We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Waldorf yet hard to beat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Heidelberg to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Heidelberg
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not the Waldorf yet hard to beat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

While the place is a bit on the rundown side, it certainly has all that one needs. Its best feature is the location in that it is in very easy walking distance to the old city --where just about anything you would care to see or find is there. I found the front desk people to be exceedingly helpful and friendly. If you are in Heidelberg for business, this is about as good as it gets. Would I pick this place for a honeymoon in Heidelberg?....Probably not as it is not a place that oozes Teutonic charm, as it were. But if one wants a more than adequate place to stay that is near the center of it all --and all at a fair price --this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Book early! This place fills up fast because of the University.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your business stay with us and that our front office team was of good help to you. For guests travelling on private business we offer a wide range of benefits such as our extensive spa or our front office team giving you the best tips for the town.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    259
    73
    14
    9
See reviews for
111
161
33
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Crowne Plaza in Heidelberg is a very nice hotel with very helpful staff. The rooms are a bit small, but normal by European standards. The front desk staff is very helpful. The airline had failed to load our luggage and the front desk staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help us contact the airline for back-up on the progress of having it delivered to us. They also provided us with laundry detergent so we could hand wash some items to wear again. They then dried them for us at no charge. They had toiletries for us at no charge as well. The hotel is conveniently located. The only problem was that the breakfast room was a bit small for the number of tour groups using the hotel and needing to all eat at basically the same time. The food was excellent and plentiful, however, so that made up for the limited table space. There are 2 computer terminals in a room off the lobby and internet is free on them. Wifi required a fee. The hotel is located on the edge of the old town and convenient to all shoppoing and dining.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

I am always glad to hear that our employees go the extra step to make our guests feel welcome and at home. Our front office manager Andreas and his team are putting a lot of emphasis on fulfilling and exceeding guest wishes and they have truly succeeded in your case.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is on the edge of the old town and the shopping areas all walkable in minutes. The Club room was well fitted out with excellent bedding and spacious. There is a pleasant bar which serves a range of beers and wines. The food proved to be in line with the rest of the high standards. Breakfast in a crowded dining room was extensive. The staff are universally helpful and friendly. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Try for a Club room. They are particularly spacious and well fitted out. Also admittance to the Club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme lets our guests enjoy a restful night with comfortable bedding and a sleeping kit provided to all our guests. I am especially glad that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly troughout all departments.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was last week in this hotel, and had the chance to view it from to different points of view: as a guest and as conference manager for a event.
First the guest side: Check in was easy and very friendly. The room itself very clean, in a good size and the bed comfortable. As Priority Club member I had access to the Longue, which I much appreciated. The snacks and drinks there were great ! Also the free minibar was nice. The breakfast has a variety of choices and had a good quality, even if I missed for example some scrambled eggs. I don't know, maybe I could ask for them, but I had not so much time. One of the highlights was Michael Noob, the barkeeper: after hard working days have a drink and a good talk in the bar, absolutely great. I saw already a lot of barkeepers, and he is definitely one that does his job with passion. Thanks Michael !The check out was again very friendly and effective. So, if you are in Heidelberg, and are looking for a centrally located Hotel with nice and friendly and helpful staff as well as comfortable rooms, this is the place to stay.
The other point of view was the conference manager job: The Crown Plaza makes it for me as easy as possible. Every wish, every special request every question ... all has been handled immediately and in a great manner. What I appreciated very much, was the in-house mobile that I received, and when during the event anything came up, I was able to reach immediately the conference director and help was underway !!! Here also a big thank you to Miriam Brütsch, the Director of Convention Sales, she and hear team did a excellent job !!! Even on unexpected times she was there, asking if everything is OK, and giving a friendly smile. With such support it is a pleasure to be a conference manager. If you plan a event, this will be definitely a good choice !

All in all a great stay. When I will be in Heidelberg again, I know which hotel to book. Thanks

Room Tip: I had the room 307 which has a king size bed and is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

Reading your review was a true pleasure and I personally went to Michael and Miriam to thank them for their outstanding performance. It is such moments that reward all the efforts we put into satisfying our clients on a daily basis. We are grateful to have such a wonderful staff as it it the people that make a difference in everyday life.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was in Heidelberg for a four-day business trip and chose the Crowne Plaza, as I had several conferences there. Yet, I had never had the chance to stay overnight. I knew going in that the hotel was in a perfect location, just outside the altstadt and convenient to public transportation and lots of good bars and restaurants.

The room was extremely comfortable with plenty of good TV channels, a wonderful bed, well equipped bathroom and there was ample room to move around, which is not always the case with European hotel rooms. The hotel staff was wonderful at check-in, answering questions, signing me up for the preferred guest program, and helping me locate a restaurant.

The hotel itself had a huge breakfast room with plenty of seating, a great buffett spread which was part of our room rate, and the breakfast staff was very attentive and kind. I especially appreciated the coffee machine which made lattes, cappucinos, mocha coffee and others. The buffett did have a cook making to-order eggs and keeping the rest of the hot foods prepared.

I really appreciated the pool area, hot tub, sauna, and steam room although I only got to use it once. It was a very relaxing area and plenty of space to numerous people. The gym was small and well equipped but didnt have all the machines or free weights that I would have liked. However, it was private and served the purpose to burn off that German beer. My biggest complaint was the business center which had two computers and one was not working. The other one was constantly occupied by a young boy playing video games. For a business-oriented hotel, this business center does not work.

Overall, I was exceptionally happy with this stay and would go back to the Crowne Plaza in a heart beat. This was my first Crowne Plaza experience and I would return to the chain and this one in particular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

Your review is lovely to read and we are glad that our hotel and especially our staff provided all the services you wanted. We take pride in our staff and will pass on your praise to them.

Thank you for bringing the business centre matter to our attention. In the future we will have a closer look at it. Please talk to our reception staff in such cases and they will be happy to assist you.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice property on the edge of old town, five minute walk to main drag. Rooms are well kept, and are reasonably sized. Wireless internet services were good. The gym was decent, with two treadmills, a stationary bike, and eight weight machines (no legs).

Staff is especially helpful, efficient, and pleasant - with really good English skills. Took care of every request, and even confirmed airport car via TV message center, turned on in the room to be sure it was delivered.

Breakfast buffet was well staffed and quite good, not outstanding though. Beautiful, enclosed large courtyard room was a good morning meeting place. Small restaurant and bar for evening served inside and out.

Would definitely return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your feedback regarding the friendliness of our staff to them.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

I usually go into this hotel when I travel to Heidelberg for business reason. The hotel is good. Rooms are quite small but very clean. Staff service very kind and always available. Breakfast very rich with a lot of variety. Within the hotel there is also a nice bar for a drink or a dinner. On the negative side unfortunatelly is not wi-fi free which is not acceptable for an hotel of this category. Overall a good rating.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

It is always good to receive feedback from guests who stay often with us and we value your feedback highly. We aim to offer our guests a high quality service and are glad that your experiences with us match this. Concerning the WiFi we offer free internet services in our business center. Once you want to work in the privacy of your room our prices start as low as 3,50€ per hour. We feel that for the high data volume and the speed offered our pricing is reasonably fair.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg

Address: Kurfurstenanlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant Westcoast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conventiently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Next events in the Region: SAP Arena 20.6. EaglesHockenheimring 13.-14.6. Porsche Sports Cup / 04.07. Sonisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Heidelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.