We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel - with a bizarre twist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Marstall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Marstall to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Marstall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lauerstrasse 1 | 69117 Heidelberg, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel - with a bizarre twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Villa Marstall is a nice boutique hotel. Staff were fluent in English, and very friendly and helpful with information, bags, etc. Rooms were large (for Europe), comfortable, well furnished; bathroom was big enough and shower was hot & strong.

The hotel's front door opens across a 1-lane road from the Heidelberg memorial to the Holocaust (Synagogue Square). Also, there is a house (next to the Square) that used to be part of the old Synagogue until the Nazis deported all the Jews from Heidelberg in 1940; the house has a plaque on its side wall listing the names of all those deported -- and when we were there, a well lit Christmas tree was visible in the living room window.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    93
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
93
234
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have made many trips to Heidelberg over the past 17 years and always have had a great time. This time I brought my girl friend (a Belgium native) and wanted to make ths trip something special/magical. In my opinion Villa Marstall is perfect. I was in room 22 (corner room with balcony). Clean, up to date, classy and comfortable and on the river. Parking was a 10 minute walk crossing the old town, through the Christmas markets (probably the most wonderful walk home from work one could ever imagine). As others have noted, the staff are nice, friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was nice (I have had better spreads but the food was of quality). She LOVED the hotel and town. What can more can you say, its a stay in a Villa!

Room Tip: 22 might be a little loud in the summer with the windows open but in December it was peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I were traveling around Germany to check out the Christmas markets. This was my favorite hotel out of four we stayed in. The town is really nice as well.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They answered all of our stupid questions and even helped us with our next city.

We were in room 31 which has the four poster bed. Very clean and quiet room. The bathroom only has a shower but does have a hair dryer and towel warmer. The bed was comfortable and warm. Plenty of room. Larger than most rooms in Europe.

Breakfast is in the basement and is 10 Euros per person. It offers fruit, cereals, yogurt, cheese, hard boil eggs, and breads. A wide selection and worth the money.

Hotel does offer free internet via a wire. We didn't have a laptop so it would be nice if they offered a desk top. All we had were our smart phone but no Wifi. The staff was nice enough to look up things for us. The location is about a five minute drive from the main train station. We found the location wonderful. Less than 10 minute walk to anywhere you want to go in town.

Thank you for a wonderful time and I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Clean, large rooms. Beautiful, high ceilings on first floor. Modern bathrooms with showers that work properly. Great location, in the middle of Old Heidelberg. Parking isn’t easy, but it’s Old Heidelberg Front desk very helpful with concierge services like making reservations etc. First floor can be noisy, but it’s the first floor of a hotel. You can’t be shocked about that. It’s a trade-off between beautifully ornate, high ceilings and a bit more hallway noise. I never ate there, but the dining room downstairs is beautiful looking, and a bakery croissant is a bakery croissant.

Room Tip: First floor for beauty, other floors for quiet. The suite isn't the best room, the standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine,TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My friend and I were lucky enough to get the room facing the river that seems to be pictured in a lot of Villa Marstall's promotional photos. It was very pretty and spacious. It was a 10 Euro cab ride from the train station (encourage you to have the exact address and perhaps a map to give the cab driver as it is hard to find). We added the breakfast buffet to our reservation when we checked in because it sounded like a good value and gave us an opportunity to enjoy the bricked vaults that they've made very cozy.
The staff was very polite and helpful to direct us to good places to eat, banks, and the best shopping. The location is right next to the Heidelberg gate on the Alte Brucke and just a block down from all the old town shopping. Two blocks further and we could catch the tram to the castle.

Room Tip: Highly recommend any room that faces the river but it is against the main road that remained fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

When I booked this hotel I emailed them to get carification of the room type because I really wanted a canopy room. I got exactly what I asked for! It was the one in the main picture. I do recommend getting a room on a high floor so you have a view. The hotel is right on the main street next to the river so if you are lower your view would be cars. The rooms are sound proof so we never heard any of the traffic. The shower was very small as was the rest of the bathroom but manageble. The location is great is in walking distance to everything!!!! Breakfast was alittle boring and typical.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel is perfectly located in the "old town", wonderful restaurants, shops and sites are all close by. It is located on the river, across from the trail head to philosophers walk (a must do in Fall, the color was spectacular) We plan to return at some future date, and will look forward to our next visit at the Villa Marstall.

Room Tip: The top floor suite has a convenient kitchenette and a wonderful view. We will be back for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Marstall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Marstall

Address: Lauerstrasse 1 | 69117 Heidelberg, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#6 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Marstall 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant hotel is a beautiful 19th-century villa in the heart of Heidelberg, directly overlooking the Neckar River and a short walk from all historic attractions.Opened as a hotel in 2006, the Villa Marstall offers a range of stylish rooms which are classically furnished with solid wooden furniture and cherry-wood floors.All rooms feature all modern amenities, including a small fridge, 40/32-inch LCD TV and free internet access. All rooms are non-smoking with fresh-air AC ventilation to guarantee complete comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Marstall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marstall Hotel Heidelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Marstall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.