We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was the best complement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Weisser Bock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Weisser Bock to your Saves list
Weisser Bock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosse Mantelgasse 24, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location was the best complement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Finding the hotel on 9/16/2103, was a bit difficult. Finally we found it, dropped off our bags and had to find a parking garage 3 blocks away. The staff was very friendly but the room, on the third floor, left me with the feeling "it's a small world after all". Couldn't stand up straight in 80% of the room, including bath and I'm only 6' tall. No Internet connection and half of the TV channels were scrambled. I called the front desk on the eve of our stay and was informed there was nothing they could do. Next morning at check out, when the manager asked how my stay was, I informed him of the events. He was kind enough to refund 15 euro of my price but I have to say, I wouldn't stay there again. Just giving honest feedback.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location of the hotel is great--right downtown with all the cafes and shopping and close to one of the bridges crossing the river. There are parking garages just a couple of blocks from the hotel, so you don't have to tote your luggage too far. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. Check in and out was easy.

What's not so good: breakfast was not included in the rate (most German guesthouses include breakfast) and had a cost of 12.50 Euro per person. Instead, we went to a bakery around the corner and had coffee, croissants, fruit, and such for 9 Euro for both of us. Also, the room was incredibly hot but offered no air conditioning or fan.

If you don't mind the heat or the breakfast, the hotel was in a great location and had great staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I searched the web for our first trip to Heidelberg. We settled on the Weisser Bock because of the location and great restaurant review. We were not disappointed, the room, a bit small but very comfortable, the staff displayed wonderful customer service and were truly interested in our comfort and helpful in making our visit memorable. The restaurant was a bit expensive but the meals were absolutely grand. We could not have had a better vacation. I highly recommend this hotel which helped me understand the rich culture of this city.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Monday & Tuesday - didn't appreciate Monday was a public holiday so Heidelberg was pretty quiet!
Hotel is very quaint and "olde worlde" German but our room at the front was quite elegantly furnished a nice size and was spotlessly clean. We ate in the Restaurant on our first night, taking advice from Trip Advisor reviews and the food was fantastic. This is not a cheap restaurant (120 euros for 2 with wine) but was 90% full on a Monday night so something must be right. The service was attentive and helpful without being overbearing as so often is the case in hotel restaurants and the dining room is like a quaint folk museum.
This is more a restaurant with rooms than a hotel - the reception desk is in the kitchen! The weather was not good on our trip so there was not much street activity at night but we had to keep the windows closed nevertheless to enjoy a quite night. We had a room on the first floor with a lovely friendly chamber maid, another small touch which contributed to an enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The location is somehow perfect.
First: Right in the romantic old town from which we did quite a lot of exploring on foot in the mornings and afternoons (do not forget the “Philosophenweg” on the other side of the river Neckar). The bus stop is very close with direct connection to the main railway station (about 10-15 minutes on bus). The room was lovely, the bath room ok and the whole property is a charming old building.
Little minus: The elevator’s space is tight and the stairs are steep.
Never experienced before: The reception desk is somewhat special: It's in the kitchen which is - great!
Much appreciated: The staff is friendly and welcoming, professional and somewhat typically efficient. Great restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. The bar is superb: atmosphere and drinks (try the local sparkling …).
Needless to say, for the price you pay, and the fact that is very centrally located, I would say it is worth a try. Try the special arrangement: We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Weisser Bock is basically a good restaurant with additional rooms to stay overnight. The location is in the centre just one street away from the main "Hauptstrasse". The rooms are quite noisy, as you either have a window to the back courtyard, where you can hear (and smell!) the kitchen, or to the street, which is very noisy in the night from tourists.

I would visit the Weisser Bock only for a good lunch or dinner. The hotel rooms do not make sense, as they are too small, quite outdated and too noisy. When we stayed there, there was a larger (male only) group singing and screaming till 3:30 in the morning.

The service is also a bit "hectic" as the staff is mainly busy serving larger groups in the restaurant, and not hotel guest "minded". We always felt we were disturbing them in managing the dinner groups.

Really not, what you want in your holiday. So if you want to enjoy Heidelberg, stay outside the old town, and go there only for dinner or a nice wine.

So visit the Weisser Bock for dinner - they have great wines, good fish and wonderful meat. Unfortunately, they only have two larger restaurant rooms, which makes it quite a noisy place.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room in the top floor - this might be a bit less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've always enjoyed the restaurant but on this trip I stayed in the hotel also. The rooms are basic but very elegant and comfortable - hard wood floors, free wifi, cozy lighting. The restaurant is the best in HD in my opinion. The place has bags of character and never compromises
On authenticity, quality and style to chase for one off tourist dollars which makes this place popular for locals as well as visitors. The menu is great and wine list even better. Best of all - led by Daniel, the team who can't do enough for their guests. In my case, I arrived in the small hours yet someone waited for me to arrive (this is a small boutique hotel after all ). To cut a long story short I was warmly welcomed even outside of normal hours. can't wait to come back in December when Goose and pumpkin soup is the mainstay. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weisser Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weisser Bock

Address: Grosse Mantelgasse 24, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Weisser Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Weisser Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisser Bock Heidelberg
Weisser Bock Hotel Heidelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weisser Bock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.