We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid three and a half” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central Garni to your Saves list
Hotel Central Garni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 64, 78098 Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Triberg
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“A solid three and a half”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has goods...and bads...

We'll start with the pros:
I booked last minute and still got an awesome deal. I booked Tuesday and stayed Friday, and the rate was €66 for a double room with breakfast. (There was €5/6 city tax added at the end, and for the record, this is no guarantee that you'll get the same rate.)
They also provided me (and my family) with free passes to the waterfall! (We were expecting to pay admission to the falls, so this was a pleasant surprise!)
The location is well within walking distance to everything, although Triberg is on a hill, so there is some uphill walking. Entrance to the falls is about 200 meters up the road, and there are plenty of shops and restaurants also. (Be advised, most of the shops close at 6, so do your shopping early.)
There was a balcony with small table and two chairs, and views from the balcony (room to the front of the hotel) were spectacular.
Breakfast was good. Typical German breads, meats, cheeses, jams, spreads, with some cereal and fruit.

And now the cons:
The noises from the street below were amplified with the narrow street and tall buildings, so you heard everything! The traffic was quite loud at night (I finally fell asleep at about 10:30, but it was still going), and you heard the church bells (stopped at 10:00), and drunk people from the club across the street in the wee hours of the morning. The noises picked up again sometime before 7:00 when construction workers where banging scaffolding poles together. Also, at 7:30 Saturday morning, the church bells rang for about three straight minutes. If you weren't awake before, you would be now. (Not sure if that's an everyday thing, or just a Saturday thing.)
The room was small, but welcome to Europe.
There weren't any amenities in the room. There was a tv, and en suite bathroom, but no coffee/tea maker, fridge, extra pillow, anything like that.
Also, as others have said, the towels were a tad scratchy, compared to the normally fluffy towels at hotels. Perhaps an upgrade is needed in the towel department.

Additional information that may be useful: the hotel is on the third floor, above the Sparkasse bank and two floors of doctors offices (German third floor, American fourth floor). The entrance to the hotel is near the entrance to the bank on the front of the building (parking behind, see below). There is a small (as in, about 12 sq. ft.) elevator near the bank entrance. When driving in, look for the Sparkasse sign and turn down the street, there's a parking lot behind the building. The kasse said it was €5 for 24 hours, however we were informed by the hotel that on the weekends, this wasn't controlled, so we shouldn't pay. (Probably different during the week, I'd ask the hotel staff directly.)

I'd rate this an average (three circles), but the free admission to the falls really put it into the four circle category for me. However, if you're staying for too much longer than one night, I may try to stay elsewhere. For a cheap overnight, reserved on short notice, it was tolerable; for a longer-term stay, I'd probably search elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
52
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is right in the city centre but very quiet; clean and luminous room with a lovely terrace. The staff is very helpful and kind even if some of them didn't speak perfect english. Good breakfast in a very nice room. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The positive points first:
1. Nice view from the window.
2. Nice people at reception.
3. Nearby free parking place
4. A good location for traveling in the black forest.

Some drawbacks taht you should be aware of:
1. No air-conditioner. The room gets too hot in the summer.
2. The entrance in via an elevator that takes you to the hotel floor, where the reception is.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is right in the heart of Triberg in the Black Forest. We booked a single night stay in the hotel during our visit. There is free parking behind the hotel but it is not clearly marked. We had to check in with the receptionist and had to for directions for the parking lot. The entrance to the hotel is a little confusing. The lift to the hotel is shared by a number of other businesses and is right next to the bank. The hotel is a 2 story facility within a larger building shared by other businesses. Once we figured out how to get to the hotel floor, it was smooth sailing. The receptionist was very helpful and was very accommodating. Our room was very basic but it faced the backside of the street and we had a beautiful view of the mountains and the waterfall. The cost for the hotel room also included a breakfast that was served on the second floor of the hotel. The breakfast was a typical Bavarian breakfast and met all of our needs. If you stay at the hotel, you actually get free passes to visit the waterfall. The waterfall was a very nice site to visit. During my 2 week visit we only had one day of sun and it happened to be the day we were visiting Triberg. We wanted to soak up the sun as much as we could so any excuse to be outside was accepted. We also visited the house of 1000 clocks and purchased an authentic Black Forest cuckoo clock. The prices seemed reasonable and the service was very good. A little upset that there was an available coupon from the hotel for a small discount at the shop and did not know prior to the purchase. We also got to try an authentic and excellent slice of Black Forest Cake from a nearby bakery. The hotel was in an excellent location and very affordable. We would recommend it to anyone visiting the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We decided to take a last minute trip to the Black Forest and we couldn't find a dog sitter, we were forced to take our 2 medium/large sized dogs with us and I am so glad we did. Lots of Hiking and outdoor stuff and they loved it! The Hotel itself is in a odd location (above a bank and doctors office) but the staff is so hospitable and friendly that we just fell in love with the hotel. The free breakfast was a delight with lots of attention to detail and quite a variety for the small area it was in. I loved the individual porcelain Coffee kettles she left on our table and the pretty plates and glasses, I felt like i was at a tea party! :)
The beds aren't the most comfortable but they worked just fine for us for a couple days. Our room overlooked the bottom of the waterfall and it was a nice ambient noise.
The Cons: the towels are awful! they are air dried old and ratty and smell horrible (lots of manure in Germany)! The bathrooms are pretty ugly and uncomfortable too and doesn't match the rest of the decor in the room. The room itself looks newly remodeled, but the bathroom is a Pea Soup green and looks like a seedy roadside rest stop, but it was clean and maintained and functioned- it just wasn't pretty. And have I mentioned how awful the towels are? Overall I would stay again, but I would bring my own towels. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I primarily spend our vacations out and about exploring and visiting local sites so our sole purpose for hotels is to find somewhere safe, clean, and comfortable where we can sleep and shower in our own private room and bathroom. We look for basic no frills places to stay that are centrally located and affordable.

Hotel Central Garni met our needs. We stopped here as part of our travels in Germany exploring the Black Forest region. The hotel was clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to the local sites, mainly the waterfall and cuckoo clock stores. They had a very good breakfast. Other than that the hotel really was not very memorable and is situated in a business like building. It really is a no frills place. I would definitely recommend though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice hotel in the heart of Triberg. We stayed for 2 nights recently and had a great time! The room is very small but adequate. Our room faced the Main Street and had a huge balcony with great views. The included breakfast was good. The only negative were the towels - they were very stiff and had a mildews smell. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Garni

Address: Hauptstrasse 64, 78098 Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Triberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Triberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Central Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Garni Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.