, but this is by far the best.

Heavy decor with dark woods and deep leathers, typical of mix of german quality workmanship inspired by English interior tradition. Although I always prefer a modern designer hotel when I travel, I find the interior is what gives this hotel it's charm.

Fantastic service everywhere. They go out of their way to help.

My only complaint was that upon arrival they could not find my reservation from booking.com. I see other travelers to this hotel have experienced the same. I showed my reservation and they got me a room at the agreed price, but under other circumstances this would have been a disaster.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Heilbronn Insel-Hotel is centrally located, yet, due to being on its "own" island, seems almost remote (in a good comfy sense). Parking is free and quite plentiful (the hotel was full but there were still a few parking spots available).

The decor is in warm wooden tones and staff (reception and room service) is efficient and friendly. The rooms are cushy and spacious with tasteful decoration. Room service was fast and excellent, albeit a bit limited in choice. Internet connection was very good.

My only complaint is the breakfast room. Gone is the plush comfy look; tables are set lengthwise 3 in length with minimal space between the table rows (kind of like in an Oktoberfest beer tent) and if you take an inside seat and a group comes along, you're trapped.

This was my second stay in the Heilbronn Insel-Hotel (first stay was in 2004) and I was impressed by the changes (except for the breakfast room which has not changed).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Insel-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insel-Hotel

Address: Willy-Mayer-Brucke, 74072 Heilbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heilbronn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Heilbronn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Insel-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insel Hotel Heilbronn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Insel-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.