We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's alright, but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schmitt

Hotel Schmitt
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Schmitt to your Saves list
Hotel Schmitt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blumenstrasse 54, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Toronto
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“It's alright, but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We found the hotel easily, it is within walking distance to the airport bus drop off point and under 10 minutes to the train station. The rooms are just alright, beds comfortable, place is clean, breakfast is amble enough. There are no nice touches anywhere though, the towels don't match, the decor isn't anything to write about. Think youth hostel but with your own bathroom. Mrs Schmitt was nice, worked at being hospitable, Mr Schmitt didn't say anything to us. Cash seems to be the preferred method of payment. Tram service is excellent in Heidelberg. Plus you can walk anywhere in town.

Room Tip: While the street is busy enough during the day, it is quiet at night. Double beds are two singles pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I took on a trip through Western Germany with my parents earlier this month and would like to share my quite unpleasant experience with Hotel Schmitt. Since we weren't sure how our plans would develop, we had no hotel booking in advance and were looking for a hotel in or near Heidelberg. Due to unforeseen circumstances, most hotels in the area were full. However, we saw on the Internet that there were rooms available in Hotel Schmitt, so I called to see if we could book a room(seeing as he only spoke German, I was the one to communicate with him). The conversation started awkwardly with the owner asking whether we were Polish, a question the relevance of which was obscure and unclear to me. After sharing that we were Bulgarian, he said that they do in fact have a free room. What really shocked me though, was his reaction to my further questions. He said we couldn't book the room through the Internet( then why would he have his "hotel" put there?) and that he should explain where he lived to me(it was supposed to be a family-owned hotel, not a family house). I asked if it was the address available online, since that would be easier for us to follow. I couldn't possibly have anticipated the reaction - the man started shouting that there was no point in me calling if I already knew everything from the Internet. I got the distinct impression that he had issues with the Internet and Polish people. I really wouldn't recommend that kind of experience to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel is hard to find, though not that far from the train station. The night clerk was pleasant but the owner was curt and gruff. The room was clean, no frills, and not big on outlets. The breakfast was more than adequate. Get a room in the back, though I doubt any are quiet. e were awakened at 5 with the trash truck collecting the whole street's trash.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I feel I must balance the bad reviews from 2006. We found the Hotel Schmitt to be clean, well equipped and efficiently operated. The service and welcome were somewhat impersonal (we had to ring a bell to gain admittance on arrival and there were no staff present overnight) but they were willing to provide (a good) breakfast earlier than the advertised 07.30 and the check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. It' is convenient to the station but not otherwise in a very exciting area - although well served by tram links to the Altstadt. The rooms were modern, smart and clean - with hairdryer as well as TV and shower. A single room at 60 Euro seemed good value for central Heidelberg.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

I was booked here for a one night stay on a Friday last summer. Two days prior, having caught a cold and somewhat weary from our travels I decided to skip Heidelberg and extend my stay at the hotel I was in currently. I called Hotel Pension Schmitt and apologetically attempted to cancel, explaining my circumstances. The owner (I assume it was the owner) laughed haughtily at me and announced that I would have to pay full price for such a cancellation. There wasn't anything remotely friendly or understanding about his tone.

I asked if it wasn't likely that he'd get a replacement booking on a Friday night, given that it was World Cup time and his Hotel is in the old town center of one of the most popular tourist destinations in Germany. He laughed mockingly, explaining that the World Cup wasn't in Heidelberg. (Well, tell that to one of his competitors who had tried to charge me double price to stay in Heidelberg that night because it was during the World Cup. And tell that to all the American soccer fans that stayed in Heidelberg or other non-host cities for games elsewhere in the region.) Ultimately, I told him he was rude and that I wouldn't want to stay with him even if it meant incurring cancellation fees. Which is true. Why would I want to stay with this man?

I would have let the matter drop, but here it is 4 months later and he's finally gotten around to charging me the full rate for that night. In all fairness, he probably has every right to do this. Maybe 2 days isn't adequate cancellation for a small hotel in Germany? (Nowhere on his website does it state a cancellation policy, nor did it in the email he sent to confirm booking. ) But my issue isn't with his policy, it's his manner. If he had explained this to me politely, he wouldn't get a bad review.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland, florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

We booked the small hotel at the last moment two weeks ago for three couples and arrived around 3 p.m., and were told where to park our vehicles (on the street directly in front of the hotel, in spite of my inquiry about the below ground parking as I had observed was available.) Upon leaving thirty minutes later to see the city for the next 3/4 hours we were surprised when we returned that one of the vehicles had been towed off, and was advised by the same lady ( Wife of the Inn Keep) that she had let the officers in the room of my friend to secure the keys and the car was parked beneath the hotel, yes the same area I had originally inquired about. To compound the problem my friend would have to go and pay 100 Euros to retrieve the keys from the police station.

The next morning we confronted the Inn keep/Husband who could not have been more of a jerk about the entire problem and denied that his 'wife had ever told us to park where she indicated, even though he wasn't there. I have travelled extensively and never seen a customer treated this way. A mistake was made, a reasonable way to resolve the matter would have been to have given my friend his room for free that evening, especially in light that we were renting three rooms. Avoid this establishment.

  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schmitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schmitt

Address: Blumenstrasse 54, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Schmitt 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schmitt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schmitt Hotel Heidelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schmitt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.