We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Heidelberg to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here as part of an Insights Vacations tour. Hotel is located within a half mile of the old town and close to the old bridge. Rooms were very modern and hotel service was excellent.
The area surrounding the hotel is more commerical and busy but it did not detract from our visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

Our staff are well trained to attend to the needs of our guests and we are happy to hear that your felt welcome and taken care off while staying with us.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    283
    82
    14
    9
See reviews for
125
171
34
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pozzuoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Crown Plaza Heidelberg is a beautiful hotel well located within walking distance to the main pedestrian street. The facilities are very clean and modern and the staff were extremely kind. The hotel has a restaurant, bar, club lounge, pool, sauna, gym, etc! There were also some outdoor tables available. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable.
There is parking located under the hotel. There is a tram that comes in front of the hotel, but we didn't use it because we could walk to everything. There are grocery stores, restaurants - everything you need right near by. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazaheidel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest Pozzuoli,
first of all thank you very much for taking time to express your experience with Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center. It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay, facilities, Staff, location of the hotel as well as the city Heidelberg. I am sure your valuable comments will motivate staff members in keeping up with attentive and friendly service by serving our valuable hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg at your next stay in Heidelberg. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

As we are quite familiar with Crowne Plaza standards,it was fine and nothing extraordinary about this one.
Location is very central and commutable by tram or walking.Check in was very quick with information on attractions nearby.Once in our Club room, we were given a welcome drink & fresh fruit chocolate which was very soothing after a long journey.
Room was not so spacious as we were on top floor and asked if room possible facing sun which was not possible,so was late check out.
Spa is fine,well not very modern to be honest.Still you will feel fresh after a swim and whirlpool :)
Staff were extremely nice and checked out with complimentary drink on following day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazaheidel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest Vishu-Shokeenda,
first of all thank you very much for taking time to express your experience with Cowne Plaza Heidelberg for your recent stay. It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed location, hotel facilities, friendliness and attentiveness of the staff members as well as our health club. Your valubale input is very important to us to optimize service quality and better guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crwone Plaza Heidelberg during you next visit in Heidelberg. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pleasant hotel just walking distance to the old town district. Its a 15 min walk from the main station. We took the direct Lufthansa shuttle from the Frankfurt airport which dropped us right behind the hotel. Its a decent one hour journey. The hotel is basically a business hotel. When we were there, they seemed to be hosting a conference of some sort. Although we were next to the main bus station, we didnt get any noise at all in our room.
The rooms are comfortable as is the bathroom. No free wifi but the computer rooms at the lobby level have 2 computers for free use for hotel guests.
The breakfast was decent. Would have appreciated if we could have been given a room earlier as we had just flown all the way from India on a 9 hour journey with our son and needed to freshen our selves before we set out to discover the beautiful Heidelberg town.
Yet all in all, a satisfactory hotel with a decent location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazaheidel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Heidelberg for your recent stay. Thank you very much also for your kind comments. I am really sorry about the fact that we were not able to offer you a room at your check in. This is due to the fact that our hotel was fully booked day before and the room that was allocated for you was not ready. I am really sorry about this. We look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The was the last stop on our German tour. Some nice restaurants nearby. Breakfasts a bit disappointing, particularly the nervous egg chef. As we expected the hotel staff were efficient and polite, the room was clean, and for the first time on out tour we found a hotel with a choice of English TV channels. Although in the city centre the hotel was quiet.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowneplazaheidel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Heidelberg for your recent stay in Heidelberg. Thank you also for your valuable comments. Please accept my apologies for the insufficient service during breakfast service and thank you for telling us your experience. We hope you had a pleasant stay in Heidelberg und look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Heidleberg. Kin Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our night in the Crowne Plaza. It has great access to Old Town Heidelberg. The front desk were very helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner. We loved our room and enjoyed the AC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

Our front desk staff was delighted to hear about your review and gives them a great motivation. They are always there for our guests giving out information or helping them with needs.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is just as nice as the one in Amsterdam. They seem to have all of their bases covered. The room was cool,beds were very comfortable,bathroom spotless. Indoor pool and sauna(naked only would be the only downside). There were a large number of students staying there for a concert of sorts but you could not hear anything in the hallways from the room. Anything you need (6 different kinds of pillows) or forgot is a call away. Centrally located and within walking distance to all the shops and the castle, I would suggest to take a cab from train station as it is a bit far to walk cost us 7 Euro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

It is great to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your praise.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Address: Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant Westcoast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conventiently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Next events in the Region: SAP Arena 20.6. EaglesHockenheimring 13.-14.6. Porsche Sports Cup / 04.07. Sonisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.