We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms clean and AC! extra prices killed it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pleikartfoerster Strasse 101, 69124 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
NH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Rooms clean and AC! extra prices killed it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

One of the few hotels we stayed in that had AC. most of the gasthouses did not. This is a plus. The hotel is next to an industrial park area. it does not feel like quaint germany nor does it have any Charm. The rooms were clean, with AC, nice bathrooms and a very new good quality hotel.
on the bad side, Breakfast, internet, parking , all had additional hidden charges. I checked in around 3 and went to leave. The park gate would not open. Do you want to come an go? oh that is 9 Euro extra. IF you stay there, check in after your dinner elswhere and you can escape the parking charges. Or stay downtown in something really quaint and German.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    76
    63
    23
    4
See reviews for
19
49
24
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hashmonaim
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Better hotels were full so stayed here. Basic room, no hot water or ironing board in room. Can get hot water from restraurant and can order iron and board. Friendly accomodating staff. Not near anything in terms of walking. 5 minutes from main train station, 10 minutes from town. Not near river. Has an some fitness equipment, elliptical, Nautilus wieight machine, bike, suana.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

It was a rather typical Holiday Inn experience. Efficient and friendly staff, comfortable and well-maintained rooms, numerous pillow choices on request. I thought the hotel was priced a little on the high side, considering they are not within walking distance of the downtown area and they're charging you for parking.
Breakfast was priced too high for my interest, as was the internet.

Although I had a comfortable stay, if I were visiting on vacation I would first look into competitive hotels in the downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The downsize is that is far from everywhere if you don't have a car. If you do, it's relatively close to Heidelberg, but is certainly not walking distance. A cab from the hotel to the city center is around 11 euro.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Hotel was clean, pleasant, staff were friendly. A little out of the way if you don't have a car but still a decent hotel regardless.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We chose to stay here for our first night in Europe because we assumed it would be a nice comfortable spot for our first night. The staff was friendly and spoke English, but the area we stayed in was very old and noisy (doors slamming constantly during the afternoon). It was also a bit of a drive to the old town area. Also, it was the only hotel where we found a bug in our room... Our stay was fairly pricey for what we got, but it was comfortable for our first night. If you are going to stay in Heidelberg, I would suggest looking at some hotels closer to the old town center.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Pay for the room, pay for breakfast, pay for internet, pay for parking, and so on. It's very comfortable and they made me feel very welcome, but it's just a tad expensive!

I did love the AC and the TV Channel options when it was too hot to go outside. And I especially liked the "Pillow Menu" options. I do plan on staying here again for its comfort and location and because I need to be at my best for the business I am in town for. But if I was on vacation or sight seeing, I would stay somewhere far more affordable and centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg

Address: Pleikartfoerster Strasse 101, 69124 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes by public transport from the Old Town and the Heidelberg Castle the Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg is a great location for those visiting Heidelberg for travel needs. This Heidelberg hotel is easy accessible from the highway A5 and just 5 minutes distance to the main station. Companies like SAP Walldorf, Heidelberger Druck, Henkel and Wild Werke are located in our direct neighbourhood. Relax in our modern business room featuring amenities like a quiet room location, a large working desk and free wireless internet access. Start your day with a healthy breakfast which contains a large variety of organic food. Experience a high quality room service or indulge yourself after a hard work day with a fine dining in one of our two restaurants. Our team is looking forward welcoming you. We can help make your day so join our fitness area and unwind in the sauna. We are here - ready with all you need to make your trip to Heidelberg a successful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.