We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lotte - The Perfect Hostle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotte - The Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Lotte - The Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lotte - The Backpackers
Burgweg 3, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lotte - The Perfect Hostle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As I was travelling through Europa, I stayed in many different hostels all had their highs and lows.
Lotte, in my perspective was. Perfect. All of the staff were so down to earth, all ready to engage in a conversation or allow you to get on with your own buds.
Location wise. It was also perfect, the nearest pub is literally around the corner, the bridge is a 2 minute walk and finally the station is almost a kilometer up the street.
Me and the Brazilians that I had the greatest pleasure to meet, had a lot of banter in that hostle!
Thank you for the lovely stay!

Ps To the Boss - Oh how much I would love to work in your hostle, hope you keep the offer up! ;)

Irishmen

Room Tip: Not to be cheesy but any Room in this Hostle would be Legit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
13
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hostel.

We arrived a little early, but we were greeted warmly by Carmen who checked us in swiftly. She made an effort to get to know us, make sure we knew where the bathrooms and kitchens were etc. She even helped us carry our bags up the stairs!

The rooms were excellent. Our room was very spacious and decorated brilliantly. I wish I had Carmen's sense of design!

The beds were comfortable and made for a restful night's sleep.

The bathrooms were unlike most hostels which basically only have a shower. This was a full bathroom with space to rest your things and space to move around. They were also very clean. As there weren't many guests - we visited during winter - the bathroom was always available to us.

The location is excellent - we could see the castle from the kitchen window! The train station up to the castle is literally right next door to the hostel. The bus to and from the station also stops right outside the hostel. The main shopping street is also basically a street away.

Thank you to Carmen for being such an excellent and friendly host! This would be my first pick if I were ever again in Heidelberg.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

A brilliantly located hostel, in the shadow of Heidelberg castle. The staff are friendly and the place is clean and well kept. Good communal areas make for a hospitable and friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a great time at this hostel. It was clean, with friendly staff who were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. A lovely cozy common area and a simple breakfast is included. We came to visit Heidelberg for the Christmas markets and this hostel was perfectly positioned to walk to them, and to visit the Schloss. My advice is book well in advance of your visit here, because it is small and gets booked out! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schmalenberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Some friends and I decided to go to Heidelberg for the Christmas market. The location of the hotel is perfect! It is at the base of the hotel and right next to the two main Christmas markets. I shared a room with 5 other girls, but there was plenty of rooms and the beds were comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I saw all the positive reviews here before booking and set a high expectation... But still... I was really impressed!! This hostel gives everything u want as a backpacker!! Excellent location.. Right at the foot on the castle and a few mins walk to the main square... Beautiful and clean toilet... Yes! Very clean and well decorated female bathroom... With everything u need... And the room... Not very big but again well decorated and cozy... Wifi inside rooms... Very cozy lounge with comfy sofa and nice atmosphere... Impressed by the kitchen with free cearals that u can help yourself... Extremely friendly and help staff... It's really the best hostels I ever stayed! Btw... Actually all the above don't require much more work by hostels... If they just do a little bit extra... Thinking from the view of travelers.. It's really not difficult to be a popular hostel... Just a little bit more can help travelers much and give them a nice journey... I hope every hostel in this world will be like Lotte...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. My fiancee and I stayed in a lovely double room with a shared bathroom. I usually tend to avoid sharing bathrooms but there was no issue here as there was only one or two other rooms on the floor so I never had to wait. The room contained quirky furniture and lots of books to read. The whole hostel was perfectly clean. There was a good sized kitchen on my floor with a coffee machine with excellent coffee and a view to the Scloss to enjoy with breakfast. The place had the feel that you were staying in a comfortable home.

The hostel was located on the path up to the schloss and 2 minutes from the main square making it an ideal location. It was quiet at night.

The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. The price was very good considering the quality of the hostel.

Should I return to Heidelberg I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lotte - The Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte - The Backpackers

Address: Burgweg 3, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel “Lotte” is located in the heart of the Old Town of Heidelberg. You are going to reside in one of the classic mansions of Heidelberg, a dwelling house with a rich tradition. It is situated directly below the castle, by the foot of the castle hill. Our eight guest rooms (there are currently seven of them available) are decorated and furnished in either antique- or retro-fashion style. The classic ambience is surely going to give you the feeling of being taken back to the good old days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lotte - The Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotte - The Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.