We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Auerstein

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Auerstein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Auerstein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dossenheimer Landstrasse 82, 69121 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 79 hotels in Heidelberg
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, complete with everything you would need for a short stay in Heidelberg. I didn't get a chance to try the restaurant because there are so many other places to eat nearby and the centre of town is a short tram ride away. The staff were friendly, although there was never anybody on reception and so after the restaurant shut for the night there were few ways to contact the staff. There was no lift that I found and I had to carry my case up and down 2 flights of a spiral staircase, so be warned and pack light if you intend on staying here. The only other downside was that the wifi quality was rather poor. I could just about check my emails, but nothing more than that.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is very good value for the money. It is just outside of the city centre but it is a short tram ride. The tram station is about 200m from the hotel door and drops off right at the main street to the old city. Rooms were clean and quiet with a small balcony. The down side is lugging your bags up the spiral staircase and the fact that the hotel reception are not around after hours. However the restaurant staff were the back ups and were very helpful. Breakfast was good and we ate at the restaurant one evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, QC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The room we had was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included, buffet style but generous and fresh. Service very friendly during the day but after 17h you're on your own! We will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

At first I was a little disappointed by how far away from the city center this hotel was, but it wasn't hard at all to get here using the Strassenbahn (street car). The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the Biethsstrasse stop on tram line 24 (direction Handschuhsheim).

The room we had was spacious (for European standards), clean (the bathroom could've been a bit cleaner though) and equipped with a TV. The breakfast , which was included, was good - typical German - bread, meats, cheese, jams, yogurt & fruit. The staff was friendly and the value was good. We didn't eat dinner or lunch at the restaurant, but it looked very fancy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2004

My family stayed at the hotel December 11 - 15, 2004 and enjoyed our stay in the charming room and the gourmet restaurant on the first floor. We would definitely stay there again.
----------------------------

Positive points:
- Our 2nd floor room in the turret was clean, charming, spacious with a wood floor and iron bistro table and two chairs. A large bottle of sparkling mineral water was replenished daily. Climate control included good radiators, large windows, and a floor fan. Alarm clock and hair dryer in room. We loved coming back to our pretty room at the end of a long day, then going downstairs for a late dinner or dessert.

- Gourmet restaurant with beautifully presented and delicious food. The pumpkin cream soup or Kürbiscremesuppe mit Croutons was lovely and filling for lunch. The huge three homemade ravioli with pumpkin filling (Hausgemachte Ravioli mit einer Kürbisfüllung an Nussbutter und Parmesan) was so good I had it twice. The feldsalat or salad with field greens was delicious. The rumpsteak was good. The desserts were worthwhile - Schokoparfait mit lauwarmen Pflaumen or chocolate mouse-like cake with warm plum sauce and the apple tarte with ice cream were wonderful without being too decadent. Phillip, the big teddy bear waiter, had a great personality and gave us helpful advice on taking the tram to Heidelberg.

- The staff was very helpful and spoke English. One nice young man even called the next hotel for us to help with our reservations.
- Breafast was included in the price (cold cuts, cheese - brie cheese on two days, rolls, hard boiled/soft boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, coffee (very strong), tea)

- Great location - one tram stop from the OEG Bahnhof (train station) and a few stops away from downtown Heidelberg and the Christkindel market, which I found to be one of the best in Germany (out of 10 of them I visited).

Other points:
- No elevator - lots of circular stone steps to help work off the gourmet meals, but the gentlemen were very willing to help bring our luggage up the stairs.
- Tiny bathroom in room. Only one person could stand in bathroom. It was clean, and everything worked fine. Peach soap gel in sink container was also to be used for shower. No shampoo.
- Not much on street parking. Had to park up the street in the residential area for two nights.
- For three people in the room, they accomodated us by providing a cot. The cot springs could easily be felt through the material, but the nice red haired lady allowed us to take a mattress from an unused room and put it over the cot. It was a guess to see when they would have to take the mattress back each night, but it worked out for our stay.

Hotel Aurstein was a charming hotel with a great gourmet restaurant and nice people.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Auerstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Auerstein

Address: Dossenheimer Landstrasse 82, 69121 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Auerstein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an extensive sightseeing tour of Heidelberg, Auerstein Hotel and Restaurant is a great place to relax. The hotel has 17 rooms. Besides normal twin rooms, the hotel also features three large rooms - with a total area of about 19 square meters, they are quite comfortable and spacious. Largest and most beautiful rooms of the property is the 20-square-foot loft.The Hotel has also a lovely Italian restaurant serving great traditional Italian cuisine. During the summer months you can enjoy your meals on the patio, which can accommodate up to 60 guests.We are looking forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Auerstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auerstein Hotel Heidelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Auerstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.