We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Heidelberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 79 hotels in Heidelberg
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have just spent three nights here and it has been very nice. Big twin beds, very comfortable, generous size room and very good breakfast. Location was good too, everything his close but you are not in the middle of the tourist area so nice to wander the local streets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Even though we are located downtown the hotel offers a quietness which many people don't expect.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    220
    65
    14
    6
See reviews for
95
134
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Essentially, our stay for 3 nights was was quite a let down. In spite of Booking Triple occupancy Room was small, drab & dull. A/c was not working... which was informed to housekeeping repeatedly,which they never managed to repair. As such on check out, at our insistence they waived on Room Service Charge of around Euro 24--

Overall Hotel is cheerless, visibly grimy, faded, worn, & run-down. Breakfast there is nothing for Vegetarian.. Not a Place for Family - Nevertheless the Hotels seems to be busy with loads of American Cookie Cutter Tourists & Businessmen..

In other words they are not likely to give a damn for a bad review..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We certainly care for any kind of feedback and answer every review. I will get in touch with you to get more information.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I needed a place to stay in Heidelberg and was asked to book the Crown Plaza.
The hotel was very nice and situated just outside the old town. Staff was very friendly.
Parking was under the hotel (entrance a little bit diificult to find) and places where quite small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

Our location offers our guests to possibility to quickly explore the city withouth having to take the car or walk for a long time. We are glad to hear that you liked the friendliness of our staff.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is fairly convenient to Old Town and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Our group had a meeting at the hotel and the meeting space was very nice. The only problem was the common space outside the meeting room was shared with another group and our afternoon break food was partially eaten by the other group even though they had a break set for them. Most hotels have a small sign designating whose break is whose - it would have been helpful here.

I was upgraded to a Club room. The rooms are superficially nice; they look nice but are in need of renovation. The room was very quiet and had a nice coffee maker with a large selection of coffees. The fake silk flowers and threadbare towels make the room feel very tired. The hotel has a Pillow Menu which is great - especially if you like down pillows and they give you an aromatic homeopathic sleep aid that looks interesting but I didn't try it.

The breakfast and lunch buffet are adequate but nothing special. The room has a mini fridge with very limited items. Room service was fast and reasonably priced. I had the tomato and mozzarella salad which was excellent but the pizza was doughy and tasteless.

As others have commented, parking and WiFi are too expensive given the price of the hotel and the state of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We take pride in our staff and thank you for your positive feedack on their service. Thank you for bringing the coffee breaks to our attention - we have added signage to the different groups now.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Clean, comfortable and well sized rooms. Didn't have a good view but that's ok. Location is ok - about a 15 min walk (taking into account crossing busy streets/intersections) to the beginning of the main pedestrian street, Haupstrasse, in the old town. No free wifi. Had breakfast here that had good variety and quality.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We offer free internet service throughout the hotel to our PCR gold and platinum member and at the same time free internet to all guests in our business center.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for a night in a studio on the 4th floor. The room was spacious and clean. I can otherwise only confirm what others have already written. This is a highly frequented hotel in a good location. The whole hotel interior has already seen a few years. However, the staff was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was good. So, all in all a more or less expected average experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

The hotel rooms have been renovated in 2009 and we are constantly modernizing the hotel. Just last year we redid the historic staircase from 1846.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Rooms are great, and the service is good. The hotel is located 5 minutes of walk from the main walking street (Hauptstrasse), and very close to the mountain of the old city.

The room prices are too expensive for what you get. Parking for 24h costs 20 (!) euros.
Also no free WiFi.

I liked the pillow menu and the view to the mountain.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the mountain view, on the 4th floor (Club rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

First of all we are happy to hear that you liked our guest rooms and our staff. The price for parking is fair compared to what you get - a safe place for your car without the hassle to search for a place. We offer free internet in our two business centers where you can check your mails or browse the internet.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza
Address: Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant Westcoast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conventiently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Next events in the Region: SAP Arena 20.6. EaglesHockenheimring 13.-14.6. Porsche Sports Cup / 04.07. Sonisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.