We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof to your Saves list
Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof
Kurpfalzhof 10, 69124 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Portland, Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great property with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Kurpfalzhof and received a very warm welcome from Volker and some ideas for viewing some sights of Heidelberg in the very limited time we had - only 1 day. Travelling with our two sons (13 & 9), we were given two rooms which were very comfortable, spacious and very clean. Volker helped us find the local Europcar office (to fix our GPS), then gave us a map and directions to the Heidelberg Castle, suggesting we take the funicular given our limited time, which was fast and easy. We then took his advice and wandered around the town, taking in beautiful views, and enjoying a delicious dinner, before returning to our rooms for a well earned rest. The hotel, being a few kilometres out of town, is a great position because it was really quiet - we all had a great sleep! The next morning, we received a warm welcome to the breakfast room - food was delicious. Upon checking out, Volker asked where we were headed and suggested a great tour of the Audi factory which was a great surprise for our boys. Volker took the time to call ahead and book our place, which was very kind.
The service we received at Kurpfalzhof was excellent and we would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling in the area. The only suggestion would be..... don't just stay one night like we did. There is too much to see and with such a great property, you will want to stay longer. We will definitely stay again when we return to the Heidelberg area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    27
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
184
15
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a month in Germany, and this was the best place that we stayed. I wish we had stayed here longer and made this our base of operations for exploring this region of Germany. Volker and his wife were wonderful hosts, and they helped in every way possible to make our trip memorable. The breakfasts were delicious. We value cleanliness, especially in the bathroom. We value quiet for a good nights rest. There is so much to see in this region of Germany that we needed at least 5 days in this hotel. Looking forward to our next trip here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night the evening of our arrival in Germany. The girl who welcomed us was very nice and helpful. Our room was extremely large and spotless with a modern bathroom. The beds were super comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and filling.
To top it all off, our GPS did not work and the hotel owner volunteered to try and fix it. He came out into the rain and succeeded! He is so nice, he sat and chatted a while with every guest at breakfast and even suggested nice places to see and how to get to them!
All in all, a beautiful area ( Heidelberg is lovely ) and a wonderful hotel. This was a wonderful beginning to our wonderful trip to the Black Forest area.If we are lucky enough to return to this area, we will certainly come to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the Tripadvisor reviews. All was as stated. I liked the rural setting. The owners run a great hotel. Bacon and eggs cooked to order. Helpful information. We arrived on the night of a firework show in Heidelberg which we would have missed if not for the owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were astounded at the quality of the rooms and the cleanliness of this hotel. We stayed in the hotel and so did not see an apartment. The hotel room was more than adequate in size with a 6 foot wide bed, fridge, bottled water provided and a high quality bathroom. Breakfast was comprehensive with cooked items available if required and was included in the price as was car parking. The owners could not have been more attentive or helpful and gave us details of how to go by bus to Heidelberg, the bus stop for which is at the end of the drive.The Philosophers Walk has lovely views of Heidelberg and the Castle should also be viewed We also drove to Mosbach and Bad Wimpfen which was a beautiful small town with the most picture perfect houses. I can't recommend this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night, en route to the Rhein. We absolutely loved the hotel, our room was extremely spacious, and spotlessly clean. The bed was super comfy, and the bathroom was again spotless and a decent size. The chap on the reception spoke perfect English and was so helpful, he recommended a few places to visit and helped us carry our bags to our room. The breakfast was magnificent and they even offered to cook us something if we didn't want the cold platter.

The location is fabulous, rural but next to the main road, so it was easy to get everywhere. Even though the hotel is very close to the main road, it is far enough away not to be disturbed by traffic noise, even with the windows open.

Everything about the hotel is wonderful, we will definitely be returning, and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for four nights whilst visiting Heidelberg and surrounding areas, and found it an excellent base in a quite rural setting. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable - we had a suite with a separate lounge /sitting area with a basic kitchenette with kettle, microwave and fridge. Breakfasts were more than ample and provided a great start to each day.

Getting into Heidelberg was an easy ten minute drive, and we had no problems finding parking on the two days we went in that direction - parking fees depend on length of stay in the city and for us were 6 and 8 euros on the two days.

As others have mentioned, Volker was an excellent host, with plenty of ideas and suggestions as to what to do in the area.

No restaurant within walking distance, but plenty of offerings in nearby Schwetzingen, only a few minutes drive away, and also in Heidelberg itself.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you have problems with stairs ask for a room on the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof

Address: Kurpfalzhof 10, 69124 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Best Value Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the fields and meadows stretching round you on all sides, and experience rest and relaxation after your schedule of business appointments and / or sightseeing, while at the same time benefitting from the easily accessible location. The comfortable furnishings of the hotel rooms and the Business Rooms, as well as the personal and individual service extended by our staff, combine to make your stay with us an especially memorable experience.Our accommodations feature:rooms that are beautiful, spacious and brightamplework space, with modern fixtures ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Kurpfalzhof Hotel
Garni Kurpfalzhof Heidelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments & Hotel Kurpfalzhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.