We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, avoid, avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Schnookeloch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schnookeloch to your Saves list
Schnookeloch
Haspelgasse 8, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
München
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Avoid, avoid, avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

3 stars? This place should have 0 stars because
a. my room was not cleaned (not once!) in the 4 (FOUR!) nights that I stayed.
b. tiles were loose or missing around the bath tub. Result - whenever the shower was used, the water would seep behind the loose tiles and end up on the floor, flooding the entire bathroom.
c. the shower head was clogged with limescale.
d. the room furnishings were rather dated and extremely tired; the corridor entirely dilapidated.
e. the noise from the street was quite loud (no double-glazing here); other Tripadvisor reviewers have noted the noise from the beer garden at the rear of the hotel.
f. the wifi/WLAN signal in every part of the hotel (and I tried various parts of the hotel) was either poor (strength 1/5) or non-existent. I was not able to log-on at any time that I was there. Even the signal from the Holländer Hof Hotel across the road was stronger!
g. reception staff told me that the telephone morning-wake-up-call service (as advertised in the info sheet in the room) did not exist because reception is not manned till 11:00.
h. there was no breakfast. This is not unreasonable as they do mention it in advance but it is unworthy of any hotel claiming to be 3-star.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere; this place really is a nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    8
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have spent two nights in this hotel, first I thought it is cute, reasonably priced and the beds were comfortable, but in my eyes it is definitely not worth the money. First of all, the windows directly open to the beer garden downstairs, making it very, very noisy at weekends at night. The rooms were clean, but the towels were very old and the water in the shower could not be adjusted, so it was either very cold or very hot. It was promised that there is WiFi, but they told me that it was broken and I could go to Starbucks instead (who could have ever figured that out?) And they told us there was a 2-Euro reduction for the parking house, but when we went there we figured out that we had to pay the full price. There is no real Reception, so it is almost impossible to actually complain about something. I suppose for that money one could stay in a nicer place where more promises are kept and the workers do not come up with ridiculous excuses.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights in March. It is in the heart of the down town and best value - I could not find a better offer even far away from the city. Actually hrs and expedia had good deals, but I called them and they offered an even better deal than all the online services! 62 € per night, single room, no breakfast. I got a double room I didn't like and they changed it without a problem. The room I got was very quiet, facing the interior garden, south side, sun came in. The room was clean but the furniture and the bathroom somewhat outdated - it didn't bother me. I mean do not expect the furniture to be ancient, it is just probably not from this century - which, again, is not that bad at all. The flair of the place is incredible - room, restaurant down stairs, all historic and incredibly good old German like. I felt like in a fairy tale! I would definitely stay there again and I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stay at the Schnookeloch only one night while driving north; the Gasthaus is located in the traditional and beautiful old city center of Heidelberg.
An old building, but perfectly renovated; our room was very large, altought at the 4th floor, without lift.
Clean and quiet, and a traditional German cuisine restaurant downstairs.
Also the breakfast was generous.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I have written 3 times with questions about facilities. The rooms are available but certain facts remain unclear. How many flights does one have to climb which becomes an issue at a certain age. Is a bath tub available? Size of bed? I have even written to them in Germany

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

I recently stayed at Hotel Schnookeloch with my Mum for one night during a trip to Germany. The hotel itself is very quiant and definitely 'German'. While the staff were pleasant when you spoke to them, the reception was often unmanned which was annoying when you had a question.

Amazing location, 5 minutes walk to the Alte Bruecke and main shopping street. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby aswell. From the Main train station take any of the buses that go to Alte Bruecke (South NOT North or you'll end up on the other side of the river!) or Universitaetsplatz then it's a 5 min walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

The Schnookeloch is situated in an excellent location in the old town only 2 minutes walk to the Old Bridge.
The triple room we booked was quite spacious by European standards. The lady at reception was very obliging and friendly and each morning looked after us very well at breakfast in a very atmospheric German room with a good selection of food.
I would recommend this hotel as very good value for money.

  • Liked — authentic German character
  • Disliked — Lack of acces to English speaking programs on television.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schnookeloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schnookeloch

Address: Haspelgasse 8, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Schnookeloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schnookeloch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.