We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, very nice, well-located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt

Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Heidelberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
Save
You added Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt to your Saves list
Kornmarkt 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small, very nice, well-located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Over the years this small hotel just steps away from the Heidelberg City Hall has served us very well. The rooms are quiet and adequate. There is no elevator so you must schlepp luggage to the upper floors. The breakfasts are very good. All in all, a good bargain.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor if the schlepping will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a twin room for 2 nights in August. The room was huge and the bathroom was just outside our bedroom door. This hotel is older style and we identified the furnishings as quite outdated, this is not reflected in the websites pictures. The level of cleanliness was very good in the bathrooms and rooms. There was a bad smell of urine in the hallway one night and when we asked about this were told that someone had stayed with their dog and it must have peed in the hallway - the smell was better the next day but I would not have booked if I’d known that pets were allowed in the hotel. The biggest downside to our stay was the unfriendly reception we got from the english man who greeted us, he was also sarcastic when we departed. On a good note the hotel has a great location within easy walking of all the key sites in Heidelberg. Based on overall experience I would probably find somewhere else to stay next time in Heidelberg.

.
the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here last week with my wife and have no complaints. Perfect location, quiet, clean, & spacious room. We had a balcony with a great view which was very nice. I liked that there is a wonderful bakery about 200 feet from the hotel. There is also an ATM next door. Comfortable bed. Plenty of space for clothes. Good shower with plenty of pressure and hot water. No issues.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left coast USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel is right on Kornmarkt, a half block from the parking garage at the base of the funicular to the castle. It's half a block off the main shopping street, so it's perfectly located. We had a balcony room, which is worth the extra charge. Breakfast was downstairs. The staff was pleasant - the even loaned us umbrellas (which we did not need).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very nice and comfortable. It had a balcony overlooking the MarketPlatz, right next to the railway to the Castle. After we cam down we discover that by foot is extremely close to the hotel, if you don't mind walking upstairs. Breakfast was good, though not included. We asked about a laundromat nearby, but the answer from the staff member was: They are far from here, give it to me and I'll do it in one of our machines". Amazing!!!! Next day in the morning, our laundry was made, folded and everything. And they didn't charge us!!!! That's how nice the staff is.
We will stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

We booked two rooms in this hotel -- one for 110 Euros and one for 70 euros. If you stay here book one of the A,B or C rooms as they have more space and bathroom. The cheaper room shared a bath and had no TV. Despite the fact that we were there in the middle of winter it was still very expensive. As a result many of the tourist shops are dismissive of their customers.
The hotel was nice and had a terrific view of the corn market. We didn't eat there because breakfast was 9 Euros.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

I booked Hotel-Garni am kornmarkt following a recommendation in a website. It was quite a small family-run hotel in an old historic building with not many facilities. The guest room was clean and average with a reasonable price (I booked a quad room, so it was quite jam-packed for 4 adults). However, the location was really great. It located near a public parking building and almost adjacent to the Tram station to Heidelberg Castle, which is the main tourist spot. It was also directly on the main street of the town (Hauptstrasse), with lots of shops, bakery, restaurants, and nightlife. I would highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a convenient accommodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt

Address: Kornmarkt 7, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.