We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good beer and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kulturbrauerei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kulturbrauerei to your Saves list
Kulturbrauerei
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leyergasse 6, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
North Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice room, good beer and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

English and was very helpful. Great bock beer from the brewery. Suckling pig and sauerbraten were good, but the red cabbage and white cabbage dishes were outstanding ... couldn't get enough! Interesting cellar night club under hotel. Parking close by.

Only complaintwas cost of parking; €16 per night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
17
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice location just 5 mins walk from the centre of the old town and cathedral etc; also the funicular railway up to the Castle and beyond. Large clean modern room inside the old building with comfortable beds and useful chairs/tables. Only used the breakfast facilities which we had included and was a pleasant continental buffet laid out in their kitchen.

We were there at the time of the Christmas market which filled the squares near to the hotel. Lots of Gluhwein in great souvenir mugs and pork steak rolls with onions that were heavenly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked this hotel because of 2 reasons: one is location, which is in the old town and the base of the castle; the other is history, which was a brewery. We were amazed and amused by the room amenities like bath tube and large space which other modern hotel were short of. There was a popular restaurant downstairs that we had great dinner in it. highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We chose this hotel as it appeared on the map to be at the base of the castle and also liked the idea that it was a brewery! It was a little difficult to find, especially negotiating the narrow streets , but found it with a little help from the locals. Parking is off site, less than 5mins away - but limited, so really it's luck of the draw to find one!
Rooms were as shown in the website, large and spacious, very comfortable beds and best of all .. they had a lift! Free wifi and it worked well. Pretty courtyard view with the mountains in the background. Note that there is no tea/coffee making facilities.
The brewery/restaurant served very good food/beer. Breakfast was at an additional cost of Euros 10 with ample servings. Our rooms faced the brewery/restaurant, and it seems a popular place to drop by for a drink or a meal - even with the locals, so it can be a little bit noisy/rowdy at night.
Short 10-15mins walk to the start of the trail up to the castle - a must see!
The old city bridge and gates in the opposite direction, was also a mere 10-15mins stroll.
All in all a very central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a cycling tour of the Neckar Valley, for two nights R&R. It is a lovely old building and courtyard in a great location on the edge of the Altstadt, easy to get to (on bikes!, if not the car!).... The courtyard was lovely, green plants and trees so shady in the sunshine, and buzzing with long trestle tables full of young people enjoying the beer, atmosphere and food... Slightly beery smell but after all it is a brewery! . The restaurant inside had a feel of an old college hall, again long tables which are great for sociable eating. food was super. Our room was very comfortable and well equipped and set back from the main hotel, so nice and quiet. Appreciated the unlimited free wifi. Reception staff went 'over and above' the norm... Sorting out our broken shower, also fixing for me to see a Doctor locally when I needed it, which was so kind of them. We loved Heidelberg especially the castle which has a feel of a rather mad folly! Thank you.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we were here in high season so very busy. so many of the hotels were very expensive we chose this as it was more reasonable. but were pleasantly surprised by the standards. room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. reception excellent and safe parking at a small charge which is vital in Heidelberg as there is little public parking. central position and easy walk to river, castle and town centre. the bar and restaurant is directly under the room and noisy, but to our relief at 11.00pm it stops, all diners/bar are sent home!

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I thought staying in the Altstadt of Heidelberg would be so wonderful, but it is incredibly overcrowded, and I think they should ban cars from driving through there. Streets are too narrow, and many are pedestrian only, which is the case for this hotel. That meant the navigator could not locate it, and we wandered for over 2 hrs on narrow one way streets looking for it. Waitress at this hotel was unfriendly. Food not so good. Room incredibly hot with no fan until I insisted on it, then is was a 9". One window in rm. Rm about 90 degrees when we entered it. Man at the desk was friendly enough. The hotel being so difficult to find ruined Heidelberg for us. It was clean and located near tram to castle, which was why we chose it. If I could choose again, I would stay away from this area and take a bus from the other part of town. Don't take a car there!

Room Tip: Stay out of this congested area, and take a bus or taxi to the old historic part of town. It is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kulturbrauerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulturbrauerei

Address: Leyergasse 6, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kulturbrauerei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kulturbrauerei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulturbrauerei Hotel Heidelberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kulturbrauerei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.