We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid stay near the old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Heidelberg to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Avon, CT
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Solid stay near the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had zero complaints about this hotel. I had no problems finding it from the Abahn, reception was efficient and friendly. Room was well equipped and comfortable.. Location near the old town was very convenient, though it is on the far end of the old town from the sights and is by no means in the center of the old town. Breakfast was fine (though expensive as with all hotels). Did not try pool or sauna. Plenty or restaurants/cafes in old town

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a nice one and that you liked your guest room. Our location offers guests to opportunity to walk within 15 minutes to most of the sights in Heidelberg and many combine it with a shopping stroll along Germanys longest pedestrian zone.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    259
    73
    14
    9
See reviews for
111
161
33
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is fine, but you do not get what you pay for. It is not in the center of town, rather on the edge of the fressgasse. While the area around the hotel is quiet, in the room you can hear EVERYTHING. Maybe our room was above a conference hall, but beginning before 4am staff seemed to be moving tables around a room, LOUDLY, which lasted til 6. Breakfast is overcroweded....does not seem the restaurant is big enough for how many guests can occupy the hotel at a time. We went at prime time, but that is still no excuse to have to wait 30 minutes for food to be refilled and to get cups etc. The facility was clean, simple, but not really a 4 star. The hotel should probably be priced at about half of what it is, and then I would say it was on par with other hotel of its class, and it would then get a better rating from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. As we would like to get more details we will contact you separately.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, ENgland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived in the early evening and found that the hotel was not far from the station. The check-in was simple and we (my wife and I and 17 year old son) were able to get in to our rooms quickly so we could meet our daughter who is studyuing in Heidelberg. As part of our package we had one free drink each in the bar which was small and with very friendly staff. The hotel was busy witha conference while we were there, but this did not affect us at all. The rooms were good with high ceilings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are glad that we were able to make your family reunion a nice one. Our bar staff are delighted about your positive comment about their friendliness.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embrach, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were 2 nights in this hotel.
Check In:
The Check In Procedure was complicated. 1 Reservation for 2 rooms we have to do check in separately. We have to wait for the room and after 30min i asked the front office about our room, they do not know about our reservation. When we finaly got our room key, we got another surprise, 1 room is smoking room even we ordered non smoking room, but the front office crew give us smoking room. When we complained the staf said the hotel fully booked, i saw him our reservation which writen "non smoking room" he finally give us non smoking room.

Restaurant:
On the 1st day when we want to get our breakfast, we have to pay directly and the waitress said that they can not charge our breakfast to our room. I ask her to check why we can not charge our breakfast to our room, after 1 hour she said that the problem was internal transfer system in the hotel.
At night we take our dinner in the hotel, the personal was great, when i get my meal, the french fries was cold, i ask the waiters to warm up my fries and they change my fries.

On the 2nd day when we want to get our breakfast, they can accept to charge our breakfast to our room but have to fill up only the bill, but all tables was dirty, when i ask 1 waitress if we may use the table, we got no answer, after a while we decide to use one table and ask the same waitress to clean up the table, again she do not say anything and clean up the table roughly, many cutlery was falling down the the floor and she said nothing and left us and let some dirty dishes there. Fortunately 1 waitress realize our problem and she clean up the table. When we take our breakfast on buffet and my mother in law sit and wait for us, the same waitress who received us ask my mother in law in English again our room number, event in the bill was written on which room we are staying!

Room:
Our rooms was clean and enough space. There are water boiler, 2 cups, coffee and tea available.
At about 17:00 when we get our naps, someone knock the door 2 times and enter our room without to say "Room Service". She said she want to controll the room

Swiming Pool & Fitness room availabe for free.

Parking: Hotel parking available.

We will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are sorry to hear that you have had some difficulties while staying with us and we will contact you separately to get some more details. We do take your comments seriously.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I think the description states that they are in the center of the old town but i would say they are on the edge of the beginning of the old high street(hauptstrasse). Nonetheless, nice stay, perfectly good staff, great breakfast. Fairly clean. Good pool, robes to wear down to the pool. expect mixed gender partially or fully nude people in steam room as per German standard. Quieter than other hotels i've stayed in- don't know if it's due to soundproofing or because i usually stay in cheaper places. Certainly, I could not hear the music they play in the hallways (speaker just outside my room) while inside my room and i never heard any other guests in other rooms(tv, showers,toilets flushing, walking past, etc).

Shuttle bus from Frankfurt airport was good when you book in advance except they did not take credit card(as we were told) and the shuttle driver was your typical curt German who initially refused to take us as we did not have a reservation (we missed our initial shuttle bus as flight was late. we called and were told it was fine to take the next shuttle. phone service good, shuttle driver difficult and initially would not honor our negotiated rate or reservation change) As there are 2 terminals in Frankfurt airport and the shuttle only leaves from only one of them, you might have to get to the other terminal. there are 2 options, via bus or via sky tram. Bus was much easier/closer/less up and down on escalators had we known but the tram was fun for the kids. both are free.

Thought breakfast was fairly comprehensive. Bacon, eggs (hard boiled and fried), sometimes omlet on demand, 2-3 types sausages, pancakes, hash browns, cooked mushrooms, assorted breads/minimuffin/strudel, 4-5 cold meats, smoked salmon, 4-5 cheeses, greek-like salad stand, 7 types fresh fruit/ fruit salad/canned fruit, 4-5 types of yogurts, muesli/cereal. teas/coffee. no hot chocolate. busy but not unbearable.

Room Tip: room 255. quiet and a away from elevator (but there is a shortcut once you figure it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

All of our guest rooms are equipped with sound-proof windows for our guests to enjoy a quiet night. We also offer rooms in our quiet comfort zone for those guests wishing to sleep out without being disturbed.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have been there only for one night since I was there for business but the room was clean, big and really nice.
The staff is kind and friendly and the breakfast is big and very good.
Free WIFI

I would go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are glad to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Our American breakfast buffet is the perfect way to start of your day.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the check in the staff are very much helpful and their service is to the up mark than many hotels in Europe. The room is pretty big and nicely maintained. House keeping is so good as front office. we stayed there for 4 nights and its awesome. Only thing they could improve their variety in breakfast and include some more than normal American breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

Your positive comments about the friendliness of our front office team and the cleanliness of our hotel have been forwarded to our employees. The American breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of items and we will contact you separately regarding your wishes. We are grateful for such feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our services.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Address: Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant Westcoast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conventiently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Next events in the Region: SAP Arena 20.6. EaglesHockenheimring 13.-14.6. Porsche Sports Cup / 04.07. Sonisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.