We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet and Comfortable Hotel with a Friendly and Professional Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heidelberg Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet and Comfortable Hotel with a Friendly and Professional Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stay at many Marriott properties, both for work and leisure travel (in fact, we paid for our 4 nights here with Marriott Rewards points), and found this hotel to be a great representation of the Marriott flagship brand. The property offers a great view of the river, and every staff member that we interacted with, from the desk clerks, to the lounge hosts, to housekeeping to the bartenders, was friendly, professional and helpful.

We arrived in from Frankfurt around 1:00 PM and checked in. Our room was not ready yet, but the desk clerk stated she would inform the housekeeping staff to put it next on their list, and then gave us a keycard to access the executive lounge so that we could relax there while we waited. We had a coffee, chatted with a few other guests, and within half an hour, a staff member came up and handed us the keys to our room.

The room was clean, with adequate space for a standard (non-suite) room, along with a small, outdoor patio space. As one or two others have mentioned, the bathroom counter was a little small, but the size was not atypical when compared to similar properties in this part of the world. The bed was comfortable and we never had an issue hearing noise from either the hallway or the adjoining rooms.

We had breakfast every morning in the executive lounge, which was pretty much a standard continental breakfast, along with scrambled eggs with either bacon or sausage. Nothing fancy, but comparable to what one would typically find in a Marriott lounge, and was more than enough for us to have a light breakfast before heading out for the day.

As others have pointed out, the hotel is not right downtown in the Altstadt; getting there requires about a 20 minute walk or a 10 Euro cab ride (they also have a water taxi that runs about every half hour, but we did not make use of that). Personally, we did not find this to be an issue (it was easy enough to grab a cab when needed), and the property was also a bit quieter by virtue of being a few km away from downtown. However, if being right down in the Altstadt is a key consideration when selecting a property in Heidelberg, then this may not be the right hotel for you. Outside of that factor, there were no discernible, negative qualities to this hotel, and we will likely stay here the next time that we come back to Heidelberg.

As a side note, several reviews on here have complained about the charge for internet access. This is typically standard at all Marriott flagship properties (which means a Marriott - not a Courtyard, Springhill Suites, Residence Inn, etc.). Here, as with every Marriott flagship property I have ever stayed at, both in U.S. and abroad, there is a daily charge for internet access (which is waived for gold and platinum Marriott Rewards members).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Tober138,

We would like to thank you very much for your review of your stay at the Marriott Hotel.

We are certain that the detailed information on our services and facilities would be most helpful for other travelers planning a trip to Heidelberg, and getting feedback from our valued Marriott Rewards Members is almost very important to us.

Your praise for our staff members is truly appreciated and has been certainly shared with all associates in the hotel. We would be delighted if we might welcome you back again for another stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and wish you many further safe Marriott travels.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    251
    92
    25
    9
See reviews for
100
155
33
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was what you would expect from a US Marriott, which was a welcome comfort to my wife! The restaurant had a good steak, which is rare in Europe. Internet costs if you are not a Gold member, always an issue with Marriott.

Tried to have breakfast with two tour groups at the hotel. IMPOSSIBLE! The y let more people in than they had room for. The wait staff did a good job of trying to keep up, but it was chaos. We found. Place to sit for 2, but our son said too much hassle and went back to the room. We had some flexibility, so had we known, we could have waited 15 minutes and avoided the whole mess. Would have been nice to let us know. Lesson learned - ask if there is tour group staying as well.

Front desk staff was extremely pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Tony G,

Many thanks for rating your recent trip to Heidelberg on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed the steaks at our restaurant “Grill 16” and we apologize for the fact that in the morning, our breakfast restaurant has been crowded as a lot of guests, not only tour groups but also individual guests, decided to have breakfast around the same time. In general we prepare for situations like this, and we are very sorry that our preparations did not seem to work out at the time you stayed with us, and your stay at Heidelberg has been a bit spoiled by your breakfast experience.

However we certainly appreciate your positive feedback about in Front Desk staff and would be glad to welcome you back to the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel whenever your travels might bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for one night and I don't think I'm going back.

Not a cheap hotel, and certainly you won't get value for your money.

The hotel seems understaffed, long queue at the reception as they only had one staff there. I came on a Saturday so there was no concierge service, I had to get my own luggage and park my own car. (Parking isn't free either)

I stopped one staff as she was walking, just to ask a simple question about concierge, and she told me she is on break and I should talk to the one staff at reception.

The hotel itself is old, in a very quiet part of town, nice view of the lake.

In the morning when we went to breakfast, because we were a party of 6, they asked us to go to their other hall (not the restaurant) for breakfast. It was a meeting room, with tables set as a restaurant, but they had no cutlery on the tables. When we asked the staff for cutlery, he brought them one by one as we kept asking. The food was definitely the worst breakfast buffet I ever had.

This place doesn't live to the Marriott name I am used to, I've been a member of Marriott Rewards for many years, and this is by far the worst Marriott I ever stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Omar A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your recent stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are more than sorry to read that your experience has not been up to your expectations. We can assure you that what you have experienced is definitely not up to our standard, and we have discussed your feedback with all relevant associates and department heads.

We would be glad if we could get in personal touch with you and kindly ask you not to hesitate to contact us directly at guestrelations.heidelberg@marriott.com .

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 5 nights: 2 x adults and 1 x 7 year old in a junior suite which was was huge, clean and with an amazing view of the river Neckar. It's about a 5-10 minute drive from the old town but don't let this turn you off the hotel. It benefits by being really quiet and is very secure. A taxi will cost about 10 euro one way to the old town but there is a river boat that leaves from the hotel daytime and hourly for about 3 euro (I highly recommend it as its a nice little cruise with some lovely views - takes about 15 mins from wharf to wharf). There's also a bus stop within a 10 minute walk from the hotel but the taxis are clean, fairly inexpensive and the drivers won't rip you off. Staff at the hotel and warm and friendly and very helpful and all that we came across speak very good English. Good room service menu. Restaurant is a steakhouse with a few other options. It's really nice albeit a little overpriced. Executive lounge in terms of breakfast, canapés, drinks and views is exceptional. Parking is underground, easy to find attached to the hotel but we didn't use. Note if you're hiring a car (we did when we left); the Heidelberg Europcar outlet is one street across (5 minute walk). If you're travelling as a family, you will all enjoy the Hotel - great wifi and big flat screen tv with loads of channels. Had a great stay and highly recommend the Hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river Neckar. Junior suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear BSWAustralia,

First of all we would like to thank you for your very detailed and positive feedback in regards to your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel. We are sure that your description of the hotel’s facilities as well as your comments in regards to our staff will be very helpful for other travelers.

We would like to add that in addition to the boat, that is available during the summer months, and the taxi service there are also tram and bus services that will bring you downtown for a small fee. There is a bus station at close walking distance from the hotel’s main entrance.

From your feedback we assume that you had a great time in Heidelberg and we would be glad if we might welcome you back for another stay.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here for business puposes and the hotel was neat but in my opinion it needs a renovation as it looks so old fashioned.
We had a barbecue organised for our group and this wasn't worth a Marriott standard...the meat was burnt..3 days in a row we got the same vegetables served...can be better

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Jordaanwy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us has not been up to your expectations, especially in regards to the food served during your meeting.
Please be assured that we have discussed your feedback with all relevant departments involved.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that despite the issues mentioned you were able to enjoy your trip to Heidelberg.
Of course you are invited to contact us directly (guestrelations.heidelberg@marriott.com) in case of any further questions or concerns.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very comfortable and quiet hotel with beautiful views. Staff was quite friendly and helpful. Within walking distance of bus and train stations, so getting around is quite easy. Getting to the pool was not very straightforward.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Ron Y,

Thank you very much for staying at the Marriott during your trip to Heidelberg and for rating us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back for another one.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Heidelberg Marriott is located right on the Neckar river and is short ride or nice walk to the old city of Heidelberg. The customer service was great and my room was nice as well. The hotel seems a little older but is very well maintained. The breakfast offered at the hotel is good as well.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear CMcK1,

We are glad that you have chosen the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

We certainly appreciate your comments about our staff service and are sure that your feedback on our location will be of help to other travelers.

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and would be glad to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back into the area.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Address: Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#14 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Otel, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.