We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schnookeloch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schnookeloch to your Saves list
Schnookeloch
Haspelgasse 8, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Heidelberg
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the sister restaurant to the Schnitzelbank which is rated number 1! I thought the menu was almost identical minus just a few things and the food was really excellent! No one complained! As a matter of fact it was hands down one of the best schnitzels I've ever eaten. Our boys had the maultaschen and kasespatzel. All was delicious! The only thing I can say is the service was a bit slow, we sat for awhile with no drinks, but they were really busy so I can't fault them at all.
We didn't stay in the hotel but the staff at dinner were really nice and the food well worth a trip back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    8
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Staying in Old Heidelberg is a wonderful experience but I would avoid the Schnookeloch Historisches Gasthaus.
The price was the best thing about the hotel. The halls and rooms had “Historisches” dirt and the shower was nothing but a dribble.
The pub below had noisy patrons well into the sleeping part of the night and reception was open only after 11:00 AM (Don’t arrive early!).
The hotel building was historic, but then most of Old Heidelberg is as well! No air conditioning and little natural ventilation.
On the plus side, walking to the church, nearby restaurants, pastry shops, and the Schnitzel Bank restaurant (Yum!) makes the location ideal for exploration.
I would spend a little more and stay at a better hotel in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Inside, this is dark wood panelled and very evocative of old Heidelberg. The food is hearty, great quality, typical south German food. Lovely little beer garden out the back. Great, friendly service. If I lived in Heidelberg, I would eat here as often as possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Even though the furnitures and fittings of the room is in some dire state of repair ( not sure if it's intentional to reflect the oldest town in Germany), I like the spacious feel of the room with lots of windows and an opening door to the balcony. One interesting architectural feature is that there is a door on the first floor with a staircase which leads to the beer garden. It makes one feel like having found a door to the secret garden...

Room Tip: Corner room on the top floor is rather nice with a view of the beer garden. However, there might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heidelberg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had always enjoyed going here to eat. Past tense. Local atmosphere and excellent Schnitzel and home fries (Bratkartoffeln). Past tense. Not sure what happened since the menu has the same items but they are uniformly awful. 8 of us met there last week. Not one good meal out of the eight. My Schnitzel was grease soaked and the potatoes were microwaved. Worst meal was one where the meat was cold so the guest pointed it out to the staff. They took it away and brought it back covered in gravy !! And then charged him full price when he said he couldn't eat it and it wasn't what he ordered. Avoid

Room Tip: Go somewhere else and don't eat here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

3 stars? This place should have 0 stars because
a. my room was not cleaned (not once!) in the 4 (FOUR!) nights that I stayed.
b. tiles were loose or missing around the bath tub. Result - whenever the shower was used, the water would seep behind the loose tiles and end up on the floor, flooding the entire bathroom.
c. the shower head was clogged with limescale.
d. the room furnishings were rather dated and extremely tired; the corridor entirely dilapidated.
e. the noise from the street was quite loud (no double-glazing here); other Tripadvisor reviewers have noted the noise from the beer garden at the rear of the hotel.
f. the wifi/WLAN signal in every part of the hotel (and I tried various parts of the hotel) was either poor (strength 1/5) or non-existent. I was not able to log-on at any time that I was there. Even the signal from the Holländer Hof Hotel across the road was stronger!
g. reception staff told me that the telephone morning-wake-up-call service (as advertised in the info sheet in the room) did not exist because reception is not manned till 11:00.
h. there was no breakfast. This is not unreasonable as they do mention it in advance but it is unworthy of any hotel claiming to be 3-star.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere; this place really is a nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have spent two nights in this hotel, first I thought it is cute, reasonably priced and the beds were comfortable, but in my eyes it is definitely not worth the money. First of all, the windows directly open to the beer garden downstairs, making it very, very noisy at weekends at night. The rooms were clean, but the towels were very old and the water in the shower could not be adjusted, so it was either very cold or very hot. It was promised that there is WiFi, but they told me that it was broken and I could go to Starbucks instead (who could have ever figured that out?) And they told us there was a 2-Euro reduction for the parking house, but when we went there we figured out that we had to pay the full price. There is no real Reception, so it is almost impossible to actually complain about something. I suppose for that money one could stay in a nicer place where more promises are kept and the workers do not come up with ridiculous excuses.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schnookeloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schnookeloch

Address: Haspelgasse 8, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Schnookeloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schnookeloch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.