We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel outside Heidelberg Ctr” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Heidelberg Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marriott Heidelberg Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Heidelberg Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #17 of 79 hotels in Heidelberg
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel outside Heidelberg Ctr”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel but is a fairly decent 20-30 min walk to Old Heidelberg, which is where you really want to be when touring Heidelberg. There is a water boat available from outside the hotel (as it is on the Neckar River) to bring you to the old town and this costs €3.50 each way. That's ok but not if using it every day, both ways. Ask for a room with a river view as it is lovely to look out at it. The walk into old Heidelberg is a nice one along the river but bring decent walking shoes!
The hotel rooms are small but sufficient. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful & proficient in many languages. The wifi did not work for me at all. It seemed to work for other people but it only ever worked for about 2 seconds for me and I lost the connection each time. It only works in the downstairs area too as you have to pay for a connection upstairs. They do have a computer room you can use to access the internet though.
Our meal by the Terrace was fabulous. The view is lovely and the food is lovely. The service time however was horrendous! For our main meal one evening we were waiting between 20-30 mins after being seated before our order was even taken. We were only having a main course and it took 1 hour to be served! We were starving and I kept trying to get the attention of the waitresses but they just seemed busy with other tables. Maybe they are short staffed but I think they should apologise to people for keeping them waiting so long and also when they see that people are waiting, they should reassure them that they will be with them shortly. This never happened and was very disappointing. When we were served however, they couldn't have been nicer and the staff are lovely - just very slow to get to you when dining.
The swimming pool and gym area are great and they also have a sauna and spa treatment facilities.
Overall, we had a very nice stay but if you are a tourist wanting to visit the old town then it is a little far out as you cannot easily come and go from this hotel to the old town. The price was reasonable but the cost of all the added extras added up. The garage is €20 per day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    223
    74
    24
    7
See reviews for
81
124
32
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Pretty plain looking from the outside, and sits outside of the old town... The pretty part. If you are here for business or passing through than go for it. Nice size rooms, clean, great gym and pool, good wireless connection... The restaurant was even good. It does sit on the Neckar River so ask for a room with a view...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

front desk could not have been nicer.....nice room upgraded to concierge floor because of Marriott gold award member, so I heartily recommend the enrollment....had a terrific steak house restaurant and ate there both nights, why not, the best porterhouse steak in memory for two and priced right. good location, walked to center city, on the river, just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked online 10 minutes before we arrived because we were not at all happy with the hotel we had actually booked. There was apparently an issue with the booking as they could not provide me with the booked "river-view" room. So I was offered an upgrade to an executive floor room including executive lounge access. These rooms are also recently renovated and were very comfortable. The hotel overall is a bit dated, but these renovated rooms are very nice. A little bit too far to walk to the old part of Heidelberg, but the tram and ferry boat are sufficiently accessible. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful! Finally we enjoyed one of the best breakfast buffets so far out on the terrace in warm morning sunshine (great variety of everything, including many of my favorite fruits. - cherries, peaches etc.).

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my first trip to Germany and I really wanted to mix in with the locals and see the town. Silvia Frost was the Front Desk Manager who assisted me and my husband and I can honestly say that I have never met anyone so friendly and helpful at a hotel before. She told us exactly where to go and what to do and they were excellent recommendations.I hope that if she has not already been promoted, that she will be because she is a huge asset to your hotel and company!

The breakfast here is absolutley fantastic!! Great service, clean rooms and great location!

Prost!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for one night while on holiday. Hotel is outside the town, for us the walk took about 15 minutes. Underground parking available for 20 euros/24 hours. Staff were helpful and courteous from check in to check out. Reception staff helped us with directions when we were leaving. We had dinner in the restaurant which was great and also breakfast the following morning, although personally we thought that the continental breakfast was a little overpriced at 17 euros. Room was good, clean and nicely decorated & we had balcony too. Tea & coffee in the room was a bonus although the powdered milk was "off" which was a little disappointing but not a big issue. There's a well stocked gym which we didn't use and a pool which was nice but, as usual for Germany, very cold!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Heidelberg for three nights and had a wonderful experience.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The river side location is ideal,
and quiet. Make sure to have breakfast on the patio outside, its very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Heidelberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Heidelberg Hotel

Address: Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#11 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#14 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Heidelberg Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Heidelberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Heidelberg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.