We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grenzhof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grenzhof Hotel to your Saves list
Grenzhof Hotel
Grenzhof 9, 69123 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Duesseldorf
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed for 1 night and was just overwhelmed. The place is a well-refurbished estate, very atmospheric and well-kept. The rooms are kept quite individual. I could imagine each looks a bit different. The bathroom was a bit older, but still OK and clean.

The breakfast was extraordinary, with a good and rich selection of foods, in a relaxed atmosphere in the open lobby. A very good front desk service deserves particular mention.

Apart from this number of very positive impressions, only two minor setbacks were these: A remote location you could hardly reach if not by private car and a service employee at the breakfast buffet who was at the brink of being unkind. But I could cope with that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hodenhagen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is located on the country side in a very small village near Mannheim, Germany. The interior of each room is different, interiors are nice, rooms named "apple room" or "stork's nest" live up to their names. Breakfast is abundantly, the restaurant is excellent with a touch of french cooking, therefore a bit expensive. It's nice quite place to stay and a good base for visits to Heidelberg and Mannheim.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were happy we found this place because it's not a place you just pass by. There is a gourmé restaurant serving excellent food. I bet it would be nice to go there all year around to escape from a busy life. As touristing it is close to towns like Heidelberg and Mannheim.
The room was nice and we liked the breakfast alot. Just the breakfast you would expect from a nice restaurant like this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My partner and I found this hotel by chance on the Internet, or rather on booking.com. We decided to take a chance on it and were NOT disappointed. Everything about this hotel was lovely. We had a standard room in the older part of the hotel and it was just perfect - cozy, compfortable, bright. There was even a free bottle of sparking water awaiting us.
The staff at evening dinner couldn't have been friendlier. The dinner, too, was delicious.
Then breakfast was probably one of the best I've had in a hotel in a long time ! It was scrumptious !
I can highly recommend this hotel. And it was also in a quite village with no noise. Truly beautiful to wake up to the sounds of the birds !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was my second visit to the Grenzhof, and it was again impressive. We are talking about a 3 star hotel that offers 5 star food service. I definitely recommend the newer rooms in the adjacent building, the price is very reasonable, but they are nicer. All in all, great deal for what you get, and it will not disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grenzhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenzhof Hotel

Address: Grenzhof 9, 69123 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grenzhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grenzhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.