We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and a good exercise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philosophers' Way (Philosophenweg)

Philosophers' Way (Philosophenweg)
Philosophenweg, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 Attractions in Heidelberg
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Hiking Trails, Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous path along the Neckar River has been frequented by numerous famous philosophers throughout history.
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and a good exercise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

After going up through the schlangenweg and some trails in the woods to the top of the Heiligenberg we decided to go back to town through the Philosophenweg. It has many carefully tended gardens and lots of people were walking, jogging or riding bicicles up and down the mountain throughout this way. The best part of it is that almost all thw way down from the mountain we had this amazing view of the old city and the castle ruins. Also many benches were availables at these gardens, so we took our time and sat down at one such garden to see the twilight city at twilight. But don't be mistaken, although the trails are very clean and the roads are good for walking, it is still mountain climbing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    177
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for hiking or just leisurely stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Climbing up the way is a little steep in places but it's a beautiful view of old mansions and mountain over looking the Old Town of Heidelberg across the river.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We did the full walk!

The night before we planned to do it I found instructions and a basic map on the internet. We didn't feel very confident as we reached the main philosophers way as most people aren't doing the full walk and going in opposite directions!

Fortunetly (even though we doubted our way many times) we did the full walk. There is a beautiful view on Philosophers Way which is definetly worth seeing then if you do the proper walk you head into a forest with lots of working up hill. I didn't realise I wasn't so fit until I walked up that hill!

At the top you pass through an amazing ampitheatre and then reach lovely ruins of a castle.

Would definitely do this again and would love others to have the experience! It's worth the walk for the amazing views and feeling of achievements even if you do get so tired!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were in Heidelberg on a sunny day so did this walk. We climbed a small hill, and the views over Heidelberg were wonderful. Well eorth the couple of hours it took.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A worthwhile, leisurely walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The start of this walk commenced from the Theodor Heuss Brucke, next to our hotel. We walked over the bridge up Bruckenstrasse and turned right on to Philosophenweg after about 200 metres ( Signposted). We walked for about 1.5 Kms, passing through the Philosophers garden with all the beautiful shrubs and plants. Along the walk there are some fantastic views of Heidelberg across the river and fortunately there are the occasional seats upon which to rest,admire the views, trees and plants.Eventually we came to a point where we headed down a steep, shaded, and meandering path towards the river, this brought us out close to the Alte Brucke. We crossed the bridge and headed to Gundels for coffee and cake. We were very pleased that we hadn't done the walk in reverse, as that winding path would have been much too stressful for for us who are getting on in years.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philosophers' Way (Philosophenweg) also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Philosophers' Way (Philosophenweg)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philosophers' Way (Philosophenweg), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.