We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with lovely staff, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Heidelberg Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Heidelberg Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Heidelberg Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Konigswinter, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with lovely staff, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We recently stayed for one night. This hotel is clean and lives up to Marriott standards. All staff we encountered were very helpful. The concierge lounge was great. Heidelberg is a nice town to visit with shops and restaurants within walking distance. Our only wish is that it was a little close to the old town but we couldn't fault the hotel for that. However, the hotel is located near the tram that takes you there. We will definitely be back during our visits to Heidelberg.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear TravelingDs1998,

We are delighted that you took the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your commending words are very much appreciated and we would be pleased to welcome you back maybe during spring or summer, when in addition to the tram there will also be a boat service available directly from the hotel, to take our guests to the old town.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Heidelberg.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    239
    79
    23
    9
See reviews for
91
147
31
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is fine. It is clean, the rooms are acceptable and it is okay value wise. The staff are very nice, but it is exactly what you expect and as such is average. Overall a good hotel in quite a nice setting y the river, but a bit too far out of town. It is only on the latter basis that i would have any criticism.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear gringottsgoblin,

We thank you for staying at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and for taking the time to rate that stay on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words in regards to our staff service and location are much appreciated.

From your comments we assume that you enjoyed your stay and wish you many more safe and pleasant Marriott stays.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a nice hotel next to the river, between the university and the city center. Rooms are comfortable, some have a balcony. Mine had a kettle for tea. A bit slow wifi is available for free in the lobby and restaurant. Wifi in rooms is available at different prices. The most expensive is 12.5 Euro per day and is very fast. Breakfast is good, with a good choice of warm and cold food. Maybe some fruit ready to be eaten would be a good addition. The restaurant is a steak house of good quality both for meat and fish. Service is good and prices are acceptable. I would come back if I have to go again to the university.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Claudia23,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Marriott Hotel for your stay in Heidelberg.

We were pleased to read your commending words in regards to that stay and are sure that your detailed description of our amenities and services will be of great value for other travelers. All our rooms are indeed equipped with kettles and complimentary coffee and tea.
We appreciate your suggestion in regards to the breakfast buffet, and it has been passed on the kitchen management.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would be more than happy to welcome you back again at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed for 5 nights on Dec.14,it is good hotel adjacent to the river with 20 min walk to city centre.the staff is very helpful and friendly,good facilities,gem equipment a bit old but functional.
Good stake restaurant and good breakfast buffet.rooms are slightly noisy but you can manage to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Abdullah A,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and would like to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are especially proud about your feedback on the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our food in our restaurant “Grill 16”.

Whenever your travels might bring you back into the area, we would be more than happy if we might welcome you again at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is clean and lives up to Marriott standards. It has very helpful staff and a great concierge lounge. The hotel is located near the tram that takes you to old town that is only a few miles away. Heidelberg is a charming place to visit with hundreds of shops and restaurants within a walking city. I stopped there for a couple of nights on my way to the Frankfurt airport after traveling on buisness.

Room Tip: Get tram tickets at front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Aroadlesstaken,

Thank you very much for the commending words in regards to your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had a nice time in Heidelberg, a city that is definitely worth a visit, and we are glad that your stay at our hotel has added up to that enjoyable experience.

We wish you many more safe and pleasant Marriott travels and would of course be glad if you would choose the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel again.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is an excellent hotel with great service. The food in the restaurant was very good. I had access to their executive lounge and the breakfast in the lounge was great and the staff was very friendly. The hotel is at a very convenient location, close to old town, castle and quick access to autobahn. I would recommend "Marriott Heidelberg" to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear sgogia07,

Thank you very much for choosing the Marriott Hotel for your stay in Heidelberg and for taking the time to rate that stay on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, from the food in our restaurant “Grill 16” to the staff and services in our Executive Lounge, and we thank you very much for your recommendation of our hotel to other travellers.

We would certainly be delighted if we might welcome you back for another stay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Staying at the Marriott Heidelberg is consistently great! Staff is friendly and takes care of anything you may need. They're always happy to answer any questions you may have about the local attractions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Clamborg,

Thank you very much for your commending words on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our staff service has been completely up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would certainly be happy if we might welcome you again for another stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Heidelberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Heidelberg Hotel

Address: Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#10 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#11 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Heidelberg Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Heidelberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.