We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Falke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Falke to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Falke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 204, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and we cannot fault the hotel. It was very clean and tidy and we had an excellent room overlooking the main square. We ate in the restaurant the first night and had lovely meals with great service. We only had the pleasure of meeting one of the staff who seemed to working extremely hard as he was in attendance at both breakfast and evening meal times as well as attending to the reception. The continental breakfast was first rate with very good choice and very plentiful.
The only slight negative was that the wifi connection was not the best in the room but we did not try this down in the reception area.
If we go back to Heildelberg, which hopefully we will, we would stay here again and would fully recomend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
39
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel for a one night stay in Heidelberg partly because of the excellent reviews but mainly because of its location, which seemed -- and is -- perfect. Right on the market square in the Old Town, and a  two minute walk to the old bridge and to the funicular that goes to the castle and beyond. We had a corner room on the third floor: windows along two sides, with a great view of the market square and the Holy Spirit church.

The room was clean and comfortable and warm (important with outside temperatures well below freezing even at midday). Service was friendly, breakfast good.

We noted other reviewers' remarks regarding the noise at night, but figured that in freezing February that shouldn't be a problem, which it wasn't. However, even with the windows closed the sounds from the square do carry into the room so I can imagine it being a problem in high season, especially for light sleepers.

The nearby P12 car park charges 12 euro a day but the hotel endorses your ticket for a 4 euro discount.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this excellently located hotel on the Marktplatz. With a Christmas market right outside, the Schloss cable car behind the hotel and an excellent inhouse restaurant, our stay was a highlight in our German holiday. The rooms had good heating and excellent views over the castle, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast a hearty continental buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were happy with our stay here. It is right on Marktplatz, with parts of the Christmas Market right outside, and the rest within easy walking distance. The cable car to the Schloss is also behind the hotel, and there is a supermarket nearby.

We had a room facing Marktplatz, which provided a good view of the Market. It can get quite noisy at night as there were still revellers about, but that was not too bothersome. Maybe it was the cold weather, so people tend not to stay outdoor for too long? So not sure about the summer time...

We had a Triple Room, which was a good size. The bathroom is good and clean. The breakfast is good, with the usual assorted bread, fruits/cereals, cold meats, and boiled eggs. There is free wifi, though a bit spotty up on the 3rd floor.

Overall, it was good, clean, convenient, comfortable, and safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clutton
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights midweek for the Christmas markets. We had a large room looking towards the Schloss which was lovely especailly at night. The breakfast was lovely.....huge choice. The staff very helpful and pleasant. The location could not have been better.....if we were to revisit Heidelberg we would stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room with Schloss view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Was attempting to find accommodation only a couple of days before heading to heidelberg, during the busy WeihnachtsMarkt time!! Managed to get a room at the Goldener Falke. Rates a little higher due to the time of year and I booked the last room!!
I arrived at the hotel at 11am, obviously WAY too early to check in, but they let me leave my bag at the reception, and said the room would be ready at 2:00. Arrived at 2:15, and room was ready!
The man who checked me in was EXTREMELY helpful, and great English speaking. I had tried talking to him in German (as Im in germany for a language course!) but he picked up on my accent and started speaking English!!
I recieved free wi-fi while staying at the hotel, and recieved a username and code for a 24 hour period. It only worked int he room, not in the restaurant part of the hotel, but thats fine as technology shouldnt be at the table!! (It was only because I was eating alone!)
Fantastic location for the WeihnachtsMarkt and the schloss!! Only about a 10-15 min walk to the schloss (and thats from the horrible hill I walked up!!), and is it at the top end of the Hauptstrasse, where the 4 market areas are located!
Breakfast was great- fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, breads, cereals, meat and cheeses- a great assortment by German standards!!!
Booked a single room, but slept on a double bed with single doona. Room was warm, with no heating and even with the window open during the night, despite how cold it was!! Typical sized German bathroom, but very clean and adequate.
Staff allowed me to keep my bag in reception again after I checked out, while I walked to the Schloss and was ready to head back to the Hauptbahnhof (which is a 38 min walk from the hotel, if youre keen!!)

Room Tip: Try and book as early as possible to save some money!! Especially during Christmas Markets!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I have recently enjoyed a 5 day stay at the end of a business trip, at this charming family run hotel which is wonderfully situated in the Marktplatz in the centre of the Old Town in this beautiful old city. We were completely charmed by it!
We thoroughly enjoyed a most comfortable room ( and whilst we enjoyed the view over the square and onto the surrounding mountains it did tend to be a little noisy), a beautifully presented, more than adequate breakfast each morning, friendly service from all the staff, great food in the restaurant accompanied by good German wines and the added delight of a pianist who plays onTuesday and Friday evenings.
All the major attractions are well within walking distance: the old bridge which leads to the Philosopher's Way walk (take the road less travelled and it is excellent for the heart rate!), access to the castle and a brief walk to the river - a river boat cruise is a great way to relax and take in a completely different view of the beautiful countryside.
We were so pleased we had taken the advice from other 'trip advisors' and had a lovely sojourn here!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very spacious A room at the back of the hotel may be preferred if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Falke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Falke

Address: Hauptstrasse 204, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#14 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Falke 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldener Falke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Falke Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Falke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.