We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and a quick walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carl Theodor Old Bridge (Alte Brucke)

Carl Theodor Old Bridge (Alte Brucke)
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 53 Attractions in Heidelberg
Type: Bridges, Historic Sites, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful 18th-century bridge connects the two sides of the Neckar River.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great views and a quick walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great walk across the river. Touch the monkey's posterior before you cross the river. Great walk and view from the other side and get a picture of the tower from the far side. One of the highlights of Heidelberg.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    164
    28
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“picture worthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the view of the bridge from the castle was magnificent and the way it blends into the old city make it most memorable!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“yet another amazing Bridge in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I love bridges! this one reminded me of Charles bridge in Prague.
A huge arch monument on one end and old sculptures on either side of bridge (there were no street music though) There's a funny metal monkey near the arch, not sure whats the significance of this idol. Also, beside this monkey, there are 2 small rats... Either ends of bridge have interesting places to visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What's not to love about this site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Within a two-week period, I've visited the Old Bridge (Alte Brucke, or Karl-Theodor-Brucke) three times - on a group city tour, hiking solo along the Philosopher's Walk (north side of the Neckar River) and after eating nearby with my husband. (I'll review this restaurant separately.) Each experience has been very pleasant, but particularly my third visit (today) after descending from the Philosophenweg. FYI - the Schlangenweg path brings you right to the Old Bridge.

I discover something about the bridge each time I'm here. See the markings of various floods on the bridge supports. The brass monkey sculpture makes me laugh - lots of history and myth surrounding it that you'll find in every guidebook. See the locks attached to the bridge - I believe that they relate to couples declaring their love by leaving a "locket" - and detaching it if they break up. Can anyone confirm\correct me on this?

Finally, it's a great place to feel the joy of taking photos for others. I love to click photos of families, for families, with beautiful Heidellberg in the background.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A good place to look up and down the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

There is nothing really over the top about the bridge other than it connects the Philosophers Walk with the Old town. The main gate has been there a long time and makes for a good frame to shoot pictures through.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carl Theodor Old Bridge (Alte Brucke) also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Carl Theodor Old Bridge (Alte Brucke)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carl Theodor Old Bridge (Alte Brucke), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.